Saving Our Environment One Person At A Time Essay

Saving Our Environment One Person At A Time Essay

Length: 2753 words (7.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Saving Our Environment One Person at a Time
We are all guilty of doing it, whether we realize it or not. We drink the liquid from that plastic bottle, or read your newspaper, or print enough copies for all of the people in Sumner County, all to be thrown in the trash bin. All of this trash causes a big waste problem and to get rid of the waste. For my research paper, I decided to write about recycling globally, including how other countries recycle, how countries feel about recycling and how recycling differs throughout the whole world, and how the world is “being green”. Unfortunately, many people use these products in our environment, yet no one does anything to recycle these items or even to help our environment. Every country has the concept of recycling, but it may be different in the USA compared to Europe or Asia. However, together, we can work together to best handle theay waste without harming the environment.
To begin my paper, I am going to talk about the basic definition of recycling. Then, I will list the ways USA recycles and what we do to help our environment and “be green”. I will then compare other countries and how we all differ in our approach and beliefs. Then I will bring in statistics, data, and my research about this topic to explain how recycling and being green can affect us globally.
We all know what the recycling symbol is, as in Figure 1, with the usual three green chasing arrows. The first arrow is for collection (Stanford). This is when you put your recyclables into your curbside recycling bin or take them to a local drop-off center (Stanford). Many places actually have designated bins for certain items, such as a bin for paper, waste, plastic, or bottles. The collected materials are then prepare...


... middle of paper ...


...an do it! We each can make a small change that will have a big impact on our world.
Works Cited
European Environment Agency. European Environment Agency, n.d. Web. 14 Oct. 2014.
Geographic, National. "Great Pacific Garbage Patch." National Geographic. Web. 24 Nov.
2014.
Going Green, Public Recycling. Free Green Can. 14 Jan. 2011. Web. 14 Oct. 2014.
Gwin, Peter. "The Ship-Breakers." National Geographic. May 2014. Web. 24 Nov. 2014.
Murray-White, James. Recycling Around the World. 16 Apr. 2013. Web. 14 Oct. 2014.
Norleen, Brandy. "The Global Face of Recycling." Earth911. Brandy Norleen, 1 June 2009.
Web. 15 Oct. 2014.
Stanford. "Frequently Asked Questions: More on Recycling." Stanford University. Web. 24
Nov. 2014.
Unilever. Unilever, n.d. Web. 14 Oct. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Philadelphia and the Maldives: Saving the World One Mural at a Time Essay

- Although Philadelphia and the Maldives are 9,500 miles away and have completely different ecosystems, the problems they deal with are quite similar. The Maldives and Philadelphia both experienced acts of restorative justice, but in completely different ways. The introduction of democracy through the new president Mohamed Nasheed gave this small country a voice that could be heard and change the world. The Philadelphia Mural Arts program gives ex-criminals a voice and a chance to express themselves artistically....   [tags: Art, politics, environment]

Strong Essays
1442 words (4.1 pages)

Essay on The Effects Of Pollution On The Environment

- “It is high time for human beings to take the ‘right’ action towards saving the earth from major environmental issues” (“Current Environmental Issues”). Over the years, humans continue to have a harmful impact on the environment that needs to be addressed. Throughout one’s life, a person needs to be aware of ongoing environmental changes. People should prioritize ways to protect our planet. Pollution is a major concern, while the protection of nature is also an ongoing issue in our society. Pollution is a problem that needs attention to save essential qualities of the environment....   [tags: Pollution, Global warming, Natural environment]

Strong Essays
1178 words (3.4 pages)

Pollution and Environment Essay - Preserving Our Environment

- Preserving Our Environment Many people assume that the environment is in no danger.  They believe that with advancing technology, we don't need to worry about renewing natural resources, recycling, and finding new ways to produce energy. They argue that one person in the world does not make a large difference. In actuality, each individual's contribution greatly affects our environment.  Our natural resources are running low, and we must work together to save them and the Earth from ruin.           Recycling is so important in the effort to preserve our environment for future generations.  We are running out of places to put landfills.  My neighbor, Nick, believes that the U.S....   [tags: Environment Environmental Pollution Preservation]

Strong Essays
802 words (2.3 pages)

The Role of Control and Automation for Saving Energy Essay example

- A major concern about the future is how to use all required energy without damaging the environment. Hence, this essay will show how Control and Automation Engineering can contribute with the world in that subject. Even with a large number of people thinking this engineering only brings bad consequences such as the unemployment of people, who was replaced by robots, and the pollution of the industries, it can provide efficient forms to reduce energy consumption and foment the use of renewable energy....   [tags: engineering, environment, future]

Strong Essays
1030 words (2.9 pages)

`` One Community `` By Peter Singer Essay examples

- The second question that comes to mind when discussing what is just and what is unjust in regard to the environment through the lens of racism is whether or not we have a higher obligation to our own immediate kind as opposed to humanity as a whole, or even to the entire biosphere as a whole. This can be directly related to the previous question regarding the distribution of resources. Is it just for a group to hoard as many resources as it can in order to ensure that it continues to thrive and not diminish in any way....   [tags: Human, Race, Morality, Natural environment]

Strong Essays
1055 words (3 pages)

The Cattle Industry's Effect on our Environment Essay

- The Cattle Industry's Effect on our Environment Before I began my research, I avoided beef for health reasons. During my junior year of high school, I reformed my diet away from my family’s very beef-laden diet into a more heart-healthy, Mediterranean-style one. My great grandfather started a revolutionary meat company in San Francisco, CA which later moved to Marysville, CA called DPM. Most of my family, including my father, worked in this company and its butcher shop for many years before it was eventually sold to an international corporation....   [tags: Beef Environment Ecology Essays Papers Earth]

Strong Essays
3253 words (9.3 pages)

SEDS-Saving Space Exploration Essay

- SEDS-Saving Space Exploration Space exploration was once a fascinating part of human culture. Back in the 60’s, when getting to the moon was a top priority, and exploring the features of other planets interested people, the space program had the momentum to pull off bigger and better things. To explore stars not even in our galaxy and even possibly pull off the feat of discovering extraterrestrial life was something people only dreamed about. Once being only in the imagination, space travel is a reality....   [tags: Space Exploration Essays]

Strong Essays
1685 words (4.8 pages)

Saving Free Speech

- Saving Free Speech It's difficult to imagine America as a country that tolerates open discrimination and harassment of people of different race or ethnicity. Yet, somehow it is also difficult to imagine America without considering its history scarred by racial intolerance and subjugation. It's strange how a country that was supposedly founded on the fundamental assertion that all people are created equal and have the basic right to freedom from oppression continues to deal with these problems....   [tags: Harassment Freedom Rights Essays]

Strong Essays
1608 words (4.6 pages)

Saving the Dolphins Essay

- What drives a person to commit a moral turpitude such as capturing or killing an innocent creature, just because you can make a little money for doing it. That is something that many have been trying to understand since the issue of the slaughtering of dolphins in Taiji, Japan and other places around the world, has arisen. The “hunt” has been a Japanese tradition since the mid 1600’s. Over the years, they have “improved” their techniques and tools used in the slaughtering process. The issue has raised a lot of awareness throughout the world, and many countries have banned the practice of the slaughtering because of Japan’s display of animal cruelty....   [tags: Slaughtering, Animal Cruelty, Dolphins]

Strong Essays
977 words (2.8 pages)

Saving the Planet Essay

- Today the big issue in the world is pollution. Scientist is trying to figure out how to undo the pollution we have created. Chief Seattle, in “Letter to President Pierce, 1855,” exposes how differently the Indians and the white man treat the land. He wants the white man to understand that all things are created equal. In the article “Causes of Pollution and It’s Types,” Mian Afaq Tariq exposes air, water, land, and noise pollution and how each one was caused. He wants to educated people so they can start doing their part to help....   [tags: Pollution]

Strong Essays
911 words (2.6 pages)