Essay about Tips about Investing in the Stock Market

Essay about Tips about Investing in the Stock Market

Length: 1187 words (3.4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Warren Buffet once said “Risk comes from not knowing what you are doing” (Warren Buffett Quotes). With that being said, I would invest in for this project. First I looked at my old notes from my previous personal finance classes to see if I could find any tips about investing in the stock market. The result was learning that it is best to invest in companies with products you use on a daily basis and to see the long term stock prices of those companies. With that I started coming up with a list of companies whose products are used on a daily basis (see table 1).
From there I went to yahoo finance to do research on the stock prices of those companies from January 2, 2013 to January 31, 2014. I had the length of time be one year because I wanted to see the long term performance of the given stocks (see fig. 1). However, I did not want to go back any further then that since we were given a four week time period to track the stocks. After looking at the stock performances of the companies, I had come up with 1 immediately ruled out Ford and Toyota since both stocks fluctuated heavily from January 1, 2013 to January 31, 2014 (see fig. 1).
This left me with Sprint and T-Mobile or Coke and Pepsi. So I decided to take a closer look at Sprint and T-Mobile’s stock performance over the past year (see fig. 2.). Doing so, lead me to discover that not only did T-Mobile stock price fluctuant heavily during that year but Sprint had its initial public offering in July 2013. With this information I decided to go rule out Sprint and T-Mobile since I was not willing to risk money on a company whose stock price fluctuated heavily. Also I was not willing to use the “invest for growth strategy” (Kelly, McGowen and Williams). This is ...


... middle of paper ...


...d Neil Shah. "Slow Jobs Growth Stirs Worry -- Economy's Anticipated 2014 Breakout Hits a Speed Bump, but Stocks Shrug Off Disappointing Report." Wall Street Journal (2014): A1. 12 February 2014. .
Parker, Tim. The Stock Market Loves the Olympics. 10 August 2012. Web. 12 February 2014. .
Rooney, Ben. SodaStream Pops on Pepsi takeover Talk. 6 February 2014. Web. 12 February 2014.
T.Rowe Price. Diversification. September 2013. Web. 28 February 2014. .
Warren Buffett Quotes. n.d. Web. 14 February 2014. .
Yahoo Finance, 1 Feb. 2014; Web

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Stock Market Crash of 1929 Essays

- The Stock Market Crash of 1929 was the most devastating crash in U.S. history. It started on October 24, 1929 and the downfall ended in July 1932. I always wondered what caused this calamity. Before starting this report, I knew basic idea about the crash. It was a time of decline and huge fortunes were lost. Now I can figure out just why. The research process for my report was no easy task. The simple part was choosing my topic. As soon as I saw “Crash of 1929” on the topic list, I had my mind fixed on it....   [tags: research, question, prevent, misconceptions]

Strong Essays
826 words (2.4 pages)

How Investing Became Cool Essay

- How Investing Became Cool Bankers and stockbrokers are not generally viewed as the most exciting people in the world. Traditionally, they have been viewed as those guys who are always reading the Wall Street Journal or talking on their cell phones when they're out in public; they wear the same white shirt, red tie combination every day of the week, and there's no noticeable distinction between work and the rest of their lives. Not exactly the kind of people you'd want to invite to liven up a Christmas party....   [tags: Internet Stock Market Essays]

Strong Essays
1518 words (4.3 pages)

Technical Analysis : International Financial Market Essay

- Having a well crafted binary options trading strategy is an asset for traders. It will help them to overcome any unexpected events on the financial market. The sector of binary options is very volatile hence it is difficult to have a unique strategy that will fit in all situations. However the trader can follow certain rules that will guide him throughout his trading journey and that may help to maximize his returns. Monitoring the Financial Market Monitoring the financial market is one of the most important strategies each trader should adopt while speaking of trading online....   [tags: Stock market, Finance, Investment, Economics]

Strong Essays
828 words (2.4 pages)

The Stock Market Crash Essay example

- The Stock Market Crash The nineteen twenties were a time in this countries history of unbelievable prosperity. The stock market was going through the roof, stocks doubling in price, prosperity was everywhere, and America seemed to have the formula for exceptional success. Billions of dollars were invested in the stock market as people began to squander money on the rising stock prices and buying on margin. . The stock market was controlled by professionals that worked for large firms who had good financial backing which made it easier to use the market advantageously....   [tags: Papers]

Strong Essays
635 words (1.8 pages)

How To Evaluate Stock Essay

- Before investing in any kind of stocks and shares it is very important that you evaluate them thoroughly. This is more important in today’s volatile market scenario. You can use many different tools, methods and ratios to evaluate stock. There are also many websites on the internet that will assist you with the same. This article will give details on all these ways and tell you how to evaluate stock using these methods. How to evaluate stock using ratios There are number of ratios that can help you to assess how well a company is performing and if it is worthwhile to invest in its stock....   [tags: Economics]

Strong Essays
841 words (2.4 pages)

Investing Bank Of The Stock Market Essay

- Investing one’s money in the stock market can be a very wise thing to do in today’s economy. With so many companies that are currently being publicly traded it can be hard to decide who to invest in so it is best to consider all the factors. However I personally am currently a proponent in investing in Pepsi and GE, even though the reasons are a bit different. As any good investor knows when we invest we need to consider the companies that we have the option to invest in. The first company I could invest in is Coca Cola, an iconic American company....   [tags: Finance, Investment, Coca-Cola, Stock market]

Strong Essays
926 words (2.6 pages)

The Internet’s Impact on Stock Trading Essay

- "The Internet’s Impact on Stock Trading" Before the internet, stock trading was done exclusively through brokers. Now that computers and technology have apparent strongholds in the realm of stock trading, more people have access to the market. This essay shares some experiences that online stock trading services and day traders have had due to the radical movement of online trading. The essay commences with a fictional anecdote that describes one man’s unfortunate experience through online trading....   [tags: Cause Effect Essays]

Strong Essays
2337 words (6.7 pages)

Book Value: The Chanllenges of Investing in The Stock Market Essay

- Introduction The idea of investing in the stock market is at times challenging. Heightened activities witness the stock market itself. These activities gained the investor’s interest increasingly. The stock market patterns have changed due to the current globalization and integration of the subsequent markets. Just to name some of the global markets are New York Stock Market, Hong Kong Stock exchange among others. Sometimes these market patterns have changed due to politico-economic backgrounds (Hamid Faruqee, 2008, p....   [tags: stock market, shares, economy]

Strong Essays
1790 words (5.1 pages)

Essay about Article Review On Investment And Its Importance

- Investment and Its Importance By Doyal Rawal | Submitted On April 25, 2015 Recommend Article Article Comments Print Article Share this article on Facebook 1 Share this article on Twitter Share this article on Google+ 1 Share this article on Linkedin 1 Share this article on StumbleUpon Share this article on Delicious Share this article on Digg Share this article on Reddit Share this article on Pinterest Expert Author Doyal Rawal Investment is important from many points of view. Before doing investment, it is essential to understand what is investment and its importance....   [tags: Investment, Mutual fund, Stock market, Bond]

Strong Essays
812 words (2.3 pages)

Why Is The Stock Market A Place Of Opportunity For Gain Easy Wealth? Investing?

- Can the stock Market a place of opportunity to gain easy wealth. Investing in stocks, is it financially worth it. You often hear the news how stock went up a couple of point and down the next. Sometimes wondering if I would have purchased some shares then would it had been a good financial investment. Investing in stock can be financially worth purchasing but can also come back and hurt you financially. There are many ways for fast easy making money but it can also be a financial burden in your wallet....   [tags: Stock market, Finance, Investment, Stock]

Strong Essays
1536 words (4.4 pages)