The Past, Present, And Future Of Wind Energy Essay

The Past, Present, And Future Of Wind Energy Essay

Length: 2719 words (7.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The Past, Present, and Future of Wind Energy
The United States energy sector is undergoing an intense makeover. The U.S. is producing more oil and natural gas, is generating more electricity from renewable sources such as wind and solar, and we are consuming less petroleum while keeping electricity consumption steady. There won’t be a single solution to solving our energy crisis, but rather a combination of many things. I will be discussing wind energy, which is one of those solutions in the combination, in great length. Land windmills and offshore windmills are a great alternative to fossil fuels and are viewed more positively in the United States than most other alternative energy sources. From 2007 to 2012, the United States saw an additional 43,000 windmills be installed, but from 2012 to 2014 we have only added 1,300 (Harvey). We are now in a time where we have to start accepting the big eye sores of wind and solar energy farms on our land. It does not matter if the driving force behind creating alternative energy sources is to reduce greenhouse emissions, reduce the use of limited fossil fuels, or to even create jobs; the only thing that really matters is that we need energy for the future to survive. Since President Obama took office, the U.S. energy-related emissions have fallen to their lowest level in 20 years (Harvey). We are seeing trends of increasing energy security, reduced carbon pollution, and enhanced economic growth. But we can’t stop here because this is only the beginning. Now is the time to get on board with wind energy and invest in our future.
First thing I need to do is explain how wind turbines make electricity. To put it in a very simple way, a wind turbine does the opposite of a fan; instead of using e...


... middle of paper ...


...


Works Cited
"Disadvantages Of Wind Energy." Conserve Energy Future. N.p., 19 Jan. 2013. Web. 30 Dec. 2014.
Forbes, Viv. "Blog: Why Wind Power Won 't Work." Why Wind Power Won 't Work. American Thinker, 04 Mar. 2013. Web. 02 Jan. 2015.
Harvey, Samantha. "Wind Energy Facts at a Glance." American Wind Energy Association (AWEA). N.p., 13 Nov. 2014. Web. 04 Jan. 2015.
McDonnell, Tim. "Will Obama Pull the Plug on Wind Energy?" Mother Jones. N.p., 26 Nov. 2014. Web. 02 Jan. 2015.
"Offshore Wind Energy." Offshore Wind Energy. Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM), 10 Sept. 2013. Web. 03 Jan. 2015.
Shafiee, Shahriar, and Erkan Topal. "When Will Fossil Fuel Reserves Be Diminished?"Energy Policy. 1st ed. Vol. 37. N.p.: Elsevier, n.d. 181-89. Print.
Winters, Jeff. "Renewable Energy for America." NRDC: Natural Resources Defense Council. N.p., 3 Feb. 2014. Web. 06 Jan. 2015.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Article ' Smart Wind And Solar Polar ' By Kevin Bullis Essay

- In the article “Smart Wind and Solar Polar” by Kevin Bullis, published in MIT’s Technology Review, there is a heavy reliance on technology and how the present and future will be shaped by its ever changing status. The mission of the journal, which is to “equip its audiences with the intelligence to understand a world shaped by technology,” states this thoroughly (#). Wind energy has seen advances in technology in recent years that has prompted further research into the area. With integrated technology systems in wind turbines and forecasting centers the subject of renewable energy is as heated as ever....   [tags: Wind power, Renewable energy, Wind farm]

Strong Essays
1725 words (4.9 pages)

Wind Power Essay

- The Power of Wind Wind energy is a free and limitless power source. No matter where you go, there will always be wind. In the past, wind was captured and controlled through the use of sails for the powering of ships. Now that larger amounts of energy have been found, through the burning of fossil fuels, the art of sailing has faded to a recreational sport. Wind has also been used in the past to power mills, which have been used to pump water and grind grains. Though now these techniques of harnessing wind’s power are now not widely used, even though it is an effective power source....   [tags: Wind Energy Global Warming]

Strong Essays
827 words (2.4 pages)

Essay on Human Development and the Importance of Wind Energy Conversion

- Human Development and the Importance of Wind Energy Conversion For human development to continue, we will ultimately need to find sources of renewable or virtually inexhaustible energy. It's difficult to imagine this, but even if we find several hundred or even thousand years of coal and natural gas supplies, what will humans do for the next 250,000 years or so after they are depleted. Even the most apparently "inexhaustible" sources like fusion involve the generation of large amounts of waste heat -- enough to place damaging stress on even a robust ecosystem like Earth's, at least for the organisms that depend upon stability of the system to survive....   [tags: Wind Energy Economics Essays]

Strong Essays
575 words (1.6 pages)

The Wind of Change, by The Scorpions Essay examples

- Every once in a while there are songs that enclose a message that appeals to feelings of common interest as well as historical events. The interesting thing about these songs is that they give to the future listeners a perception of what was being felt about that specific moment in history. For instance, “The Wind of Change” by the Scorpions is one of the few songs that as far as I know do this. This song is about the historical changes that succeeded the downfall of communism as well as the Berlin wall....   [tags: Musical Analysis]

Strong Essays
1037 words (3 pages)

Essay on The Past, Present And Future

- The past, the present and the future. Can they exists at the same time. Today I was driving one of my best friends to the airport, she stayed for one week in Miami; while I was crying saying goodbye at the airport, I remembered the good time we had in the last week and how fast it passed. Now we are in the present, saying goodbye. This is how we start seeing we don 't have three separated times. In our minds time is always mixed with: past, present and future. Like professor Phillip Zimbardo said on the psychology of time video: we can be oriented at the time we choose, some people tend to worry excessively about the future and all they do is work for it; some can be past oriented either in...   [tags: Time, Future, Present, Past]

Strong Essays
744 words (2.1 pages)

The Wind Up Bird Chronicle Essay

- All relationships are dictated, changed, and motivated by a variety of factors. Communication can be the difference between success or failure in a companionship, or trust could solidify an already strong couple. The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, a Japanese novel written in 1994 by Haruki Murakami, follows a young Okada who desperately seeks after his wife, Kumiko, after she fails to return home from work one afternoon. In his novel, Murakami restates consistently that the cause of Okada’s relationship to break down the way it did was due to the insecurities felt by Kumiko because of her past and the damage this has had on her, which is similar to the themes presented by Michel Gondry....   [tags: Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind]

Strong Essays
1034 words (3 pages)

Essay about Wind Energy Review

- Introduction As been a renewable energy, wind energy has been attracting great attention because of its low cost and less environmental impact over the past few decades. Wind energy is growing fastest as renewable energy sources become more competitive in the market due to developing technology and government policy which changes a lot with the increasing pollution caused by traditional energy industries. For hundreds of years, wind energy has been used by several different ways but not for electricity....   [tags: environmental impact, low cost]

Strong Essays
1734 words (5 pages)

Analysis Of ' Inherit The Wind And A Dolls House ' Essay

- Women’s decisions are often times influenced by the men in their life. Whether it is their husband, father, or an older brother, women sometimes act based on what would please the man in their life most. In the plays Inherit the Wind and A Dolls House, Nora and Rachel exhibit a strong attachment to the men in their life that causes them to lose their true self. Sometimes women get so caught up in trying to please the men in their life that they lose themselves. In the play Inherit the Wind, when Nora visits Bert in jail and is trying to convince him to give up on the fight she says “Everybody says what you did was bad”(Lawrence and Lee 8)....   [tags: Thought, Critical thinking, Mind, Ayumi Hamasaki]

Strong Essays
795 words (2.3 pages)

Popularity of Gone With the Wind Essay

- Popularity of Gone With the Wind Margaret Mitchell's romantic epic, Gone With the Wind, owes its remarkable popularity to the climate of sudden self-destruction and dreariness the Depression created. The Old South's grandeur, coupled with its Civil War-era decadence, provided much-needed escapism for readers, as well as paralleling the U.S.'s own plight in the 20s and 30s. In addition, Scarlett O'Hara's feminist role, her devotion to her land, and her indomitable optimism lent hope to those who had lost faith in the American Dream....   [tags: Margaret Mitchell Literature Romance Essays]

Strong Essays
962 words (2.7 pages)

Wind Energy Essay

- Wind Energy “Take care, your worship; those things over there are not giants but windmills.” -Don Quixote de la Mancha by Miguel de Cervantes I. Abstract: Wind energy has many pros and cons, and thus is subject to much scrutiny as a viable energy source. A fundamental qualification for wind power is the ability to support the vast industries and the enterprises of the 6.3 billion people that inhabit this planet. In addition, wind power must be able to meet the needs of the Earth’s population in a renewable, reliable, and responsible manner....   [tags: Power Renewable Resource Global Warming]

Strong Essays
1865 words (5.3 pages)