Mind Your Cell Phone Manners Essay

Mind Your Cell Phone Manners Essay

Length: 1093 words (3.1 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Mind Your Cell Phone Manners
We have all experienced the uneasy feeling while having a conversation with someone who is talking on their cell phone with someone else. The conversation can become awkward and unproductive. Advancements in cellular phone technology have made us connected to the world no matter where we are, but when does this connection become improper to the world around us? The desire to be continuously connected with this communication device has degraded our manners.
While I’m at the grocery store, my wife can call and remind me about the eggs or butter I always forget to bring home. 15 years ago, I would have never used the pay phones that littered the walls of a grocery store to call and ask if I remembered everything. The cell phone has changed our lives by making communication available no matter where a person is. Virtually everywhere you go, people are talking on their phone, checking their social network, or texting a friend. In addition to the ease of communication with friends and family, the availability to contact emergency services or locate someone in an emergency can help save lives. In her article, CNN’s Senior Medical Correspondent Elizabeth Cohen describes ways of using our phones to aid us in emergencies. By placing medical information and emergency contacts in your phone, medical personnel have the recourses to obtain information to properly and effectively treat a patient if the patient is unable to communicate. GPS systems in cell phones can also help to locate someone if they are unable to give specifics as to where they are.
There is no doubt that cell phones have improved the ease of communication, but as easy as it is to be a speed dial away from your family and friends, it is just a...


... middle of paper ...


... the manners we display as respect for others is disrupted by the small piece of technology in our hands. Lay down your phones and remember that undivided attention and respect in the form of manners are still needed in our society.

Works Cited
Cohen, Elizabeth. “Five Ways Your Cell Phone Can Save You.” CNN. Cable News Network/Turner Broadcasting System. 4 Nov. 2010. Web. 16 Nov. 2013
Eyrin, Pamela. “Modern Etiquette: Mobile Manners For Cellphone Users.” Reuters.com. Thomas Reuters, 22 July 2013. Web. 22 Nov. 2013
Hadgraft, Beverly. "I Quit!." Good Health (ACP Publishing PTY Limited) (2012): 62-65. Consumer Health Complete - EBSCOhost. Web. 22 Nov. 2013.
Kendall, Diana. “Sociology in Our Times: The Essentials.” Ed. Mark Kerr. Belmont: Wadsworth, 2013. Print
Mintz, Steven. “The History of Private Life: An Overview.” Digital History. 19 Nov. 2013. Web. 19 Nov. 2013

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Cell Phones And The Cell Phone Essay

- Cell Phone Technology The cell phone, in today’s world most people own one. Cell phones are extremely convenient. They (cell phones) allow us to communicate in multiple ways. You can text, email, call, video chat, use social media apps to stay in contact with anyone anywhere. Technology has made its way into every facet of our lives and helps to make life easier and more functional. For the most part, cellular technology has almost become an unconscious thing for us, something most of us take for granted....   [tags: Mobile phone, Cellular network, Internet, Motorola]

Strong Essays
1477 words (4.2 pages)

The Social Repercussions Of The Cell Phone Essay example

- They are in our pockets, purses and our hands but do we understand the social repercussions of the cell phone. Our dependence on the cellphone has caused tremendous change in the social sciences, natural science, and humanities. Anthropologically our modern society has changed how we chose to communicate and the change continues as technology advances. Psychologically our view of “self” and our view of the world is shrinking and expanding. These changes are affecting linguistics and education. The invention of the cellphone created a convenience form of communication....   [tags: Mobile phone, Communication, Facebook]

Strong Essays
1070 words (3.1 pages)

Essay about The Technology Of Cell Phone

- The Technology of Cell Phone There is no doubt that mobile phone has become one of the most important part in people’s daily life. People use it to read the news, pay the bill, and share the interest… Every time when people talking about mobile phones, they hold different opinions, some of them think it’s really convenient to use cell phones, while others think it makes people separate from the real world. In fact, many people enjoy using their phone, but at the same time they are complaining that mobile phone have took their privacy and the freedom away....   [tags: Mobile phone, Cellular network]

Strong Essays
1169 words (3.3 pages)

Essay about The Impact of Cell Phone Radiation on Our Health

- Cell phones represent a type of technology that has been around for more than over fifty years; it has only been recently that many people began to use cell phones as a major part of their everyday life. In the past cell phones were for business people to conduct their business, but in today’s society every one owns a cell phone. Cell phones are interesting, useful and also play a major role in our life’s bringing people closer and keeping in touch with one another. Most people do not know and understand the physics of a cell phone....   [tags: technology, cell phone towers]

Strong Essays
3226 words (9.2 pages)

The Problem Of Cell Phone Distraction Essay

- Introduction It is well known to the public that drinking alcohol and driving is a very dangerous combination. An equally dangerous pairing that not many people know about is mobile devices and driving. With the popularity of social media and texting, distracted driving has become a bigger concern than ever before. Statistics show that cell phone users have a tough time staying away from their devices during driving. 171 billion text messages traveled from phone to phone in December of 2012 alone (“Distracted”)....   [tags: Mobile phone, Text messaging, Automobile]

Strong Essays
1533 words (4.4 pages)

Essay about Getting Down At Their Cell Phone

- Nine out of ten people you see nowadays are either looking down at their cell phone, scrolling through their social media feed or talking with someone. This is because technology is everywhere. This advanced technology has completely changed the way we communicate. It’s changed just about everything about us to the way we interact with one another. Now, the question is, how has this been affecting the way we communicate with each other. For the most part, verbal communication has gone from face to face contact to technological contact in such a short period of time....   [tags: Mobile phone, Writing, Text messaging, Grammar]

Strong Essays
1007 words (2.9 pages)

The Impact of Cell Phone Usage on Our Social Life Essays

- There are more cell phones than residents in Britain (computerweekly.com, 2007). The first cell phone was invented by Dr. Martin Cooper and John F Mitchell in 1973 (Wikipedia.com, 2014). Cell phone use has escalated over the years. Not only does cell phone usage affect the character traits of a person and their ability to hold regular, face to face conversations, it also affects a person’s ability to have healthy, stable relationships. Cell phones have changed from an item of luxury to an everyday necessity for some people....   [tags: Cell Phone vs Social Life]

Strong Essays
1604 words (4.6 pages)

The First Cell Phone Call Essay

- The first cell phone call was made on April 19, 1973 by Motorola employee Martin Cooper, since every year cell phones is getting more advanced and better at times. When the cell phone was first manufactured I don’t think Martin Cooper, had in mind what wild, astounding, idea he had brought to the light, and how much the cell phone would evolve over the years. The two powerhouse companies responsible for most of the cell phones that are circulating in the world Samsung & Apple, these two companies history don’t date back that far, but they have sued, clashed, and tried to outsmart each other numerous amount of time....   [tags: IPhone, Apple Inc., Mobile phone, Motorola]

Strong Essays
1900 words (5.4 pages)

Cell Phones And Driving: Dangers Involved with Cell Phone Use While Driving

- Most people don’t abide by the rules and regulations of the road. Most people don’t even know that they are breaking the law because they do it so often. Talking on the cell phone and driving has become a very popular thing these days. Technology is coming out with the newest phones that can do everything for you and people are attracted to that. There are people that don’t have hands free and drive their car with only one hand, people that text and totally take their eye off the road and type conversations to each other....   [tags: Distracted Driving Argument Cell Phone]

Strong Essays
1037 words (3 pages)

Driving and Cell Phone Usage Essay

- Nikki Taylor, a famous supper model who's career started at the young age of 14. At the age of 26 was in the prime of her life. But a tragedy occurred in April of 2001, she suffered severe liver damage, when the driver or the 1993 Nissan she was riding in spun into a telephone poll. Why. All because the driver was distracted while reaching for his ringing cell phone that was caught under the seat. This was not a fatal accident, but there are several thousand accidents involving cell phones that turn out deadly....   [tags: Cell Phones Texting Driving]

Free Essays
1218 words (3.5 pages)