Golf: A Perfect After-School Activity Essay

Golf: A Perfect After-School Activity Essay

Length: 1565 words (4.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Parents have to worry about leaving their kids home alone after school while they are at work. This is a more common occurrence than people think. Students are left unsupervised everyday after school, which puts those students at higher risk to put in bad situations than students that have a place to go after school. This problem can be solved by having an afterschool program to help students stay proactive after school and giving them a competitive environment while they can still learn and better themselves at the same time. Golf is a sport known for it fun environment and challenging circumstances. Golf can be used as an after school program to help promote health and wellness, to give students a positive environment outside of school hours, and give them the ability to use the strategy learned in golf to everyday life.
Golf is a great tool to use after school hours to help students obtain health and wellness while having fun. Golf is an active outdoor sport that involves loads of walking and various flexibility work outs. According to Golf Magazine’s article, Fountain of Truth, “walking a eighteen hole golf course is roughly the same as walking five miles”. A golf course can have many different hills and landscapes, which provides an intense workout for students’ legs. Carrying golf bags add tons of resistance for students as they walk around the course, and this keeps students healthy and active after school. Students will also have a chance to burn off energy that usually gets them in trouble.
Golf can provide a fun outdoor experience for students to participate in after school. Students usually go home and sit in front of a TV for hours. It has been said that “Students spend six hours and 47 minutes watching TV” (Stew...


... middle of paper ...


...t - World’s Foremost Premium Research Database Service. Golf World, 6 June 2008. Web. 07 Mar. 2011. .
"New Support for Teens Struggling with Drug Addictions .Source:ABC Premium News, 03/01/2011; ." EBSCOhost - World’s Foremost Premium Research Database Service. ABC Premium News, 01 Mar. 2011. Web. 07 Mar. 2011. .
"Research Center: After-School Programs." Education Week American Education News Site of Record. 10 Sept. 2004. Web. 08 Mar. 2011. .
Stewart, David. "Television Statistics." Jesus Christ Is the ONLY Way to Heaven! Web. 08 Mar. 2011. .

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Why Marching Band Is A Sport? Essay examples

- Why Marching Band is a Sport. What do you consider a sport. Go back 30 years ago. Most schools only had your typical sports, like football and basketball. Today, most schools have more options for students. More extra curricular activities today are being considered sports, like bowling and golf. If those activities can be sports, why is marching band not considered a sport. While some people think marching band is not a sport, marching band is a sport, because it has physical exercise, professional bands, competitions and after school practices....   [tags: High school, Extracurricular activity, The Band]

Powerful Essays
994 words (2.8 pages)

Essay about My Best At The Game Of Golf

- Did you ever want to do something perfectly. How about being at the top of something and being number one at it. I am sure everyone nowadays has that want. The want for being the best that you can at something you love to do. I am no exception to the rule. I worked at being the best at the game of golf. I was first introduced to the game of golf through my dad at the young age of three. My dad played and he bought me a child’s plastic golf club and ball so I could play with him. Several times we went to Myrtle Beach National Golf Course, as dad played late in the afternoon before dark during the spring and fall....   [tags: Golf, Rules of golf, Horry County, South Carolina]

Powerful Essays
1146 words (3.3 pages)

My View On The Golf Course Essay

- The Golf Course The town I grew up in, in central Minnesota has this small little golf course. Now to the average person who did not grow up here in my town would not even bat an eye at it and think it was a run down crappy course. To me though this golf course is one of the best places in the entire world and when I am here I can just be me. Here I can escape from the world and all of my problems and just be me.This place has shown me what hard work can accomplish and how much fun it can be by doing so....   [tags: Golf, Professional golfer, 2007 singles]

Powerful Essays
1547 words (4.4 pages)

Essay on Golf Should Be A Sport

- Golf is enjoyed by many people all over the world. Many People and professionals compete in golf tournaments all year round. Golf requires a great amount of focus and hours upon hours of practice. There are many people in the world that consider golf just a hobby or a pastime activity and others consider golf to be a sport. With all of the hard work and practice that golfers have to put in to be a successful golfer, golf should be considered a sport. Golf has been around for many years. The first form of golf was played with a feather stuffed ball and a club-shaped tree branch (The Roots and History of Golf)....   [tags: Golf, Professional golfer, Golf ball, Golf course]

Powerful Essays
1197 words (3.4 pages)

Essay about The Physics Of A Golf Swing

- There are two main components that go into golf swing physics. Both these will result in the best possible shot good swing speed of the arms and shoulders. Uncorking the wrists at the right moment so that the club connects squarely with the ball. Uncorking the wrists means letting the wrists rotate freely, while still holding on to the club. You must generate good swing speed to hit the ball hard enough, so that it goes far. The second point is not as obvious. To understand the physics of a golf swing one must consider the mechanics of rotational motion....   [tags: Golf, Baseball, Professional golfer, Golf ball]

Powerful Essays
1111 words (3.2 pages)

A Perfect World No School Essay

- In a perfect world no schools would be labeled academically unacceptable, no administrators or teachers would be relieved of their duties, and no students would be left behind. Education, as an industry, would be flush with the best and brightest students universities had to offer and those stepping out of the world of academia into the world of education would be prepared to the fullest to take on the charge of educating our youth. Social justice being practiced at every turn, we would establish a system where discourse becomes the primary mechanism for learning, and ethics are the sole foundation for academic policy making....   [tags: Education, Leadership, Teacher, School]

Powerful Essays
1008 words (2.9 pages)

Golf Is The Most Gentlemanly Sport Essay

- Meta: Golf is arguably the most gentlemanly sport in the world, with Pipeline49 now taking the game of the green and giving it a gambling edge. Closest to the Pin is the name, but will you be able to sink a putt when it matters most. Closest to the Pin Review In the world of sport, a selection of game’s have been labeled as the “gentleman’s choice”. However, when push comes to shove, only one sport can rightfully stake claim to the tag, with that sport being golf. Many decisions and bonds have been done while playing this grass-laden game....   [tags: Golf, Golf club, Rules of golf, Golf equipment]

Powerful Essays
787 words (2.2 pages)

Essay The Perfect Golf Swing

- As I ran up and down the tee line, I saw my father slamming the ground with a golf club. I could not understand why he was always so angry when practicing. I stopped running and watched him closely, studying his body as he elegantly whipped the club through the air. Sweat was dripping from his nose, his shirt soaked completely through. I was six years old and in awe of this man. At home he was just dad, but on the golf course, he was someone else. He was an athlete. I watched him for hours that day, and I would watch him for years to come as he practiced, trying to find the perfect swing....   [tags: Process Essay]

Powerful Essays
1069 words (3.1 pages)

Essay about Physics of Golf

- Many golf equipment companies are constantly trying to improve the different “tools” used during the game. And with the incredible rate of technology, golf equipment is constantly being taken to higher and higher levels. In fact, technology now allows golf equipment so precise and accurate, that many people believe it requires less skill to be a really exceptional golfer. As technology and the study of physics progresses, only newer and better equipment will be produced. This is why a line must be drawn between technology and the skills of today’s players....   [tags: physics sport sports golf]

Powerful Essays
3708 words (10.6 pages)

Disc Golf Essays

- Water and Salt water sound similar, at first you would think that but as soon as you research either of them you’ll find that the only thing they have one thing in common water. This pair brings to mind somewhat of a similar situation in golf and frisbee golf. One would think that you frisbee golf is just golf with a frisbee but this is not so it s deeper than that. When you experience both of these it come to you, although they share similar names golf and frisbee golf have many differences between them....   [tags: Ultimate Frisbee Golf]

Free Essays
986 words (2.8 pages)