Queens Preface

analytical Essay
1519 words
1519 words


This book, Medieval and Reformation Reigning Queens of England, is a factual narrative on lives of Norman, Plantagenet and Tudor reigning queens from the Norman Conquest of 1066 to the death of Elizabeth I in 1603.

Among the thirty-two biographies summarized here are the four royal women who ruled, or tried to rule in her own right: these queens regnant are Empress Matilda, Lady Jane Gray, Queen Mary I and Queen Elizabeth I. They each received the same level of attention in the author’s previous work, Lives of England’s Monarchs (2005), as was given to their male counterparts. The major events in the lives of these reigning queens are readily available from the previous companion work, and in many other sources; thus, the lives of reigning queens are only briefly reviewed in the present study.

Here, major emphasis is given to queens consort, the wives of England’s ruling kings. Histories of England usually consider it sufficient to credit these great ladies with little more than facts that they were mothers of a rising heir apparent. Aside from producing an heir to the throne—or failing to do so—the queens consort are notable more for neglect than recognition of the roles each consecutively played in the pageant of England. The queens consort chronicled here are those of the Norman, Plantagenet and Tudor Dynasties: namely, Norman queens consort, Matilda of Flanders, Matilda of Scotland, Matilda of Boulogne; Plantagenet queens consort, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Berengaria of Navarre, Joan of Gloucester, Isabelle of Angoulême. Eleanor of Provence, Eleanor of Castile, Marguerite of France, Isabella of France, Philippa of Hainault, Anne of Bohemia, Isabella of Valois, Joanna of Navarre, Katherine of Valois, Margaret of ...

... middle of paper ...

...on is needed to clarify important events, lengthy footnotes called “Digressions” are inserted. Like any footnote, they can be ignored without fatal detriment to the narrative it follows.

An Appendix entitled “Royal Lines of Descent” summarizes lineages for ruling monarchs in the seven English dynasties that have ruled England from Saxon to Modern Time. The appropriate part of this table is repeated in the introduction to each dynasty as it is introduced in the text; the seven lineages are 1. Saxon—Wessex Earl-King Dynasty (802-1066); 2. Norman Dynasty (1066-1154); 3. Plantagenet Dynasty (1066-1485); 4. Tudor Dynasty (1485-1603); 5. Stuart Dynasty (1603-1714); 6. Hanover Dynasty (1714-1901); 7. Saxe-Coburg-Gotha—Windsor Dynasty (1901—present). Queens of the Stuart, Hanover and Windsor dynastic lines are subjects for a work-in-progress volume to follow.

In this essay, the author

  • Explains that medieval and reformation reigning queens of england is a factual narrative on lives of norman, plantagenet and tudor reigning queens from the norman conquest of 1066 to the death of elizabeth i in 1603.
  • Argues that the queens consort are notable for neglect than recognition of the roles each consecutively played in the pageant of england.
  • Opines that england's neglected and largely forgotten queens were ladies of great ability and character. they were constrained by ancient custom to live subordinate feminine lives in a world ruled by men.
  • Analyzes how the narratives told here permit each queen consort to live out her life and again, in the reader’s mind, act out the starring role she played in historic time.
  • Opines that this volume is for readers who enjoy understanding the background for times of radical change in power politics, public customs, and religious beliefs.
  • Explains that the organization of this text follows that used in its preceding companion book, lives of england’s monarchs, where the text contained three parts: foreword, introduction, narratives
  • Analyzes how the "foreword" recounts the collapse of civilization that followed the fall of ancient rome, the rise of manorial feudal systems and chivalry during the dark ages, and the social hierarchy that became the way of life in europe.
  • Describes the history of england before the norman conquest of 1066, including celtic england, roman occupation, and the importance of established christianity in the british isles.
  • Explains the "narrative" body of the text covers the medieval history of england following the dark ages up to the norman conquest of 1066, and continues through the english reformation of 16th century.
  • Explains that chapters numbered 1 to 24 deal chronologically with reigns of successive english ruling monarchs; they begin with 1. king william i and end with 24. queen elizabeth i.
  • Explains that each chapter begins with a brief summary of events in the reign of its ruling king or queen. the main body of chapters is composed of one or more biographical narratives, each of which covers the entire life of the queen consort.
  • Explains that chapters are written as independent narratives and that the subject matter is written in non-technical style to provide a pleasant read.
  • Explains that when additional information is needed to clarify important events, lengthy footnotes called "digressions" are inserted.
  • Explains that an appendix entitled "royal lines of descent" summarizes lineages for ruling monarchs in seven english dynasties that have ruled england from saxon to modern time.

Let Our AI Magic Supercharge Your Grades!

    Get Access