Essay about Environment: What’s really going on?

Essay about Environment: What’s really going on?

Length: 1480 words (4.2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

What’s really going on?

For the past few many people have wonder, or become more aware of our planet’s changes and the way it has been affecting us all along. Some people take this very serious, but others are not taking the warnings that our Earth, our home, has given us. There has been a lot of research over the past couple of decades to determine the effect of the many unusual patterns of some natural “disasters”. There has been a lot of confusion based on the results of the many scientists that have tried to work out this ongoing process. This confusion is due to the different data results of each investigation. Some scientist have predicted that the worst is coming just around the corner. That it is a fact that catastrophes will happen in this era. On the other hand, there are some researches that say that this is not true and inaccurate. This so called “catastrophes” will evidently happen but from a long time from ours. There always have to be two sides of the coin, two opinions, but how do we know what to believe. It is not always certain what a lot of the scientists may say. They are humans. Miscalculations are a possibility, but it doesn’t hurt to keep in mind that our world may not always exist. It was once a strong, young planet that flourished with life all around the globe, until sudden changes started to occur. Many say that humans are the worst enemy of this beautiful planet. Many say that it is just the way it supposed to be, just like a human being. It is born, then grows, and then after its long life it dies. But, what did really happen to the Earth to suffer this bizarre changes to begin? What is going to happen to us? Are we in danger at this point or is just speculations? Are we on the verge of experiencin...


... middle of paper ...


...that needs to be looked at the most. This is not shown to make us feel that we are to blame , but it is shown to give us an idea, an estimate of how bad the process has gone up to.
We have lived in a complex world, a world that needs protection. We are the only species that have the enough intelligence to figure out how we can protect the beautiful planet that we call home. We have the right tools to do it. We only need the willingness to do what is right, and to save ourselves from every problem that we have created.


Works Cited
Gagosian, Robert B. Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute. 03 Sept. 2009. Web. 28 Nov. 2009.
Newman, Paul A. NASA Ozone Hole Watch. 18 Nov. 2009. Web. 28 Nov. 2009.

Riebeek, Holli. NASA Earth Observatory. 26 Nov. 2009. Web. 28 Nov. 2009.

Sachs, Jeffrey. The Earth Institute Columbia University. 19 Dec. 2008. Web. 28 Nov. 2009.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Lake And Its Effects On The Environment Essay examples

- In recent decades, the climate has changed dramatically both The East and The Draining lake have a huge influence on the environment . Just as the lake is draining in Kleifarvatn over the past few years there has been many bones being exposed from the lake. Accordingly to the townspeople of Kleifarvatn when the lake had dropped to two meters they found the remains of a sheep. Likewise in The East, the group has launched attacks against big corporations to expose oil tycoon on the environmental disaster their posing....   [tags: Skeleton, Human skeleton, Environment, Earthquake]

Powerful Essays
1023 words (2.9 pages)

Environment Essay: There is NOT Going to be an Environmental Disaster

- Many say that at the current rate of development, we're headed for and environmental disaster. Is this correct. Have humans really destroyed, pillaged, and polluted enough to cause a serious, wide scale, disaster. If not, then should we continue forward without changing our way of living. All of these questions hold great pertinence for our current situation. Humans don't exactly hold the best track record for environmental protection and preservation. Throughout time we have exploited nature and its creatures for our own benefit....   [tags: Environment Environmental Pollution]

Free Essays
2768 words (7.9 pages)

Philip Larkin’s Poem Church Going Essay

- Philip Larkin’s Poem "Church Going" When it comes to religion, we can choose either to believe or not to believe. Some have faith in a supreme being, and week after week, devoutly cram into the church of their choice and recite their prayers. In contrast, there are nonbelievers. They see religion as an escape from reality-- a false hope that after living a long and difficult life, an omniscient, unconditionally loving deity will welcome them into an eternal existence. In Philip Larkin’s poem, "Church Going," the speaker is also a nonbeliever....   [tags: Philip Larkin Church Going Essays]

Powerful Essays
902 words (2.6 pages)

My Relationship With The Environment Essay

- When I think of the perfect place, I imagine a cascading waterfall, a vast forest, a stunning mountainside, or a warm sunset on the beach. I look up around me, mesmerized by the vastness of the natural world and breathe in the fresh air. Over the course of my life, I have come to respect the environment and the earth’s natural surroundings in ways that most others do not in the industrialized and technological era of today. I can appreciate the beauty of the Earth and of all the different landscapes and organisms that surround me....   [tags: Environment, Natural environment, Human, Nature]

Powerful Essays
1496 words (4.3 pages)

The Issue of the Preservation/Protection of the Environment Essay

- There are those individuals who are of the view that the environment should take precedence over any proposed economic developmental projects because of its necessity to human survival. On the other hand, there are those who believe it should be the other way around, because if a country is not economically feasible, then it won’t be able to survive and protect its environment. The controversial issue or question at hand is whether environmental concerns should outweigh economic advantages when approval is being considered for projects in developing countries....   [tags: environment, developing countries, poverty]

Powerful Essays
1103 words (3.2 pages)

Going Green in the Lodging Industry Essay

- Going Green. It is so common in todays society for every company to advance to smarter ways of doing business and the lodging industry is no different. In fact, Green is the “buzzword” of the industry right now and the American Hotel and Lodging Association is at the fore front of it (ahla.com). In this industry, finding sustainable solutions in various areas have become key to business and even more so important to place a strong assurance to the industries survival in the years to come. Now when most here “Green” they assume recycling which is essentially very accurate but over the last two decades we have made technological advances in recycling energy that have greatly saved money and...   [tags: energy costs, sustainability, environment]

Powerful Essays
1071 words (3.1 pages)

"Going Green" in the Workplace Essay

- Going green in the workplace is a new trend in business. In choosing to go green in the workplace you may be challenged by an elevated initial start-up costs, however savings earned from this investment will more than pay for those initial costs in the future. Many people see this as a controversial issue, and granted it does have its own unique set of pro and cons, but if a business makes careful choices going green can prove to be very rewarding. Companies are doing this to save money on energy expenses as well as deploying it as a means to help reduce the carbon foot-print they are leaving behind....   [tags: environment]

Powerful Essays
1453 words (4.2 pages)

What Makes A Healing Environment? Essay

- Healing is a long process that requires a person physical, mental and spiritual aspects. As a human being if a person has problem in one part of those aspects, he/she don’t feel well and hard to function well. The environment we live in, plays a big factor on person healing process. If there surrounded by a strong healing environment, a patient can recover faster. A healing environment consist of clean environment, a heathy spiritual life, and a strong support system around a person. When a person obtains a well and strong a healing environment, he will have a better and faster healing process....   [tags: Natural environment, Human, Thought, Religion]

Powerful Essays
928 words (2.7 pages)

Essay on Business vs. the Environment

- Business vs. the Environment Business today has so many responsibilities. Aside from making a profit, they are forced to take on a different responsibility, one that involves the environment. Even though, they already have many regulations set by the government, they are still being asked to answer to the call of helping out the rest of society take of nature. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of corporate responsibility for the environment through the agent-of-society and agent-of-capital views....   [tags: Business Environment Poverty Economics Essays]

Powerful Essays
1416 words (4 pages)

Proposing Taxation of Products to Preserve Wildlife and the Environment

- Proposing Taxation of Products to Preserve Wildlife and the Environment “Only after the last tree has been cut down,    Only after the last river has been poisoned,    Only after the last fish has been caught,               Only then will you realize that money cannot be eaten.”                ---The Cree People   Wildlife is declining more rapidly each day with innumerable species already on the endangered species list and hundreds more waiting to be put on. Although great efforts are being made by organizations and individuals to save these endangered animals there are still many things needed to be done....   [tags: Environment Environmental Pollution Preservation]

Powerful Essays
1889 words (5.4 pages)