The Bedroom Tax: Is It Fair? Essay

The Bedroom Tax: Is It Fair? Essay

Length: 1432 words (4.1 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

THE BEDROOM TAX – IS IT FAIR?
Mention the words “bedroom tax” in conversation and the responses range from firsthand accounts of people being evicted from their homes to newly bereaved pensioners faced with the prospect of losing their homes because they can’t afford the rent. You can’t fail to have heard horror stories of desperate pensioners such as Stephanie Bottrill feeling suicide to be the only way out (DAILY MAIL, 2013) or a middle aged man “sick of all this shit...” slitting his throat in a benefit advice office. (DAILY MAIL JULY 2013) Is it fair to persecute the most vulnerable members of society? That all depends on how you define fair.
The bedroom tax, or under-occupancy charge as the government prefers it to be known, was designed to bring tenants in receipt of Housing Benefit (HB) in social housing into line with those living in private rented accommodation. From 1 April 2013, if you are a social housing tenant of working age receiving HB, and renting a home with more bedrooms than you need, your HB is reduced by 14% for one “spare” bedroom and 25% for two or more. (NORTHUMBERLAND COUNTY COUNCIL, 2013) The power to reduce HB in this way is contained in the Welfare Reform Act 2012 - quite possibly one of the most unpopular and controversial pieces of legislation introduced by the Conservative led coalition government.
It should be noted that the regulations do not define what a bedroom is, nor its size. Rumours abounded on various social media websites such as Facebook and Twitter that rooms under 70 square feet didn’t constitute a bedroom but this was a misconception based on an incorrect interpretation of overcrowding under the HOUSING ACT 1985.
The government says the bedroom tax is all about fairness; th...


... middle of paper ...


... . 2014. BBC Radio 4 - You and Yours, 08/03/2013 . [ONLINE] Available at:http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01r12ls. [Accessed 08 January 2014].
Krishnan Guru-Murthy Channel 4 News. (2013). Bedroom tax debate: Liam Byrne and Nigel Mills - video. [Online Video]. 06 February. Available from: http://www.channel4.com/news/bedroom-tax-debate-liam-byrne-and-nigel-mills-video. [Accessed: 08 January 2014].
Michael Crick, Channel 4 News. (2013). Government majority cut in 'bedroom tax' debate. [Online Video]. 12 November 2013. Available from: http://www.channel4.com/news/bedroom-tax-labour-lib-dems-vote-commons. [Accessed: 08 January 2014].
Matt Frei, Channel 4 News. (2013). http://www.channel4.com/news/bedroom-tax-shapps-un-tory-video. [Online Video]. 11 September 2013. Available from: http://www.channel4.com/news/bedroom-tax-shapps-un-tory-video. [Accessed: 08 January 2014].

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on Fair Tax: Avoidance of Taxes

- ... Even greater, the state budget director, Linda Luebbering believes the tax would need to be fourteen percent (Mannies, 2011). Given that approval for the prebate seems politically unlikely, and that there is no mechanism in the initiative to generate funding for the it, its absence would unfairly shift the tax burden onto lower-income Missourians, making the tax extremely regressive. Some believe that the expansion of the tax base would wreak positive benefits for Missouri. According to Travis Brown, president of Let Voters Decide - the 501(c)(3) non-partisan organization advocating for reform - the “upshot would be ‘a better, broader tax base,’' while the taxes paid would depend on the...   [tags: income tax, imposing a sale tax]

Term Papers
1711 words (4.9 pages)

U.s. Tax System Is Fair Essay

- Research Paper Essay Many in the United States wonder if the tax system is fair. The U.S. tax system is setup on both a federal and state level. There are several types of taxes: income, sales, and capital gains. Federal and state taxes are completely separate and each has its own authority to charge taxes. The federal government does not have the right to interfere with state taxation. The U.S tax system is unfair due to the fact that the rich have to pay more tax than the poor which is very concerning for most rich class people....   [tags: Tax, Taxation in the United States, Taxation]

Term Papers
883 words (2.5 pages)

Essay on The Fair Tax

- Taxes are unavoidable because government is needed and government operates on tax revenues. The FairTax is a tax-inclusive progressive national retail sales tax that replaces every other federal tax in America. The new national sales tax would be 23%. Although there have been some questions as to whether the sales tax rate is 23% or 30% and they stem from the meaning of tax-inclusive and tax exclusive. The sales tax in Florida is an example of an exclusive tax because it works of a preset base. If a person buys something for 1$ and pays a .30$ tax on it the sales tax is 30 percent because it is .30$ on the dollar....   [tags: Government]

Term Papers
1037 words (3 pages)

The Tax System And Consumption Tax Essay

- Numerous politicians are in favor of reforming the United States tax system to consumption tax. Our basic tax system is tax that the government imposes on all working individuals including businesses. Per law, all workforce women, men, and young adults are required to file an income tax return every year; this can dedicate if they owe any taxes or may be eligible to receive a refund. To determine such taxes owe or refunds, the government utilized a progressive tax system, which higher income earner pays a higher tax rate compared to those who earn a lower less....   [tags: Tax, Income tax, Progressive tax]

Term Papers
1479 words (4.2 pages)

To What Extent has the Bedroom Tax Affected People Essay

- To What Extent has the Bedroom Tax Affected People Britain is currently undergoing the biggest overhaul of the welfare system since its introduction. The welfare system was first established with the assurance that people less fortunate would be able to have a standard of living that would ensure equality. But the recent amendments brought into place by the current government’s legislations may see the biggest divide between rich and poor since the days of the work houses. How will claimants be affected and who will be affected the most is an issue that will be examined more closely....   [tags: Britain, Government, Taxes]

Term Papers
1794 words (5.1 pages)

Descriptive Essay : My Bedroom

- My Bedroom Do you ever wonder why certain places mean so much to certain people. When I think of my bedroom, I realize why some people are touchy about who goes into their room or who has been touching things in their home, it is because those things are important to them and may have some meaning. Places like my bedroom are places where we can relax and be comfortable and I think that is why it is important to people, because we can be ourselves and feel comfortable, we can also just sit down and rest our bones and relax....   [tags: Room, Bedroom, Rooms, Want]

Term Papers
1019 words (2.9 pages)

The Progressive Tax And The Tax Essay

- The U.S. along with only 6 other countries use the progressive tax, the progressive tax is a very unfair and inconsistent taxing system.This system has a varying rate that taxes the higher income homes with a higher rate,and the lower with a reduced rate.The Flat tax is a taxing system that has one flat tax rate for all ranges of income homes. The flat tax has been proposed multiple times throughout legislation , but not once has it been taken seriously as a cure to fix the current tax problems.The U.S....   [tags: Tax, Taxation in the United States]

Term Papers
1319 words (3.8 pages)

My Experience With My Bedroom Essay

- Everyone has their own, personal place to have alone time and clear their heads. For me, that place is my bedroom in my apartment. My room is the one place where I feel most nostalgic and comfortable; its’ a comfort that can’t be replaced. My bedroom is my favorite room in my apartment because I always have my privacy there, and I feel like it shows my personal style, which I love. Privacy is extremely important to have in your life and it helps keep you sane. That’s why I am so unbelievably thankful that the bedroom doors in my apartment have locks on them for our own privacy....   [tags: Bedroom, Room, Work in progress, Rooms]

Term Papers
1039 words (3 pages)

Essay on America's Tax System: Flat or Fair?

- America’s Tax System, Flat or Fair. “No taxation without representation!” A fair tax system was what the American colonists were looking for and one that many say we are still trying to achieve. Today, while we are all represented in government and are all required to pay taxes, some still perceive the system of taxation as unfair, allowing for specialized interests, loopholes, as well as more/less taxation based on income. Should the American tax system remain the same, where individuals’ income is taxed based on how much one makes with loopholes and deductions....   [tags: lopholes, deductions, income, taxes]

Term Papers
672 words (1.9 pages)

The Flat Tax Essay

- The national debt is growing and the government is unable to keep up under the current Progressive tax system, in the United States. A solution for the United States debt is to switch to a flat tax system. A switch to a flat tax system would simplify the tax process, it would make taxes fair and even, and it would allow the government to reduce the United States national debt. A flat tax system is a system that taxes every individual at the same percentage. It is not like any system the United States has seen before....   [tags: Tax Policy]

Term Papers
1969 words (5.6 pages)