Are Teens too Dependent on Technology? Essays

Are Teens too Dependent on Technology? Essays

Length: 1624 words (4.6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview



This morning, Jane was working on her French Language project and every few seconds, “brring brrring brrring” friends texting her right and left. “Aarg!” How can she get anything done! It is impossible to complete any tasks from start to finish without the smart phone begging for attention. Does this sound familiar? We, especially teenagers, are familiar with this kind of situation. It is a huge distraction that interrupts everything we do. If so, why does not she just turn her phone off? Why cannot she stop herself from focusing on it?
Technology has a significant part in social and educational life of teens and it makes parents and experts think how teenagers become that addicted to technology today. The change in the social life of children and young generation causes to research upon technology’s usage of young people. A recent survey shows that adolescents aged between 10-18 waste an average of six to seven hours with electronic devices like computers and smart phones which cause to negative outcomes as depression, social isolation, anxiety, insomnia, and obesity(“Technology gadgets stealing kids' sleep, shows survey”). The good feeling brought on by the chemical like adrenaline, dopamine as in the gambling addiction and the joy by social networking sites, smart phones, online video games and also not-feeling alone and freedom in virtual world are the factors of technology dependence. This 24/7 online, connected community is actually a place for escaping from stress and bad emotions. The countless facilities and alternatives of virtual world attract the attention of many teens.
Technology is also used as a tool in the method of teaching and learning for faster and easier education. It is now an academic necessity i...


... middle of paper ...


.... Web. 10 Apr. 2014. .
• "Technology gadgets stealing kids' sleep, shows survey." Asia News Network 26 Dec. 2011: Points of View Reference Center. Web. 7 Apr. 2014.
• "Technology Addiction Disrupts Teenage Learning." M2presswire (2009): Newspaper Source. Web. 10 Apr. 2014.
• Verial, Damon. "Internet Addiction & Verbal Skills in Teens." Everyday Life. Demand Media, n.d. Web. 09 Apr. 2014. .

• Verial, Damon. "Technology As an Influence on Teens." Everyday Life. Demand Media, n.d. Web. 08 Apr. 2014. .
• Wilcox, Kate. "Switched on, worn out." Sydney Morning Herald, The 23 Feb. 2013: 19. Points of View Reference Center. Web. 7 Apr. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on Is Society Too Dependent On Technology?

- Is Society Too Dependent on Technology. How many of you think technology is necessary in your life. Would you feel the same way if you knew, how often children get tortured because of it. I don 't think so. Technology based companies such as Apple and Samsung usually tell people having technology or anything electronic can change your life in a positive way. Ok, I admit that 's true. But it could also be a weapon of violence, it could cause millions of children to get hurt every single day. They are many way 's technology can create alifetime of pain for a lot of kids’....   [tags: Carbon dioxide, Climate change, Greenhouse gas]

Term Papers
895 words (2.6 pages)

The Teens of Helicopter Parents Essay

- With the new world of technology, Helicopter parenting is easier for the parents of developing teens. In some cases the parents take things to the extreme and the children become very sheltered and depressed. Aubrey Ireland is one of many young adults with helicopter parents. She was a senior in college and her parents would constantly drive over 600 miles to “surprise” her. They also had tracking devices on all her electronics and made her keep her Skype open while she was asleep so they could make sure she was ok while she was sleeping.("Helicopter Parenting Has Gone Too Far.") When parenting is taken as far as the case with Aubrey, there is no turning back for the parent....   [tags: children, teens, competitive world]

Term Papers
1770 words (5.1 pages)

Essay on The Human Race : Dependent On Technology

- The Human Race: Dependent on Technology Technology has become such an important facet to our daily lives, without it, our world would be significantly different. Having this accessibility to the internet, social networks, adult dating sites and youtube help us stay connected with old and new loved ones. All this information and online technology tends to have us living in an online world. Making our human race has become overly dependent on gadgets such as smartphones, computers, smart tv’s, laptops, wifi and video gaming systems over the past few years....   [tags: Sociology, Internet, Human, Website]

Term Papers
715 words (2 pages)

Annotated Bibliography Of How Teens Depends On Technology Essay

- An Annotated Bibliography of How Teens Depends on Technology Over the last decade, technology has done nothing but progressed, creating positive and negative results. We utilize technology to achieve various tasks in our everyday lives and to broaden our abilities, which makes the individuals the most vital part of any mechanical framework. Individuals, particularly teenagers have become excessively dependent and accustomed to using technology as a part of their regular daily basis. A large number of today’s teens invest their time in a computer monitor or smartphones....   [tags: Adolescence, Time, Technology, Negative feedback]

Term Papers
735 words (2.1 pages)

Internet's Negative Effect on Today's Society Essay

- It is so obviously clear that technology is taking over and running our life. Technology is everywhere and is having massive negative effects on our social wellbeing in today’s society. Basic essential skills now being googled as this knowledge is now untaught or forgotten leaving us terribly deficient in basic survival skills. Social media now also gaining thousands of new users to impress and socialize every second online with instead of having face to face conversations with someone in real life....   [tags: technology dependent]

Term Papers
917 words (2.6 pages)

Essay on Technologically Advanced or just Really Dependent?

- Around the Christmas season, holiday commercials dominate television stations. Not too often will you see an advertisement for a scooter, basketball, or sidewalk chalk. It’s all about the latest and greatest cell phone, tablet, or movie. Whether it’s aimed at an adult, teenager or child, the audience has something technological shoved in their face. As a twenty year old, it’s hard to recall the time where cell phones, GPS, and On Demand didn’t exist. I vaguely remember my mother carrying around her beeper, and answering the ‘house phone’....   [tags: laziness, phones, latest technology]

Term Papers
783 words (2.2 pages)

Essay on Are Children Exposed Too Much Technology Too Young?

- Are Children Exposed to Too Much Technology Too Young. Technology is constantly evolving and being passed down to younger generations each year. Young children are becoming more technologically advanced and dependent compared to those of elderly age. In order for parent’s to calm their children in today’s society, they provide them with cell phones or other technological distractions. The increasing use of cellphones has been caused by many different things. As the years have come and passed, technology and the education behind it is growing rapidly....   [tags: Mobile phone, Internet, Text messaging]

Term Papers
1375 words (3.9 pages)

Technology in the Movie Wall-E Essay

- The movie Wall-E shows a lot of compelling technology such as automatic chairs and holograms, but did you notice the effects this technology had on humanity. When you first see the round, chubby humans in Wall-e, your first instinct was to probably laugh. Once you really think about it, though, that future might soon become ours. Even though most technology is very useful and convenient, our dependence on it can lower our ability to focus, decrease people skills, and decline physical health as depicted in Wall-E....   [tags: Film Analysis, Technology, Holograms]

Term Papers
915 words (2.6 pages)

Technology and the Death of Human Social Skills Essay

- Have you ever wondered what the world would be like without technology. Would we be lost without. Are you scared for the next generations. Technology has been a dependent source for us humans for so long.The more technology advances the more our society becomes dependent on it. I believe technology is one of the best things people have created but, technology is interfering with our social skills. Technology is making many of us lack on our writing skills....   [tags: Con Technology Essays]

Term Papers
670 words (1.9 pages)

The Media vs Teens Essay

- I was sitting one night perched in front of the television when a segment captured my attention. It was an attempt to portray the current generation "Y" as lazy, fat and drug addicted. If you are naïve enough to swallow the tripe being served, you may form the opinion that we teens do little beyond text messaging, sexting and gaming. Teens would be incapable of surviving in an environment without technology and parental support because we are intrinsically selfish and unable to function without an iPod hooked to our ears or a mobile phone vibrating in our pockets....   [tags: The Y Generation]

Term Papers
1085 words (3.1 pages)