Advertising, As We Know It, Could Not Exist Without Creativity Essay examples

Advertising, As We Know It, Could Not Exist Without Creativity Essay examples

Length: 1708 words (4.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

“Advertising, as we know it, could not exist without creativity.”

“Nothing is more efficient than creative advertising. Creative advertising is more memorable, longer lasting, works with less media spending, and builds a fan community…faster.”
-Stephan Vogel, Ogilvy & Mather Germany’s chief creative officer

Creativity has always remained to be a very subjective term. Every individual has a different opinion of what they think about creativity. Some believe that creativity is a quality that you are born with; others believe that it is a talent that can be learnt and taught. The essential elements of creativity can be considered as imagination and inventiveness disciplined by routine skills. Generally creativity may vary with taste, geography, culture, time, gender, age, etc.

Advertising is a form of communicative activation which may be informative and persuasive in nature. It utilizes the mass or new media to persuade the consumers to purchase goods and services. Many brands choose advertising with a motive of promoting a new product or just promoting existing ones. In advertising, agencies survive on creative communication. Creativity has always been the basis for clients to justify advertising and the choice of agencies they make. Creativity can be defined as “the extent to which an advertisement contains brand or executional elements that are different, novel, unusual, original, unique, etc.” (Torrance’s measures)

In this present and highly competitive market consumers are presented with vast range of products choices and services. With the fading concept of brand loyalty, marketers are required to devise creative and innovative ways of attracting and retaining customers. Survival in the business world entails steady pa...


... middle of paper ...


...e Power of Creativity, Millward Brown, viewed 8 August 2015,


Wood, T 2013, The importance of creativity in advertising, Idealog, viewed 9 August 2015,

Reinartz 2013, What Is 'Creativity ' In Advertising, and When Does It Lead To Market Performance? , Forbes, viewed 9 August 2015,

Jain, R 2014, Role of creativity in Advertising and Digital Marketing, Shootorder, viewed 9 August 2015,

Heffernan, M 2015, Woolworths ads not so cheap, but Coles ads down, down, The Sydney Morning Herald, viewed 9 August 2015,

Ricki 2014, ALDI puts a new spin on price comparison ads in the new “like like” campaign via BMF Sydney, Campaign Brief, viewed 10 August 2015,

Down Down Big Red Hand Guitar (Extended Version) - Coles TV Ad, July 2012, viewed 10 August 2015 < https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GdV4pr4frd4>

Woolworths The Fresh Food People, June 2012, viewed 10 August 2015

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Description of The Universe of Creativity Essay example

- My brothers and I are odd cases in relation to the rest of our family. We were, for one reason or another, blessed with the abilities to understand and perform music. Through this innate form of creative expression, I was released to the world of the right brained and found fascination in the act of creation. Due to my need to create something fresh and authentically my own, it made slim my options toward a career choice. I had to do something that would allow me to show my individualism, express my interpreted thoughts in a medium, universally understood, and allow for that idea to be nurtured by not only myself, but by others with similar quirks....   [tags: imagination, creativity, advertising]

Strong Essays
2862 words (8.2 pages)

Essay Creativity And Its Effect On Creativity

- Creativity, it’s a broad topic of just new things and ideas among people. The definition of creativity is the use of the imagination or original ideas, especially in the production of an artistic work. PBS describes creativity as, “The new ideas and new connections between ideas, and ways to solve problems in any field or realm of our lives. The concept of creativity is often hard to grasp because creativity isn 't a tangible thing its just and idea. Also, because it’s hard to differ between a truly original idea and an idea that is just shaped from others....   [tags: Creativity, Idea, Brain, Mind]

Strong Essays
1340 words (3.8 pages)

Essay on Does God Really Exist?

- Religion is the belief in and worship of a phenomenal controlling power, especially a personal God or gods. Religion has been the part of human from the dawn of time, and whether people believe in almighty God or any other god. Most religions believe in a particular higher power, as a result it raises a question whether God really exists or not. Every person in this world can give an answer to that particular question in there on way and according to their religion. Some will say that God exists and they will give there proof of Gods existence, but there are others that believe God doesn’t exist and there is no such thing as God....   [tags: religion, god, exist]

Strong Essays
1053 words (3 pages)

Essay on Our Education System Is Killing Creativity

- WHERE DOES CREATIVITY COME FROM. It is often said that the creative adult is the child that survived, implying that there was some kind of death that occurred along the way. Logic knows what I had yet to figure out in leaving university; creativity cannot exist in solidarity. I cannot wake up one day and decide, “I will be creative without the preceding training and skills that are crucial to the creative process.” Dr. Larry Dossey, a physician of internal medicine says it as so: “Someone who doesn’t know arithmetic will never be a great mathematician....   [tags: Schools Kill Creativity]

Strong Essays
1100 words (3.1 pages)

History of Technology Use in Advertising Essay

- Introduction: Chapter 1 1.1 Why is it important to ask this question. It is sometimes easy for consumers and advertisers to forget, but advertising involves a whole ecosystem of creativity, copywriter and art director, planners and Creative Directors, affiliates of the brand, via a plethora of other professionals – and professions – in order for an idea to come to life and hit our TV screens, radio waves, and any other medium available. With a perpetual flux of new technologies, media and ways to market brands, it becomes increasingly important for Creatives to understand their impact on the ways they can affect, and enhance, the creative process in advertising....   [tags: Advertising]

Strong Essays
3410 words (9.7 pages)

Advertising And Its Impact On Advertising Essay

- Companies rely on advertising to sell their product and the lengths they will go in order to make a profit include via targeting demographics, spending millions on advertising campaigns, researching how to most appeal to buyers with the shape and design of their products, sponsoring public events such as the Olympics that imply health or pride by association, and establishing or stealing a namesake to gain revenue through brand recognition. A corporation only looking out for their bottom line will not always benefit the customer as shown by overcharging for products, causing unnecessary sickness and hospital bills, giving misleading information, and using data from flawed or biased studies i...   [tags: Advertising, Nutrition, Brand, Public]

Strong Essays
1198 words (3.4 pages)

Advertisings Subliminal Message Essay example

- Fallacious reasoning is the act of forming strong one sided opinions based on one’s perceptions in regards to marketing. Sometimes the reasoning can present a strong message; such as that from a dogmatic viewpoint where only one true choice exist within the mind of the observer. Though not always disagreeable such as the fallacious reasoning dogmatism; fallacious reasoning is used a lot in today’s advertising to influence people in society’s thinking, social atmospheres, and outlooks. The vessels used to reach these unknowing test subjects are viewers are promoted through media networks, or popular culture icons....   [tags: Advertising ]

Strong Essays
996 words (2.8 pages)

Is Art A World Without Change, Creativity, Or Incentive For Improvement?

- William Pollard once said “without change there is no innovation, creativity, or incentive for improvement. Those who initiate change will have a better opportunity to manage the change that is inevitable”. In a world without change and innovation there is no creativity or incentives to improve, the world becomes dark and undesirable. There is no better beauty than that of inspiring others to do things that make them and others happy. Creativity just like anything in the world can be seen as something subjective....   [tags: Human, Thought, Idea, Creativity]

Strong Essays
956 words (2.7 pages)

Advertising Essays

- Advertising Works Cited Missing "Advertising has developed and supported great industries, bulwarked-"or increased- "entire economies, and changed a sufficient number of human habits" (Wood 3). Like that paragraph says, advertising affects people in what they do and how they do it. It has affected the Kleenex company, the Nylon manufacturers and a company of a new type of car, the Tucker Corporation, from the 1940’s. Advertising has changed due to these people by their ways of making people notice their product....   [tags: business Marketing Advertisisng Essays]

Strong Essays
1889 words (5.4 pages)

Creativity Essay

- Creativity 'Utterly butterly delicious', 'yeh dil maange more', 'kya swaad hai zindagi mein', 'beauty bar of film stars', ' kal bhi aaj bhi kal bhi', and I can go on. More than anything, I think we are compelled to watch these small bits of creativity on the television. Nuisance to the lovers of 'kyunki saas bhi kabhi bahu thi', to the tendulkar fans, and MTV dudes I think these are the best sections aired on the so called idiot box, exuding creativity. It is amazing to watch screening of mere ideas for a span ranging only from 10 to 60 seconds and the passage of the message yet then so convincingly that it actually entices an individual for indulging in great...   [tags: Papers]

Free Essays
659 words (1.9 pages)