Essay on Water Scarcity in the American Southwest

Essay on Water Scarcity in the American Southwest

Length: 1633 words (4.7 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The Colorado River resides in North America at 1,450 miles long it spans from the Rocky Mountains of Colorado flowing southwest through six other states into Mexico. During the 19th century, settlement within this region was limited to merely accessing the Colorado River. Back then adjacent water was strictly used to support life. Today, with our advanced water treatment and transportation methods, water is known for its more loose sense of sustaining “life” and that is of an economic sense. Now, we utilize water for more than just drinking. We apply water to trigger industry, mass produce agriculture, generate power and even recreationally. With our new thirsts we encounter dizzying demands for water. As we use this water for economic gains we take increasing amounts from the river. The water that is returned is then of severely lower quality causing detrimental effects to biologic life. To complicate the problem at hand the Colorado River has experienced drought since 1999. Currently, according to The Bureau of Reclamation, most areas of the river are experiencing extreme drought conditions. The Colorado River is not only degrading, but also drying up due to climate change and poor water management, consequently modern human development is impeded and the environment permanently scarred, therefore to prevent further damage local and state authorities should plan to alter wasteful methods of water management.

Poor water management is a key issue causing the de-vitalization of the Colorado River. Our current methods of managing water lead to wasted water through evaporation, leaks, over pumping and unnecessary use. Also any use we put to water degrades it and in most cases the water is sent back into the river at this reduce...


... middle of paper ...


...
Faludi, Jeremy. "Saving The World, Drip by Drip." World Changing: Change Your Thinking. Wolrd Changing, 06 Aug 2006. Web. 10 Nov 2014.

Kelly, Shannon. "CP-LUHNA." Water Development, Extraction, and Diversion. Luhna, 08 Dec 2002. Web. 11 Nov 2014.

Reeve, Ross. United States. Bureau of Reclamation. Drought In the Upper Colorado River Basin. 2014. Web. 14 Nov 2014.

Salazar, Ken. "Colorado River Issues." Remarks prepared for the Colorado River Water Users Association annual meeting. U.S. Department of the Interior. Las Vegas. 12 Dec 2010. Speech.

Swan, Bill. "The Colorado River." Moving Waters: The Colorado River. Moving Waters, 05 Mar 2006. Web. 7 Nov 2014.

United States. Bureau of Reclamation. Consumptive Uses and Losses. 2004. Print.

United States. Environmental Protection Agency. How to Conserve Water and Use It Effectively. 2014. Web. 8 Nov 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay about Water Scarcity and Possible Solutions

- “Water is the lifeblood of this planet. Every time a good is bought or sold there is a virtual exchange of water. Every time we interact with water, we change it, redirect it, or otherwise alter its state. We have never learned how to efficiently manage water.”(Cluckie, 2009) Ian Cluckie, Professor of Hydrology and Water Management, emphasizes the fact that humans can’t survive without water. Although water is a renewable resource that can replenish under hydrological cycles, our intervention has interrupted its natural cycle causing its supply to decrease.(Cluckie, 2009) The value of water is constantly being compared to diamonds....   [tags: Drinking Water Shortage]

Powerful Essays
1100 words (3.1 pages)

Essay on The Water Scarcity Issue in Developing Countries

- An immerging issue is the one that has appeared in the past few years. Water shortage is not something most people in developed countries think about. People in developed countries use thousands of gallons of water every day and do not even stop to think about it. This is because it is cheap and readily available. This is a completely different story in developing countries where the people there have to walk miles on end to get a pale of water. The people in these unfortunate countries use very little water every day because to them water is sacred....   [tags: water shortage, developing countries, clean water]

Powerful Essays
1956 words (5.6 pages)

Water Scarcity: Privatization is Not the Solution Essay

- Water is vital for humanity as it sustains human life and is a fundamental aspect in most of the products which are consumed by an average living person. This is why water supplies are crucial, because through them this substance is provided sadly these services are being perturbed by various obstacles that at the end are provoking a severe water scarcity around the globe. This has been attempted to be solved by privatising water services, since it is believed that water available for free has generated an overexploitation of this resource....   [tags: Drinking Water Shortage]

Powerful Essays
1057 words (3 pages)

Essay on Water Scarcity: Privatization is Not the Solution

- Although water is all around, very little is drinkable. Six billion people live on earth and 1.1 billion in 31 countries are unable to access safe, clean drinking water. California has only 20 years of water supply left. Ironically, even the wettest place on earth, Cherrapunji, India, has often water shortages. After years of millions of people dying of thirst and disease, a corporate movement to find a solution to the water crisis has now swept the world. Water, a fleeting resource vital to every life, every single day of the year, is now being taken out of the governments control and becoming a commodity bought and sold by big business, a.k.a privatization....   [tags: Global Water Crisis]

Powerful Essays
1213 words (3.5 pages)

Water Scarcity, Security and Governance Essay

- Introduction A major part of the world we live in, as well as our bodies, consist of water. Since it is a restricted source, the preservation of clean water and its adequate distribution throughout the planet is extremely vital. However, today 783 million people lack access to improved water sources. Many countries are still struggling to reach the water-related objectives of the Millennium Development Goals – threatening their advancement and ecological maintainability – and millions of people die each year from treatable waterborne diseases....   [tags: expanding water preservation and security]

Powerful Essays
1693 words (4.8 pages)

Water Scarcity in the USA Essay example

- Over the past fifty years, the U.S. population has doubled in size. During this time, total water usage per person has almost tripled. Since the end of World War II, there has been a steady increase of people moving out of rural areas and into cities. As a result, the domestic self-supplied population has greatly decreased and the need for public-water supply systems has intensified. These factors, in conjunction with certain economic trends, precipitation, and global climate changes, pose difficult challenges in the years to come....   [tags: Drinking Water Shortage]

Powerful Essays
985 words (2.8 pages)

Water Pollution and Water Scarcity Essays

- Water is essential for humans and organisms to live “Drinking water, “2008). Water covers most of the world and makes up more of the world than land. Water comes from different sources. Water may surround us but there are still shortages. Water allows us to live but it could be harmful to our bodies when polluted. Humans and natural disasters can cause damage to the water supply It is important to conserve water whenever possible (“Drinking Water, “2008). Oceans make up two-thirds of the Earth (“Drinking Water,”2008)....   [tags: Drinking Water Shortage]

Powerful Essays
1306 words (3.7 pages)

The Scarcity of Water Essay

- The procurability of potable water per capita is scarce and is currently diminishing worldwide. Scientific surveys estimate that the Earth’s surface is relatively seventy-one percent water and twenty-nine percent land. Unfortunately, a substantial amount of the seventy-one percent of water is salty and non-potable. Only about one percent of the available seventy-one percent can only be utilized for human consumption, without requiring initial desalinization. It has been predicted by the United Nations that due to population growth and various other factors that the average person’s water supply will be limited by a third over the next twenty years....   [tags: Environmental Issues]

Powerful Essays
961 words (2.7 pages)

Drinking Water Scarcity and Conservation Essay

- During times when many of us have our minds on matters conceivably much more critical than environmental ones, it is difficult to concentrate on the more mundane matters of clean drinking water and clean air. Unfortunately, while our nation's attention seems fully consumed with the whereabouts of terrorists, water and air continues to be overused and/or contaminated. In reflecting on this odd state of affairs, we begin to understand how easily it is for us to forget about one of the basic necessities of humanity -- clean drinking water....   [tags: Water Conservation, Potable Water]

Powerful Essays
1804 words (5.2 pages)

Global Drinking Water Scarcity Essay

- “More than 3.4 million people die each year from contaminated water related causes. Nearly all deaths, 99 percent, occur in the developing world.” – World Health Organization (WHO). (2014). -- Our planet's immense population is depleting the supply of drinking water resources. How will this problem develop in the years to come. Will we be able to provide enough drinking water to satisfy all the world’s needs. What can we do about the present lack of clean drinking water in many underdeveloped countries all around the world....   [tags: Drinking Water Shortage]

Powerful Essays
1050 words (3 pages)