Essay on Prosperity Gospel

Essay on Prosperity Gospel

Length: 1561 words (4.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

In today’s society, Christianity is plagued with many disagreements about how to deal with current issues in society. These problems arise from the fact that Christians have the same fundamental beliefs, but they often disagree on the details. This is the reason why there is a panoply of denominations in the Christian faith. The way that many of the factions in Christianity interpret the word of God can be categorized into different styles of gospel, such as evangelicalism and fundamentalism. One such category that is beginning to gain popularity in today’s society, often taught in megachurches, is Prosperity Gospel. Prosperity Gospel, also called the “Health and Wealth Gospel” by Scot McKnight’s internet article “The Problem for the Prosperity Gospel,” is the belief that if humans adhere to God’s will, then He will in turn bless them with prosperous lives (McKnight). This prosperity often comes in the form of health and wealth according to many megachurches that preach this gospel. In times of economic strife, the prosperity gospel offers comfort in the hopes of having a prosperous future. It is also suspected that Prosperity Gospel has also become an outlet for the people who have a considerable amount of money as a means to justify their wealth. Whatever the reason for believing this gospel, it is important to remember that Prosperity Gospel is just one of the many ways that we can interpret the teachings of the Bible.
First of all, Prosperity Gospel is based on the belief that by strong faith, God will repay you with health and wealth on Earth. An article written in the journal The Evangelical Review of Theology called “Prosperity Theology: T.D. Jakes and the Gospel of the Almighty Dollar” claims that this form of gospel prea...


... middle of paper ...


...tista, Andrew. “After the Garden is Gone: Megachurches, Pastoral, and Theologies of Consumption.” Disclosure. Is. 19. 2010. 83-96. Academic Search Premier. Web. 21 November 2013.
“Lausanne Theology Working Group Statement on the Prosperity Gospel.” Evangelical
Review of Theology. Vol. 34.2. April 2010. 99-102. Academic Search Premier. Web. 18
November 2013.
Lee, Shayne. “Prosperity Theology: T.D. Jakes and the Gospel of the Almighty Dollar.” Cross
Currents. Vol. 57.2. Summer 2007. 227-236. Academic Search Premier. Web. 18
November 2013.
The New International Version. Ed. International Bible Society. Colorado: Colorado Springs, 1984. Print.
Machado, Daisy L. “Capitalism, Immigration, and the Prosperity Gospel.” Anglican Theological
Review. Vol. 92.4. Fall 2010. 723-730. Academic Search Premier. Web. 21 November 2013.
McKnight, Scot. Beliefnet. Web. 21 November 2013.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Americanized Gospel Essay

- America so often aligns itself with that of a Godly nation; hence the nations’ founding fathers were ‘Christian’. Broadly speaking, this ‘Christianity’ America ties itself to is nothing more than a man-made religious activity that has lost its foundation. According to statistics from the Federal Government, 78% of Americans have a belief in God and claim to be “Christians”; yet Christians currently have less influence than any other time in this nations’ history. Since the majority of Americans profess Christ as their Lord and Savior, the all-powerful God, creator of heaven and earth, who is above all, in all, and through all, where is the evidence of Him....   [tags: Christianity ]

Powerful Essays
2266 words (6.5 pages)

The Gospel In South Africa Essay example

- It was the year 1820 when a ships from Britain came bearing a squashed group of 4000 hopeful English came upon the shores of Cape Town. A land of hope lay ahead of the these familes, who had been selected out of a group of some 90 000- all of whom fleeing the rising unemployment facing Britian after the Napoleonic wars. On the ship was a young Methodist minister whose longed not to escape England, but to preach the gospel.Little did he know how powerful a impact he would have in history. The Cape was very different from the place of his birth in Glasgow, but William Shaw didn’t mind that....   [tags: religion, methodist church]

Powerful Essays
1116 words (3.2 pages)

Essay on Technology and the American Gospel of Consumption

- Technology and the American Gospel of Consumption Inherent in the study of technology is the notion of “mass consumption” and its relationship to American society, the global perspective, and the potential effect of technology on American consumption. Although Americans currently live in what is known as a “consumer culture,” it has yet to be seen what exactly this means and what potential effects may result from our participation. While approximately half the world still lives in poverty and the destruction of the world’s environment is quickly becoming a reality, the problems and consequences of America’s massive reliance on consumption is certainly a topic that demands our attention....   [tags: Exploratory Essays Research Papers]

Powerful Essays
686 words (2 pages)

My Personal Statement : The Mission Was A Complete Failure Essay

- In a sense, from my own expectation, the mission was a complete failure. I wasn’t going to help the family of my enemy. Instead, offering forgiveness to one being punished in an Israeli jail, I was left speechless before the wake of a holocaust. Instead, in the perplexity of nobly identifying with my enemies, I discovered the honor of my family name. Just before I left I told my story to a Washington post reporter and as I thought about my first born son I realized that, in the attempt for forgiveness, my heart still had the capacity to feel for this wretched Holy Land....   [tags: Western culture, Western world, Gospel, Culture]

Powerful Essays
1290 words (3.7 pages)

Analysis Of The Book ' Christ Formed Of You ' Essay

- This paper was written to summarize the book of “Christ formed in you.” It will include the summary, the insights that I gained from the book, and notable quotes that the writer mentioned in the book. Overall, this book was talking about the process of transformation. The goal of this book was to explain a ‘place’ where the process of change begin and how it happens in the Christian life. The big ideas of this book were about the Spiritual formation and how the process of restoring the image of God in the life of people who are in Christ Jesus....   [tags: Jesus, Christianity, Gospel, New Testament]

Powerful Essays
940 words (2.7 pages)

Andrew Carnegie On The Gospel Of Wealth Essay examples

- Andrew Carnegie was born in Dunfermline, Scotland in 1835. His father, Will, was a weaver and a follower of Chartism, a popular movement of the British working class that called for the masses to vote and to run for Parliament in order to help improve conditions for workers. The exposure to such political beliefs and his family's poverty made a lasting impression on young Andrew and played a significant role in his life after his family immigrated to the United States in 1848. Andrew Carnegie amassed wealth in the steel industry after immigrating from Scotland as a boy....   [tags: essays research papers]

Free Essays
1210 words (3.5 pages)

The Sermon On The Mount Essay examples

- THE BEATITUDES http://andnowyouknowmore.blogspot.com ACKNOWLEDGEMENT: Having spent the last 68 years of Ministry, I have gleaned from many sources for information in the preparation for this series of lessons. It is impossible for me to give proper credit to the many sources I have gleaned from in the preparation for this writing. Most of my material comes from my studies in the, language, customs and the historical background of the events. Please feel free to copy and or pass on to others....   [tags: Jesus, New Testament, Gospel of Matthew]

Powerful Essays
1148 words (3.3 pages)

To what Extent does Globalization Contribute to Sustainable Prosperity? Essay example

- Sustainable prosperity is a very controversial topic. There are a lot of differing opinions about what it is or how it affects us. What is sustainable prosperity. Let’s break it down. Prosperity, it is the idea that all humans needs are met, and they are able to follow a life of happiness. Sustainability, means being able to continue something over generation after generation. We live in a globalizing world today, but to what extent does globalization contribute to sustainable prosperity. Globalization promotes sustainable prosperity, but at the same time it is holding it back....   [tags: prosperity, sustainability, globalization]

Powerful Essays
1067 words (3 pages)

The Message Of The Gospel Essay

- There are no “gospels” written by various authors with different meanings, but rather the message of the Gospel is one. It is the same message of the Gospel in each of the writing by the various authors. Before we can study how the Gospels “differ” from each other we must first recognize that the message of the one Gospel is the unchanged truth. This truth is simple yet profound, which is that the salvation of God is an open invitation to all who are willing to partake of it. This universal truth is accomplished through the writings of the four Gospel accounts and is especially evident in the Pauline writings....   [tags: New Testament, Jesus, Gospel, Gospel of Matthew]

Powerful Essays
1711 words (4.9 pages)

A Reflection On The Gospel Essay

- This week is a reflection on the Gospel attributed to Matthew. A Gospel that, according to Perkins in week one of this course, Irenaeus saw fit to attribute to the apostle. Despite having read this text throughout childhood and into scholastic adulthood, I must admit, this was the first time I have ever reflected on this one single account without being interrupted by the other three canonized versions. The mishmash of Sunday School gospel traditions had a tendency to skew my view of these texts from an early age....   [tags: Jesus, Gospel of Matthew, Old Testament, Gospel]

Powerful Essays
1214 words (3.5 pages)