Iowa at the Center of a Multi-State Mumps Outbreak in 2006 Essay example

Iowa at the Center of a Multi-State Mumps Outbreak in 2006 Essay example

Length: 1336 words (3.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Since 2001, there was an average of five mumps cases per year in Iowa and 265 cases nationally (Quinlisk et al 2006). However, there were 219 cases reported in Iowa from December 2005 through March 2006, and by October there was a total of 1,964 cases. Nationally, there were 6,584 cases by the end of the outbreak (Quinlisk et al 2006 and Dayan et al 2008). The outbreak spread to 45 states. Neighboring Midwestern states were the most affected. These states were Illinois, Iowa, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Nebraska, South Dakota, Kansas, and Missouri (Dayan et al 2008). The outbreak was characterized by the high rate of affected college student population with 84% of cases between ages of 18-24 and 83% of those enrolled in college. Also, there was a high 2-dose Measles Mumps and Rubella (MMR) vaccination rate among those infected with 63% of total cases and 84% of cases between the ages of 18-24(Dayan et al 2008). Mumps is an acute viral infection that is transmitted through contact with salivary gland secretions and airborne, such as coughing and sneezing (Quinlisk et al 2006, Dayan et al 2008, Parker Fiebelkorn et al 2012, and IDPH 2012).
Case reporting occurs on three different levels of public health – local, state, and national. The 2006 mumps outbreak investigation began at the state level. The Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH) led the investigation using a passive surveillance strategy (Quinlisk 2010).
Mumps is a reportable disease condition in the state of Iowa. Hospitals, clinics, and laboratories have three days to report a positive diagnosis of mumps (IDPH 2012). . A mumps case can be diagnosed either by a positive laboratory test or meet the clinical definition. The clinical case definition of mumps is “an illness with...


... middle of paper ...


...mps in the United States. N Engl J Med 2008;358:1580-9.
Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH). Mumps. Iowa Department of Public Health Epi Manual. 2014.
Partar Fiebelkorn, A., Barskey, A., Hickman, C., and Bellins, W. Mumps. Manual for Vaccine Preventable Diseases Fifth Edition. Chapter 9. 2012.
Quinlisk, P., and Dworkin, M. A Mumps Epidemic, Iowa, 2006. Cases in Field Epidemiology: A Global Perspective. Jones and Bartlet Learning. September 17, 2010
Quinlisk, P., Harris, M., Thornton, T., and Flanigan, L. Mumps Outbreak – Iowa 2006. Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. April 17, 2006. 55(13); 366-368.
Reef et al. Update: Multistate Outbreak of Mumps – United States, January 1 – October 7, 2006. Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. October 27, 2006 / 55(42);1152-1153

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Hospital Quality Management : Hospital Of Iowa City Essay

- Hospital quality management programs are important to ensure hospitals are delivering the highest quality of care at the lowest costs. Hospitals are continuously faced with patient dissatisfaction reports, increasing costs, competition with local hospitals, and the battle with reimbursement from insurance companies. Many areas are reviewed to evaluate what can be improved and what needs to be done to improve it. The University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics and Mercy Hospital of Iowa City, are two hospitals within Iowa City, IA that have comparable quality control rankings....   [tags: Patient, Hospital, Iowa City, Iowa]

Strong Essays
700 words (2 pages)

Final Course Reflection : Iowa State Essay

- Final Course Reflection Reflecting back on my short time here at Iowa State I have met many new people, learned a great deal about the campus, myself, and the Agricultural Business program. In college I have experienced many firsts. I moved away from home for the first time. I started my first day of college classes, and survived my first round of college exams. I joined clubs, met lots of new individuals, and got acquainted with life at Iowa State. Throughout my time at Iowa State I was lucky enough to be part of a great major that focuses on welcoming freshman....   [tags: A Great Way to Care, Learning, Iowa]

Strong Essays
828 words (2.4 pages)

Essay on Solve the Outbreak: An App from the Center for Disease Control

- Through the years there has been a rise for the advocacy of public education over several disease and how the people would be infected as well as what can be done to avoid such diseases and what pre-cautionary measures can be taken in order to prevent infection or spreading of the diseases. Many people have become aware of the measures due to many programs initiated by the government and several other resources, the knowledge of such diseases would help to contain the diseases to prevent further complications....   [tags: public education, public health]

Strong Essays
1068 words (3.1 pages)

The Iowa Budget Essay example

- There have been quite a few cuts made in Iowa's state budget recently, and people are arguing about which areas should be cut more and which should be cut less. Many would say that education should never be cut, and maybe transportation, or something “no one cares about” should be cut as much as necessary to make sure no teachers lose their jobs. There is only one area of the budget, however, that not only pays for itself, but can help save thousands of dollars in other budgets. An increase in the available funds for the renewable energy department would not only save hundreds of thousands of dollars, it would assist other departments in cutting their costs....   [tags: Energy ]

Strong Essays
1369 words (3.9 pages)

Autumn Tornado Outbreak in Midwest Essay

- ... This scale measures the particular damage to estimate the wind speed, as it is pretty impossible to measure the actual wind speed inside of a tornado. This Midwest tornado outbreak had a variety of tornado intensity. Most of the tornados were EF1-EF3 although a couple very strong EF4 tornados were reported. The first tornado to touch down that day was in Pekin, Illinois; the tornado was measured as an EF2, with a wind speed around 120 mph. thankfully there were no fatalities associated with this particular tornado, although there were at least 10 people injured from this event....   [tags: weather, torandoes, outbreaks]

Strong Essays
837 words (2.4 pages)

The University Of Iowa Art Museum Essay

- Brooke Felderman The University of Iowa Art Museum Propaganda and Power Individuals in positions of power have been developing new ways to influence populations toward a cause, or position for centuries. The act of propaganda is giving information that is not impartial and used primarily to influence an audience in regards to a further agenda, often by presenting facts selectively. Terms like, “purposeful persuasion”, or “systematic attempt to shape perceptions” can also be associated with propaganda....   [tags: Roman Empire, Augustus, Ancient Rome, Domitian]

Strong Essays
792 words (2.3 pages)

The Temple Of Madrid, Iowa Essay

- Namaste. This was said to me when we were leaving the Temple in Madrid, Iowa on October 3, 2015. I never really knew what it meant until that day, I learned a lot of new traditions and rituals about the Hindus by going to temple. I learned a lot about a culture I had really never experienced before that day in my life. I received a firsthand look on what happens during temple and how they praise and worship their deities. The temple building itself was very large when we first pulled up to it. It was a large white building with sculptures of many of their deities on the top arch....   [tags: Respect, Religion, Worship, Monotheism]

Strong Essays
1619 words (4.6 pages)

Essay on The Outbreak

- Introduction It was the end of the war, and all countries were stoked that there was finally peace in the world… But thats when they were wrong. It was a humid 80 degree morning in Miami Florida. Jack was just waking up to go to school. He was a bright and intelligent kid. His mom and dad were happy to have such a son. But one day they didn’t know that was going to be the last time they would see him. They sent him off to walk to school. Thats when they struck… They came in so fast, that he had no time to defend himself....   [tags: personal narrative]

Strong Essays
1562 words (4.5 pages)

Deadly Outbreak Essay

- Deadly Outbreak It is March 2003 and my life-long dream of traveling around the world is finally coming true. It seems like since I was born I have longed to visit the far corners of the world, and finally, now that I finished college and I have some time to travel I get to visit Europe and Asia. Yet somehow my visit to Asia is not exactly what I imagined it would be. It is not the diverse culture; it is not the unusual food; it is not the remarkable atmosphere or the people that are marring my trip....   [tags: SARS Health Medical Essays]

Free Essays
879 words (2.5 pages)

Essay about outbreak

- Filoviruses Viruses are microscopic intracellular parasites that can only reproduce within a host cell. Viruses lack the enzymes for the process of metabolism and contain no ribosomes or other parts to make their own proteins. The types of cells a virus can infect are limited to its host range. Filoviruses (Figure 1) belong to a virus family called Filoviridae and can cause severe hemorrhagic fever in humans and nonhuman primates. Filovirus virons appear in several shapes; these shapes are known as pleomorphism....   [tags: essays research papers]

Free Essays
2085 words (6 pages)