Essay on Home Education: The Better Choice

Essay on Home Education: The Better Choice

Length: 1505 words (4.3 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Where do you go to school? What clubs do you belong to? What sports do you play? These are all typical questions that teenagers ask one another in everyday casual conversations. Stereotypically, when the answer is simply that a child home-schools, often times they are looked at in a predetermined persona as if they are a weird, deprived, unsocialized individual who doesn’t know the first thing about life. The often received response of “Oh, you’re one of those people” is usually the norm. The following essay will expel several of the myths associated with today’s home-schooled students providing statics and support as to why home education is the better choice over public school education.
Ironically, in the beginning of the 1900’s, when our nation was evolving and becoming recognized as an actual world power, we were doing it with individuals who were educated primarily at home or in a one room school house. The children were also held accountable for their work, actions, successes, and failures. The children weren’t expected to spend countless hours roaming the crowded halls of an overpopulated school, all the while engrossing themselves with the “busy” work they were assigned; similar to the way public schools are operating today. Today, the system is broken. Changes in policy such as “no child left behind” are offering a cookie-cut-out solution to a situation involving children who don’t learn from a “cookie-cut-out” mold. Case and point to the failing public school system would be representative of the exponentially increasing numbers of children converting to home education. In 1960, home-schooling children numbered a mere 10,000 – 15,000 students which has grown to a number of over one million children in 200...


... middle of paper ...


...ng to homeschool their own child because they are unable to correct the failing public school system on their own. Homeschooling is increasingly becoming a way of addressing the concerns of the parents and allowing many more options for the students.




Works Cited

“Bullying Statistics: How Widespread is School Violence.” 25 Nov. 2007. Bullyingstatistics.com. 17 April. 2010
Groberg, Troy. “Homeschool vs. Public School.” The Conservative Front, 14 Aug. 2007. Web. 5 April. 2010.
Home School Legal Defense Association. “Academic Statistics on Homeschooling.” 22 Oct. 2004. Web. 18 April. 2010
Richman, Dr. Howard. “What do Homeschoolers do after Graduation?” pahomeschoolers. N.d. Web. 18 April. 2010.
Romanowski, Michael. “Revisiting the Common Myths about Homeschooling.” The Clearing House. Vol. 79. Iss. 3. (2006) 4 April. 2010

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Homeschooling Is A Better Choice Than Home Schooling Essay

- Homeschooling has held many places throughout the years. In the colonial days, homeschooling was the norm. In contrast, in the late 1800’s, homeschooling took a back seat and public schooling became the way of education. After religion instruction was removed from public schools in the late 1960’s, homeschooling reemerged. Over the past several decades, homeschooling has gone from a radical concept to being converted into mainstream education for thousands of people. In his article “Home Schooling Is a Legitimate Alternative to Public Schools”, Chris Jeub discusses the benefits homeschooling offers on an academic, social and family level....   [tags: Education, Homeschooling, Alternative education]

Powerful Essays
973 words (2.8 pages)

Essay on Why Home School Is The Better Choice For Educating

- Why Home School Is The Better Choice For Educating I. Introduction a. Hook Students who attend home school have a much more rewarding outcome than their counterparts who attend public school. Home school individuals have better educational experiences and are better prepared for higher educational endeavors. b. Necessary background information If home school was the only choice, students could benefit tremendously, as well as, the parents who make the choice to home school their children....   [tags: Education, High school, Compulsory education]

Powerful Essays
1224 words (3.5 pages)

Home School: A Family Decision Essay

- Whether a family chooses to home school or send their child to public school has become a great concern for many parents. There are many important differences and similarities between the two. The choice a family makes will not be the same for all because they should base their decision on what is best for the family. Furthermore, a family should ponder the facts of both, home school and public school, before opting out one for the other. One difference between public school and home school is social development and peer pressure....   [tags: home schooling, Education]

Free Essays
572 words (1.6 pages)

Has Culture Enhanced or Hindered my Freedom of Choice Essay

- How has my culture enhanced or hindered my freedom of choice. First I ask myself “What is culture to me?”. My definition of culture would be common thoughts, beliefs, and behaviors that are carried from one generation to the next. Then I ask “What is freedom of choice?” When I think of the expression “freedom of choice”, I think of an individual going through life making choices as they please. I, being that individual, do make my own choices but the more I think about it the more I realize that the choices I make are actually influenced by many factors in my life....   [tags: culture, choice, ]

Powerful Essays
714 words (2 pages)

Pro Life And Pro Choice Essay examples

- Abortion is a very controversial and sensitive topic in today’s society. Two different sides to this argument is pro-life and pro-choice. Pro-life proponents believe in the right to life for unborn fetuses saying that abortion should be considered murder regardless of how far along in the pregnancy the woman is. Pro-choice advocates people who believe the woman carrying the fetus should be able to make her own decision on aborting the fetus. Although pro-life supporters argue “No civilized society permits one human to intentionally harm or take the life of another human without punishment, and abortion is no different” (Lowen), is it really the same....   [tags: Abortion, Pregnancy, Fetus, Pro-choice]

Powerful Essays
933 words (2.7 pages)

Homeschooling Is A Better Choice Than A Public School Education Essay

- The screeching decibels of my alarm clock woke me at five-thirty that morning. Football practice the day before completely destroyed my body leaving my arms and legs almost unmovable. All my strength was used to stand that morning. My brother told me to stop complaining and get ready for school. He was older and always bossed me around. “I don’t want to go to school” I exclaimed. “What are you going to do, sit at home and stay dumb?” He said. That is not a bad idea I thought. I can teach myself....   [tags: Columbine High School massacre, High school]

Powerful Essays
2138 words (6.1 pages)

Is Homeschooling a Better Choice? Essay

- Is Homeschooling a Better Choice. He is up with the sun, ready to go. He waits patiently for his brothers and sisters, but today is the first day of school and he is eager to start on his studies. All of the children are assembled in the front foyer as the big, yellow school bus zooms past their house. None of the children seem to notice. Instead, the group of eager students proceeds into their "schoolroom" to greet their teacher, also known as "Mom." Even as early as the turn of the century, children were often taught at home by their parents....   [tags: Education School Essays]

Powerful Essays
1556 words (4.4 pages)

My Choice of Gallaudet University Essay

- My Choice of Gallaudet University I was born deaf to deaf parents. I attended a deaf school from the beginning of kindergarten through high school senior graduation. I grew up using ASL (American Sign Language) as my primary language, and English as my secondary. ASL is the visual-gestural language that best fits my communicative needs as it does for most deaf people....   [tags: College Choice Personal Narrative]

Free Essays
1064 words (3 pages)

The Innumerable Benefits to Home Schooling Essay

- The Innumerable Benefits to Home Schooling In his book The Right Choice – Home Schooling, Chris Klicka argues that “Sending our children to the public school … is tantamount to sending our children to be trained by the enemy” (Crank 25). Though his words may be considered harsh by some parents, many Americans agree with him and feel that public school is only endangering their children; home schooling is the modern day alternative that many mothers and fathers have chosen to turn to. Those who feel that the world of the public school is detrimental to their children’s growth and health are not alone; they share the beliefs of many parents who feel that home schooling has many benefits and a...   [tags: Home-School Education Teaching Essays]

Powerful Essays
1426 words (4.1 pages)

What Home Schooling Really Is Essay

- What Home Schooling Really Is The educational thesaurus defines home schooling as provision of compulsory education in the home as an alternative to traditional public/private schooling- often motivated by parental desire to exclude their children from the traditional school environment (ERIC [EBSCO]). Home schooling is also defined by The Well Trained Mind website as Home schooling occurs when parents take charge of their children's education -- organizing subjects, teaching lessons or arranging for tutors, evaluating progress, and supervising social contacts....   [tags: Home School Education Learning Essays]

Powerful Essays
3905 words (11.2 pages)