Essay on Do Violent Video Games Contribute? Youth Violence?

Essay on Do Violent Video Games Contribute? Youth Violence?

Length: 2027 words (5.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Arizmendi, Anthony
Mr. Anderson
Period 4
23 February 2015
Do Violent Video Games Contribute to Youth Violence?
The children roaming in our present society have gotten more violent, their minds are slowly corrupting as the generations pass by, and all for what? This dramatic change in society is being brought by present day video games, which ultimately contribute to youth violence, for they alter behavior and can be seen in the daily, natural lives of the kids in today’s environment.
Other people may argue that violent video games do not affect people’s behavior at all. Cheryl Olson, Lawrence Kutner, and Dorothy Warner said that “Playing violent video games reduces violence in teenage boys by replacing rough housing. Playing violent video games allows teenage boys show their anger and create peace with his friends without anyone getting hurt”. This quote is significant because it shows how violent video games can have a good outcome on the youth. Also violent video game is a good anger reliever because it takes out a lot of anger out. Cheryl Olson and various contributors said that “Playing violent games provides a safe channel for aggressive and mad feelings. A 2007 study reported that 45% of boys played video games because “it helps me get my anger out” and 62% played because it “helps me relax””. However this is a bad habit to give to children which is substituting something bad to a little less bad. Dave Grossman and Gloria DE Gaetano said “Violent video games cause the person to experience happiness and pleasure when causing someone else pain”. If children get use to causing pain up to the point where they feel pleasure for causing it, how do you think they will act in their future? Certainly not in a positive way and t...


... middle of paper ...


...inal Effects of Violent Video Games on Aggression in Japan and the United States," Pediatrics, Nov. 2008
Dave Grossman and Gloria DE Gaetano, Stop Teaching Our Kids to Kill: A Call to Action against TV, Movie & Video Game Violence, 1999
Elizabeth Carll, "Violent Video Games: Rehearsing Aggression," Chronicle of Higher Education, July 2007
Gardner, Joshua. "Do Video Games Make Kids Violent?" ABC News. ABC News Network, 17 Dec. 2012. Web. 12 Feb. 2015.
Jaslow13, Ryan. "Violent Video Games and Mass Violence: A Complex Link." CBSNews. CBS Interactive, 13 Feb. 2013. Web. 15 Feb. 2015.
Park, Alice. "Violent Video Games: They May Make Kids Think in More Aggressive Ways." Time. Time, 24 Mar. 2014. Web. 11 Feb. 2015.
Susan Villani, Cheryl Olson, and Michael Jellinek, "Media Literacy for Clinicians and Parents," Child Adolescent Psychiatric Clinics of North America, July 2005

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay about Do Violent Video Games Contribute? Youth Violence?

- Do Violent Video Games Contribute to Youth Violence. Introduction: As part of the main story in Assassin’s Creed: Black Flag, you are on a quest to find a secret power, enriched with gold and riches that lies within a cave protected by natives in order to maintain the peace and prosperity of a nation. As an assassin, you are part of a secret order that kills people by following a code. You have to assassinate the people that stand in the way of your creed and learn pieces of history to connect the dots....   [tags: Video game, Violence, Video game controversy]

Strong Essays
894 words (2.6 pages)

Essay Violent Video Games Do NOT Contribute to Youth Violence

- Although violent video games are thought to encourage real world violence, they actually help to prevent it. I am focusing on violent video games and how they affect juveniles because I feel that this issue needs to be looked at in the criminal justice community. It is an unnecessary distraction to blame the actions of a disturbed youth on a form of entertainment that has been used by millions of people without incident. A review article published in The Psychiatric Quarterly found that many studies which claim to indicate an increase in aggression due to video games are, in fact, biased....   [tags: Video Games Violence]

Strong Essays
2419 words (6.9 pages)

Violent Video Games Contribute to Youth Violence Essay

- “YOU SUCK!” “I killed him!” “Head shot!” These are just a few examples of dialogue spoken by children while they are playing violent video games. These video games might seem like harmless fun, but what if the violence in these games is affecting the behavior of young players interacting with others. In a society driven by technology, video games are becoming more popular each and everyday. People of all ages enjoy video games in their free time; these games allow the player to become an athlete, a soldier, or a professional fighter at the tip of their fingers....   [tags: Video Game Violence]

Strong Essays
1447 words (4.1 pages)

Do Violent Video Games Contribute to Behavior Problems? Essay

- Video games are extremely popular all over the world, that millions of people across the Globe share similar interests in FPS (first person shooter), racing, 3D, or strategy games. Video games come in all different forms and purposes, whether it be from violence, action, educational purposes, military use, or family fun. Video Gaming is a mega-million industry, that allows social interaction among gamers (common term for people whom game) to one another, that is through a online-connection of entertainment....   [tags: psychological analysis]

Strong Essays
763 words (2.2 pages)

Argumentative Essay: Violent Video Games Contribute to Youth Violence

- Our nation has changed over the years. There is no question about that. The generation that my grandfather grew up in during the 1930’s and 1940’s has often been called “The Greatest Generation” (Brokaw). Why is my generation not talked about for our inventions and advances in technology. Maybe that the downfall of our generation has been the media and the influence it has on the public. There is no doubt that the media can spin a story into a shocking and scary account produced solely on the intent to sell....   [tags: Violence, Video Games]

Strong Essays
1449 words (4.1 pages)

Essay on Does Violence in the Media Contribute to Violent Behavior in Children

- Mass Media. What exactly does that mean. To me, mass media is anything that can deliver a message to me. It could be a billboard, news, music, television, video games, books, magazines, and the internet to name a few. Television, movies, and video games are a big part of children's lives in today's technologically advanced society. When children are exposed to television and violent video games they watch with intensity. Depending on what the are watching they can have overwhelming feelings of shock, horror, disbelief, grief, disappointment, happiness, and sometimes depression....   [tags: parental instruction, violent video games, media]

Strong Essays
1928 words (5.5 pages)

Essay about Violent Video Games And The Supreme Court

- We make the assumption that kids in our society this day have the opportunity to play different kinds of video games,but we came to a point in which we let them play violent video games. We do not realize if violent video games affects them in different ways or even to the point in which they come violente in their schools or in the home. I am in pro because there are many ways young kids become learners of what is around them. Today i am going to talk about how violent video games contribute to youth violence....   [tags: Video game, Video game controversy]

Strong Essays
1354 words (3.9 pages)

Banning Violent Video Games On Children Essay

- Banning Violent Video Games A child is killing police officers. A teenager is hiring prostitutes to potentially kill them. He is using weapons such as guns, chainsaws, and knives to kill and commit horrible crimes. Thousands of children and teens participate in these actions daily. How. Violent video games such as Doom, Call of Duty, and Grand Theft Auto are just a few of the games that are full of these awful actions. An article in the Harvard Mental Health Letter states, “The Pew Research Center reported in 2008 that 97% of youths ages 12 to 17 played some type of video game, and that two-thirds of them played action and adventure games that tend to contain violent content.” Another inv...   [tags: Violence, Aggression, Video game controversy]

Strong Essays
1492 words (4.3 pages)

Violence and Sexuality in Video Games Essay

- Violence and Sexuality in Video Games Unlike popular belief, the first violent video game was not Mortal Kombat. The killing started with a game called Death Race 2000 released in 1976 by Exidy Software. It was based on a B movie by the same title and features the main theme of the movie in the game: to run people over. You control the car to run over people, and the people you have killed become a cross. Needless to say, the game was quick to draw attentions towards it. The criticism from Americans all over the nation eventually got the game pulled off the market....   [tags: Video Games]

Strong Essays
3088 words (8.8 pages)

Essay on Violent Video Games Do Not Cause Violence

- Do violent video games increase aggression in the people who play them. If so then video games could be responsible for much of the bad news we hear on television. Are video games responsible for school shootings. Do producers of video games need to tone down the violence. What will happen if video games become more and more violent and realistic. On the other hand, are video games to blame at all for the increase of violence in kids. When violence in video games started to increase, people started noticing an increase in the aggression of their children as well....   [tags: Violent Video Games 2014]

Strong Essays
3044 words (8.7 pages)