Are Sixteen Year Olds Ready to Drive? Essay

Are Sixteen Year Olds Ready to Drive? Essay

Length: 1091 words (3.1 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Turning the age of sixteen is a huge step in the life of a teenager. When becoming the age of sixteen a new challenge is brought into that person’s life, and that new challenge is driving a car. But are sixteen year olds ready for this for this task? Some people would say that driving a car can be very problematic for a sixteen year old. Those people are right, sixteen year old should not be driving cars at that age, and just leave it for the people who are eighteen or even older to handle such a task. There are several good reasons why the government should raise the legal driving age to eighteen than leaving it at sixteen.
Sixteen year olds have a higher crash rate than drivers of any other age. “ in 2011, teenagers accounted for 10 percent of motor vehicle crash deaths” (Teen Driving Statistics). For this purpose, Many states have begun to raise the age limit by imposing restrictions on sixteen years old drivers. For example, limiting the number of passengers they can carry while driving. “The AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety released a report in May 2012 that showed that the risk of 16- or 17-year old drivers being killed in a crash increases with each additional teenage passenger in the vehicle. The risk increases 44 percent with one passenger; it doubles with two passengers, and quadruples with three or more passengers. The study analyzed crash data and the number of miles driven by 16- and 17-year olds” (Teen Driving Statistics). Another example, is that many people believe that teenage drivers have a race boy/girl mentality. This mean that when any teenager gets into a vehicle of any kind they get some type of thrilled or that the driving laws do not accommodate them in any way, shape, or form. They would go drag race ...


... middle of paper ...


...eir brains are underdeveloped which can cause problems to make good decisions on the road, and some may be easily distracted while using technology like cells phones. Some legislators would suggest that they should extend the driver permit and make the written test harder for teens to pass.



Works Cited

“Young Drivers More Prone to Car Crashes Due to Their Underdeveloped Brains” 29 Apr 2010: n.page. Web. 27 Oct. 2013

Rubin, Rita “Report Makes a Case for Raising Driving Age” 09 Sep 2008: n. page. Web. 27 Oct. 2013

“What is Distracting Driving?” http://www.distraction.gov/content/get-the-facts/facts-and- statistics.html Web. n.d. 28 Oct. 2013

“Teen Driving Statistics” http://www.rmiia.org/auto/teens/Teen_Driving_Statistics.asp Web, n.d. Nov. 15 2013.

Davis , Robert. "Is 16 too Young to Drive a Car?." USA Today . 03 Mar 2005: n. page. Web. 15 Nov. 2013.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Sixteen Candles, by John Hughes Essay example

- Director John Hughes does it again. In Sixteen Candles, he captures the essence of high school from the views of the nerds to the jocks. Depicted in the daily lives of the main characters, he shows even back in 1984, there is a division by popularity and grade. The struggles and pressures students faced are the same as what students are faced with in today’s high schools. This movie relates to teens year after year, generation after generation. Just as the author William Zinsser states in College Pressures, “They are too young to be prisoners of their parents’ dreams and their classmates’ fears” (385)....   [tags: sixteen candles, john hughes]

Strong Essays
915 words (2.6 pages)

Why Year Olds Should Not Be Allowed At New Zealand Essay

- ... Although 16 year olds are not allowed to vote in New Zealand, they are allowed to vote in other countries. According to the Guardian newspaper, 6 out of the 196 countries in the world. These countries are: Argentina, Cuba, Austria, Ecuador, Brazil and Nicaragua. Out of those 6 countries, 5 are often associated with extreme poverty and as being third world countries. While there may be no direct connection between 16 year olds voting and the state of the country, these third world countries are not ones we look to as models....   [tags: New Zealand, Democracy, Voting]

Strong Essays
746 words (2.1 pages)

Confusing Sexuality with Love in Sharon Olds’ “Sex Without Love” Essay

- Sharon Olds’ “Sex Without Love” is one of her many published poems. “Sex Without Love” was first published in 1984 through a collection of poems in her second book The Dead and the Living. Since then, even educational textbooks, all across the nation have featured Olds’ poems for student analysis. Reported in an essay, Literary Critic Ann D. Garbett states, Olds was born in San Francisco, California on November 19, 1942. Olds grew up in an unstable home, with her alcoholic father, mother, abusive grandparents, and sister....   [tags: Sharon Olds, Sex Without Love, poetry, argumentati]

Strong Essays
1031 words (2.9 pages)

The Secret Life Of 4, 5 And 6 Year Olds Essay

- Introduction The following report will discuss the differences between 4, 5 and six year old in terms of language, motor skills and the way they interact. Throughout the discussion an explanation of how play help to promote these developments. The report is based on the Chanel 4 documentary, The Secret Life of 4, 5 and 6 year olds and the SQA unit Play in Practice. Overview Dr Sam Wass, Dr Elizabeth Kilby and Psychologist Paul Howard Jones take a look at children from the age of 4, 5 & 6 years. In particular they observed differences in how they socially interact, communicate with peers, and learn to share, stand up for themselves and find their place in new social groups....   [tags: Developmental psychology, Psychology, Secret Life]

Strong Essays
1031 words (2.9 pages)

Research Outdoor Play For Two Year Olds Essay

- In this investigative report, I have gathered and presented information for my chosen topic, which is to research outdoor play for two to three year olds and it’s importance in my setting. I have researched the five objectives that are in my action plan and I have critically analysed and evaluated them, using a variety of sources. As a result of my research, here are my findings in relation to each of my objectives. Objective 1 What is the current recommendation and guidelines in Scotland provided for 2-3 year olds regarding outdoor play....   [tags: Natural environment, Nature, Learning, The Play]

Strong Essays
2597 words (7.4 pages)

Choosing Their Own Outfit : A Typical Six Year Olds Essay

- ... That year I was placed in a speech therapy class. I was pulled from class to see a speech therapist at least once a week. There we would play word games to improve on voice and language. My family partially blamed my weak speech on my parent’s divorce. The only exciting times in grade school was the holidays. I was a happy child on these days. What was better than having only one Christmas, or one birthday. That’s right I was a privileged child that always had it double on the holidays. These were the days I did not have to wait to see my other parent....   [tags: Mother, Family, Father, Parent]

Strong Essays
1517 words (4.3 pages)

The Loss Of Innocence By Sharon Olds Essay

- ... Describing the boys as having “smooth jaws and chins” (4) shows their youthfulness and this image is quite different that the image of and a grown man. Grown men typically have stubble on their angular chins. The author uses metaphoric imagery when describing how the boys behaved at the party. She writes, “Hands in pockets, they stand around.” (5) When men are gathered together in groups, they usually stand with their hand in their pockets. Standing with their hands in their pockets is a way men express their masculinity....   [tags: Man, Boy, Men, Coming of age]

Strong Essays
777 words (2.2 pages)

India's Ready-To-Eat Food Essay

- Introduction India has made lot of progress in agriculture & food sectors since independence in terms of growth in output, yields and processing. It has gone through a green revolution, a white revolution, a yellow revolution and a blue revolution. Today, India is the largest producer of milk, fruits, cashew nuts, coconuts and tea in the world, the second largest producer of wheat, vegetables, sugar and fish and the third largest producer of tobacco and rice. Therefore, Indian Government is providing more infrastructures for this sector....   [tags: indian lifestyle, ready-to-eat food]

Strong Essays
1859 words (5.3 pages)

Essay about Sharon Olds' The Possessive

- The Possessive Teenage rebellion is typically portrayed in stories, films, and other genres as a testosterone-based phenomenon. There is an overplayed need for one to acknowledge a boy’s rebellion against his father, his life direction, the “system,” in an effort to become a man, or rather an adult. However, rarely is the female addressed in such a scenario. What happens when little girls grow up. Do they rebel. Do they, in a sudden overpowering rush of estrogen, deny what has been taught to them from birth and shed their former youthful façades....   [tags: Sharon Olds The Possessive Essays]

Strong Essays
1266 words (3.6 pages)

Sex Without Love by Sharon Olds Essay

- Sex Without Love by Sharon Olds 'Sex Without Love,' by Sharon Olds passionately described the author's disgust for casual sex in which she vividly animates the immorality of lustful sex through the variety of her language. The sarcasm used in this selection can easily be misunderstood and quite confusing if the words and lines are not analyzed with specific construction. Olds' clever use of imagery and frequent uses of similes, to make the reader imagine actual events, makes this poem come to life....   [tags: Papers Analysis Sharon Olds Sex Without Essays]

Strong Essays
728 words (2.1 pages)