American Culture's Infatuation with Fast Food Essay

American Culture's Infatuation with Fast Food Essay

Length: 1558 words (4.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Near the core of American culture that dearly loves liberty, lies its love for fast food and all that it offers. The fast food industry was initially created as a moneymaking enterprise that marketed itself as a time effective source of food, but over the years it has strayed from its marketing promise to save Americans’ time. Many Americans are regulars at one, or more, of the numerous fast food restaurants in the United States, because they want to save valuable time that otherwise would be squandered in the kitchen. The time that consumers envision they save while eating at fast food restaurants is wrongly perceived; the host of health issues linked to fast food consumption eventually eats away at any time people might have saved. By eating fast food, efficiency is lost due to its unhealthy nature, not only for the copious amounts of fats and salts it contains, but also because it lacks of vital nutrients.
The people in America have fallen head over heals for fast food, because they have conceived the notion that eating fast food is more efficient. In a society that is advancing technologically, providing instant information and communication, people look to maximize efficiency. That, however, is not the only reason that America is obsessed with fast food; people also love the taste of food that the major franchises produce, and have been indoctrinated at a young age to do so. By falling pray to the relative ease of access, “great taste,” and intense advertising campaigns of fast food companies, Americans have become dependent on fast food not only to sustain themselves, but also their culture.
The sustenance that American’s seek at fast food restaurants is not providing them with balanced and nutritious meals need to fuel a h...


... middle of paper ...


... Mar. 2014.
Gómez-Pinilla, Fernando. "Brain Foods: The Effects Of Nutrients On Brain Function." Nature Reviews Neuroscience 9.7 (2008): 568-578. U.S. National Library of
Medicine. Web. 23 Mar. 2014.
Helm, Burt. "Ethnic Marketing: McDonald's Is Lovin' It." Bloomberg Business Week. Bloomberg, 8 July 2010. Web. 30 Mar. 2014.
Orciari, Megan. "Fast food companies still target kids with marketing for unhealthy products." Yale News. N.p., 4 Nov. 2013. Web. 23 Mar. 2014.
"The Obesity Problem." Promote Health Through Diet and Exercise. University of Utah, n.d. Web. 30 Mar. 2014.
"The Research Provides New Clues to Obesity Epidemic." New Release. The Scripps Research Institute, 23 Mar. 2010. Web. 31 Mar. 2014.
Wolpert, Stuart. "Scientists learn how what you eat affects your brain - and those of your kids." UCLA Newsroom. UCLA, 9 July 2008. Web. 25 Mar. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Effects Of Fast Food On American Culture Essay

- As our society advances and adapts, we continue to come across many social issues. We have just recently abolished slavery, but the after effects of racism still exist, making life difficult for those of color or immigrants in specific areas of the country. Racism is just a small part of the adapting 'American Culture ', there are many other sociological issues; the one I will be discussing is 'Fast Food '. Today 'Fast Food ' has taken over the West, it is literally embedded in the Western Culture and without it many Americans would be confused....   [tags: Nutrition, Fast food restaurant, Obesity]

Powerful Essays
1506 words (4.3 pages)

Essay about The Effects Of Fast Food On American Culture

- Fast food in the past 50-60 years has had a major impact on American Culture, and it still has that same impact in present America. It is safe to say that fast food has become an outlet as far as Americans diets are concerned. It, in some cases, has taken over some lives, as some Americans eat fast food on a daily basis. Since the fast food industry has been growing dramatically in the past couple of decades, America as a whole has suffered some setbacks as it pertains to Health and a stable lifestyle....   [tags: Nutrition, Hamburger, Fast food, United States]

Powerful Essays
1034 words (3 pages)

Essay about Fast Food : A Brand Of American Culture

- Fast food is widely considered a hallmark of American culture, but has spread worldwide. In a society where everyone is always on the go, the fast food industry has persuaded people to give up quality in favor of artificially-enhanced taste and drive thru convenience. Experts often blame fast food for obesity and related health problems. By using advancing kitchen technology to move towards efficient large-scale production rather than increased quality, the fast food industry has created lower quality food, forced lower standards of taste, and has caused adverse health effects in it’s consumers....   [tags: Food processing, Food, Nutrition, Fast food]

Powerful Essays
1423 words (4.1 pages)

Cultural Culture And American Culture Essay

- Being born and raised in America, I have grown to love my country, and my nationality. I am apart of many cultures, I am ethnically Swedish and am Christian. I am very nerdy, and am quite the hipster. All of these are different cultures that I could have chosen to write this paper on. But if I had to pick a culture that I think is the most prevalent in my everyday life, it would be the American culture. I feel like all of these sub-cultures I am apart of are only possible because I am a part of the American culture....   [tags: Culture, United States, American culture]

Powerful Essays
948 words (2.7 pages)

Essay on Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation: The Destruction of American Values

- In the book Fast Food Nation: The Darks Side of the All-American Meal, Eric Schlosser claims that fast food impacts more than our eating habits, it impacts “…our economy, our culture, and our values”(3) . At the heart of Schlosser’s argument is that the entrepreneurial spirit —defined by hard work, innovation, and taking extraordinary risks— has nothing to do with the rise of the fast food empire and all its subsidiaries. In reality, the success of a fast food restaurant is contingent upon obtaining taxpayer money, avoiding government restraints, and indoctrinating its target audience from as young as possible....   [tags: Fast Food Culture]

Powerful Essays
777 words (2.2 pages)

Essay on Health Hoax By Fast Food Companies

- For decades the Fast-food industry has supplied Americans with tasty, comforting food, quickly and for a low cost. It was not until recently, when the health craze first hit America in the late 1980’s that the corporations developed a new approach to marketing their food products to fit their customer’s wants. Even the most common fast food chains, such as McDonalds and Subway started advertising “healthier” food items on their menus to continue appealing to the general public. While fast food restaurants give the impression of offer healthy food, nutritionist studies show the healthy alternatives are not as nutritious as advertised and can lead to calorie underestimation and overconsumption...   [tags: Fast Food, American Culture]

Powerful Essays
1464 words (4.2 pages)

Discussion Fast Food in American Culture Essays

- Food is an important part of popular culture, and the beliefs, practices, and trends in a culture affect its eating practices. The proportion of money spent on food eaten away from home, as well as the number of restaurants, has been increasing since the second half of the twentieth century. People may dine at formal, sit-down restaurants, at fast-food eateries, at cafes, or they may purchase food from street vendors. There has been an “Americanization” of diets through the growth of fast-food restaurants....   [tags: eating practices, obesity]

Powerful Essays
599 words (1.7 pages)

Fast Food is Destroying America Essay

- "We provide food that customers love, day after day after day. People just want more of it” (Ray Kroc, Founder of McDonald’s). Coronary Artery Disease is a type of heart disease and the most common cause of heart attacks. Plaque from eating unhealthy foods, builds up in the arteries, the arteries harden and begin to become narrow and can cause chest pain and heart attacks. “Obesity is a medical condition in which excess body fat has accumulated to the extent that it may have a negative effect on health, leading to reduced life expectancy and/or increased health problems.” The environment is affected by the fast food industry because of the amount of pollution and trash they produce on a dail...   [tags: Fast Food is Killing America]

Powerful Essays
1476 words (4.2 pages)

Hispanic American Culture Dance Essay

- Hispanic American community are rooted from their origins in Cuba, Mexico, Puerto Rico, and other Spanish speaking countries that have come together and form a culture in the United State of America. The culture is built in different categories; for instance, religion, social custom, health practices their privacy, and birth. They come from a comprehensive familiar culture that has been called the second in America. Because of their pride and affection they feel unsafe to give up their past. Their notoriety in the United State has been their resistance to assimilate; their guarded image of Hispanic-American culture has been the tongue of flame....   [tags: Hispanic, American, Culture, Dancing, ]

Powerful Essays
925 words (2.6 pages)

The Fast Food Culture is Detroying America Essay

- The typical American diet, with its emphasis on fast food and frozen food, is a consumption pattern reflective of, and symptomatic of, our production patterns -- what kind of jobs we find ourselves going to day-in and day-out, and the way these jobs encourage us to see the world we live in. If people are more apt to think of themselves as consumers rather than producers, if gratification is associated with consumption rather than working, doing, and making, we have only to bear in mind that this is a society where work is either unattainable or alienating....   [tags: Fast Food Research Paper]

Powerful Essays
4200 words (12 pages)