Adolescent Gangs and Violence in Schools Essay

Adolescent Gangs and Violence in Schools Essay

Length: 1665 words (4.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Dave Reichert once said “Gang violence in America is not a sudden problem. It has been a part of urban life for years, offering an aggressive definition and identity to those seeking a place to belong in the chaos of large metropolitan areas” (Dave Reichert Quotes). These days, gangs are not only made up of adults on the streets, but teens who are in school as well. Various experts say that “gang membership is particularly widespread among urban youths under the age of 18” (Teen Gangs). As a result, gangs are now seen in many schools, and as a result may lead to increased violence among students. Schools must take a firmer stand against these gangs in order to reduce the increased violence.
Throughout the history of the United States, gangs have always been groups that regularly use threats to commit crimes. Crime rates escalated during the 1960s and 1970s, partly because of the large number of teenagers involved in crime. During the 1980s, juvenile crime continued to rise even though particular types of crime fell. But according to most reports, “gang activity declined somewhat in the 1990s. Experts attribute the decline to a combination of factors, including an improved economy, a decline in crack cocaine use, stricter law enforcement and more violence-prevention programs” (Teen Gangs). Statistics show that the number of gang members dropped to “780,000 in 1998 from 846,000 in 1996, according to the OJJDP” (Teen Gangs). Another report coming from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention showed that “the proportion of high-school students who reported carrying a weapon during the past 30 days declined to 18% in 1997, from 26% in 1991” (Teen Gangs). Various people come to believe that membership in a gang is a severe dan...


... middle of paper ...


...eb. 22 May 2012. .
"School Safety." Issues & Controversies On File. Web. 23 May 2012. .
"Teen Gangs and Crime." Issues & Controversies On File:. Web. 23 May 2012. .
"Teen Gangs." Issues and Controversies. Facts On File News Services, 09 Apr. 2009. Web. 22 May 2012. .
"Update: School Safety." Issues & Controversies On File: n. pag. Issues & Controversies. Facts On File News Services, 11 May 2007. Web. 5 June 2012. .
"Zero Tolerance." Issues & Controversies On File: n. pag. Issues & Controversies. Facts On File News Services, 13 July 2001. Web. 5 June 2012. .


Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on Hispanic Adolescent Youth Gangs

- Gangs have been a point of concern for states and societies around the world for centuries. Youth gangs are not exempt from that same categorization and have operated for the same amount of time worldwide. Over the last century however, a proliferation of youth gangs has been witnessed, especially among Hispanic youths immigrating into the United States. Researchers and scholars have offered multiple theories as to why youths, and Hispanics youths in particular integrate themselves into gang organizations....   [tags: rational economic theory]

Powerful Essays
1394 words (4 pages)

Essay about Eliminating Violence in Schools

- Eliminating Violence in Schools Violence in schools has increased throughout the nation in the last few years. This has caused many problems among students, families, faculty, and residents that populate the surrounding area. The cause of violence can be blamed on a variety of things, such as drugs, gangs, and the unstable mentality of adolescents. A combination of these three factors leads to violence in the schools. Just think of all the school shootings that have happened in the past few years....   [tags: School Violence Essays]

Free Essays
373 words (1.1 pages)

Causes of Adolescent Violence within School Essay

- Violence is a major issue in educational institutes. School violence continues to increase at an alarming rate. “Every year, 3 million young people in the United States fall victim to crimes at school. Almost 2 million of these incidents involve violence” ("The Challenge of School Violence"). What causes an individual to act out in violent ways in a school environment. There are many fatal and nonfatal practices of violence happening in school settings. In my opinion, there is no justification for individuals to go to particular extremes, such as school shootings....   [tags: bullying, teenage crime, corrupt upbringing]

Powerful Essays
909 words (2.6 pages)

Essay Social Theory Of Adolescent Delinquency

- ... Adolescents that have not obtained enlightenment as the rest turn into crime as they cannot compete with the rest of the adolescents. There are cases where adolescents have witnessed other children join good schools while they cannot even join the even the low level schools. This gap in the social status among families is a big contributor of the cases of delinquent youths. This gives reasons for adolescents to turn into criminal activities because they don’t feel equally loved and treasured by their parents and society in general....   [tags: Criminology, Sociology, Crime]

Powerful Essays
826 words (2.4 pages)

School Violence Essay

- Over the past several years, an epidemic of school violence has overtaken our nation. From monthly shootings, to daily bomb threats around the country, violence is becoming more and more common in schools. It is typical to hear about acts of violence among our youth everyday on the news. Although more numerous in cities, this violence does not discriminate against inner city or suburban areas; it happens everywhere. When addressing this quick spread of crime, one can inquire as to its history and why it happens, myths about school violence, and how was can taper it, by the use of technology....   [tags: Violence Education Security Technology Essays]

Powerful Essays
2040 words (5.8 pages)

Essay about Violence in Youths

- During some point or another during or lives we ask ourselves thought provoking questions. “What is the meaning of life?” “Is there more out there?” “Two percent or whole milk?” In no way is this essay going to answer these questions but it's an introduction to what I believe Micheal Moore would be satisfied with. The fact that I am limited to his ideas that were presented in his very poorly though out film is an insult to me and my peers that feel the same way. Now after having said that my initial plan was to study the affects of environmental location on the people that live there....   [tags: psychopathology, personal analysis]

Powerful Essays
928 words (2.7 pages)

Essay about Youth Gangs, Drugs, & Violence

- Gang involvement and its associated violent crime have become a rapidly growing problem for the United States. Generally, gangs consist of young people of the same ethnic, racial, and economic background. Usually of a low socio-economic status, these gangs engage in illegal money making activities and intimidate their neighborhoods and rival gangs with violent crimes and victimization. Gang members exemplify a high value for group loyalty and sacrifice. Gangs often target youth when recruiting new members, with the average age of initiation being 13 years old (Omizo, Omizo, and Honda)....   [tags: Youth Gangs and Violent Crime ]

Powerful Essays
2326 words (6.6 pages)

Youth Gangs and Violence In Schools Essays

- The theme, which I have decided to research and base my portfolio on, is Youth Gangs and Violence In Schools. The term “Youth” is defined by the Compact Oxford English Dictionary as the period between childhood and adulthood and is also commonly used as a noun to describe young people. The same dictionary defines a “Gang” as an organised group of criminals or disorderly young people. Youth gangs are groups of young people who assemble and often engage in criminal and illegal activities such as graffiti, vandalism, theft, robbery and violent activities including, gang fights and brawls....   [tags: Youth Gangs Essays]

Powerful Essays
1301 words (3.7 pages)

Gangs and Violence in Schools Essay examples

- Gangs and Violence in Schools During the first week of my junior professional experience, I remember my cooperating teacher reading to me an e-mail that she received from the school's administration. It was informing all of the teachers of new ways to identify gang member; the colors they may wear, they way they write certain letters of the alphabet. A few days later I recall seeing one of the students in my class making different hand gestures, which I later learned were gang signs....   [tags: Crime Safety Security Education Essays]

Free Essays
1290 words (3.7 pages)

Violence in Schools Essay

- Violence and crime in our schools are problems, that many of our schools are facing today. Across the United States, violence in schools continues to grow. According to federal activities addressing violence in Schools, "There are more possibilities of violent acts and crimes taking place in public schools, than in private schools." Crime and violence in our school can disrup the learning process and have a negative effect on students, the school staff and the community as a whole. School violence and crime are problems that comes from homes, media, neighborhoods, and even from some roles models.Crime in schools and colleges is therefore one of the most troublesome social problems in our...   [tags: School Violence Essays]

Free Essays
1652 words (4.7 pages)