Essay about Three Voices in As I Walked out One Evening by W.H. Auden

Essay about Three Voices in As I Walked out One Evening by W.H. Auden

Length: 1153 words (3.3 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Three Voices in “As I Walked Out One Evening” by W.H. Auden
Wystan Hugh Auden was born in York, England on February 21, 1907. He was educated at Christ Church, Oxford after his family moved to Birmingham during his early childhood. He later attended Oxford University where his gift as a poet was immediately realized. In 1930, at the age of twenty three, Auden's second collection of poetry aptly titled, Poems, was published, thus establishing him as a leading voice of a new generation (“W.H. Auden”).
Auden's technical virtuosity and extraordinary ability to write poems in nearly every verse form attributes to his esteem as a writer. He notably incorporated aspects of popular culture, including regional dialects and speech, and current events into many of his works. His poems often included literal or metaphorical elements of a journey or quest. Auden mimicked the writing styles of other notable poets such as W.B. Yeats, Emily Dickinson, and Henry James (“W.H. Auden”).
Written in 1937 and published in his collection of poetry, Another Time, in 1940, “As I Walked Out One Evening” is a reflection on love and the mercilessness of time. The poem is a variation of the ballad form and consists of fifteen rhymed quatrains, which are four line stanzas of any kind, rhymed, metered, or otherwise (McLaughlin). It is told in three voices: the euphoric lover, the critical clocks, and the narrator. Each voice represents a different attitude towards love and time (Springer).
The lover's song illustrates time as something that can be ignored and overcome—no more than a passing annoyance of which to remain oblivious. The song embodies romantic idealism and attributes to a perceived existence outside of time:
“I'll love you dear, I'll...


... middle of paper ...


...ning." Literature: An Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, Drama, and Writing. 12th ed. Boston: Pearson, n.d. 1064-065. Print.
BoomTown. "As I Walked Out One Evening Analysis." Review. Web log post. CCHS British Poetry Project. Blogger, 28 Apr. 2011. Web. 28 Apr. 2014.
Kaiti. "As I Walked Out One Evening." Review. Web log post. Nerdfighters. N.p., 27 May 2009. Web. 28 Apr. 2014.
McLaughlin, Damon. "Quatrain." Quatrain. N.p., 23 Aug. 1999. Web. 28 Apr. 2014.
Springer, Mike. "W.H. Auden Recites His 1937 Poem, "As I Walked Out One Evening"" Open Culture. N.p., 03 Jan. 2013. Web. 28 Apr. 2014.
Summers, Claude J. "Auden, W.H." Glbtq: An Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture. Glbtq, n.d. Web. 28 Apr. 2014.
"WH Auden." BBC History. BBC, n.d. Web. 28 Apr. 2014.
"W.H. Auden." Poets.org. Academy of American Poets, n.d. Web. 28 Apr. 2014.


Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

As I Walked Out One Evening Essay

- W.H. Auden’s poem “As I Walked Out One Evening” belongs to the long tradition of poems chronicling the struggle between love and time. Like others, Auden’s lover uses images of “The Flower” (l. 19) and grandiose claims of love “Till China and Africa meet” (l. 10) to impress or coax the unseen lover to comply with his wishes. However, Auden deviates from this tradition in other ways. For example, these other works are mainly seduction poems. In Andrew Marvell’s “To His Coy Mistress”, time is (by association) a third party to a seduction, invoked to create fear and put pressure on the seducée by reminding her of her mortality- as well as the seducer’s own vulnerability, and thus goad her towar...   [tags: Literary Analysis, W.H. Auden]

Strong Essays
1249 words (3.6 pages)

Focusing on Paula's Struggle for Identity in Roddy Doyle's "The Women Who Walked Into Doors"

- How does Roddy Doyle structure ‘The Women Who Walked Into Doors’ in order to focus our attention on Paula’s struggle for identity. ‘The Woman Who Walked into Doors’ is written by Roddy Doyle. The story has thirty nine years of timescale. Doyle made the narrator as female first person singular. Narrator Paula is 39 years old. She is married. She has three children. She is Roman Catholic and she has lived in Northern Irish. As the result of using first person narrator Doyle structured the story in non correct order....   [tags: Roddy Doyle, Women Who Walked Into Doors, Identity]

Strong Essays
975 words (2.8 pages)

Identity and Structure in ‘The Woman Who Walked into Doors’ by Roddy Doyle

- ‘The Woman Who Walked into Doors’ is written by Roddy Doyle over a thirty nine year timescale. Doyle has created a convincing female Narrator Paula. She is married with three children, and an Irish Catholic. In 1960s most people were believed in Roman Catholic. Paula named her son as John Paul, who was the new pope in 1979 and Paula says ‘I can’t ask the priest, the one that calls around every couple a months, drinking tea and eating cake with the deserted wives of the parish’. This shows how religious they were in 1970s....   [tags: Woman Who Walked into Doors, Roddy Doyle, structur]

Strong Essays
1290 words (3.7 pages)

Essay on Inventing Problems in In A Forest of Voices

- Inventing Problems in In A Forest of Voices     "Interesting title, nice alliteration, E.B. White, perfect." That's exactly what I thought upon finding "Sootfall and Fallout" in A Forest of Voices. I find it hard to write about another essay, so often there isn't really enough material to use and one is stuck criticizing turns of phrase or punctuation. But White, in this essay, gives the reader plenty of meat to chew, and much of it is hard to digest. His main point seems to be that radiation fallout must be stopped, because the current generation is buying atomic power with the lives of future generations....   [tags: Forest Voices]

Strong Essays
1088 words (3.1 pages)

Essay on Analysis of The Woman Who Walked into Doors by Roddy Doyle

- Analysis of The Woman Who Walked into Doors by Roddy Doyle “The Woman Who Walked Into Doors” is a novel written by Roddy Doyle, set in Ireland in the early 1990s. This story combines love and violence and shows how the two can go together in one marriage. The story is written like a diary of Paula Spencer’s good and bad memories in her life and gives the reader the impression that Paula is sharing her life story with us and she is also narrating her life as we read. The story begins with a prison guard arriving at Mrs Spencer’s door to give Paula the unfortunate news that her husband, Charlo has died....   [tags: The Woman Who Walked into Doors Essays]

Strong Essays
912 words (2.6 pages)

Essay on As I Walked Out One Evening Analysis

- “As I walk out one evening” Analysis “As I walked out one evening”, is striking poem that expresses and exploits some of the restrictions time places upon man. Written during the mid-1930s, “As I walked out one evening” is one of W. H. Auden’s early works. The work indirectly illustrates times effect on man by using different speakers as well as other reference that play a variable in time. The essence of time is portrayed through Auden’s use of form, structure, language and personification to demonstrate the effect of time....   [tags: poem, intended to be a song]

Strong Essays
817 words (2.3 pages)

Essay on Rhetorical Analysis of Colin Fletcher's The Man Who Walked through Time

- The story, The Man Who Walked through Time, by Colin Fletcher, is depicting a situation where he takes over the role of a non-existent Indian. Fletcher is trying to experience things the same way the Indian man used to. Fletcher lets the audience see this by using rhetorical devices such as word choice, tone, and descriptive examples. In Fletcher s style of writing he sometimes makes the reader think that he is actually experiences some of the same things that the Indian experienced. Fletcher, at first makes the reader believe that he actually lives in the dwelling....   [tags: The Man Who Walked through Time]

Strong Essays
598 words (1.7 pages)

The Day the Voices Stopped: Autobiography of Ken Steele Essay examples

- The Day the Voices Stopped The Day the Voices Stopped is the autobiography of Ken Steele, a man who suffered from schizophrenia for the majority of his life, only finding peace and solace after finding the right anti-psychotic medication. Steele began hearing voices at the age of fourteen through the radio, before eventually leaving his parents’ house ,without their support, at the young age of seventeen years. The voices regularly told Steele to commit suicide, to harm himself, and to give up on himself because he wasn’t worth anything....   [tags: schizophrenia, voices, psychosis]

Strong Essays
1895 words (5.4 pages)

A Thousand Voices Essay

- A Thousand Voices I cannot speak for the rest of the world, consisting of girly girls and manly men, but I can speak for myself. Virginia Woolf is right on target in saying that every human being has a male half and a female half-I believe this because I am a living example; I think we all are. Julie always gives me scornful looks when I come to lunch from from gym with a red face, and an exhausted yet satisfied expression. "You've been playing floor hockey again, haven't you!?" she belligerently but playfully accuses....   [tags: Thousand Voices Essays]

Free Essays
609 words (1.7 pages)

Voices Essay

- Voices What is your worst nightmare. What if the entire human population thought of you as defective and criticized you harshly. How about having several voices screaming at you for any little thing that you did wrong. What would life be like if you couldn't decipher reality from imagination. These are common scenarios that schizophrenics deal with every hour of the day -- they can't wake up from their nightmare. A living hell. A torture chamber devoid of walls. Like a schizophrenic poet wrote, "I live in a closet....   [tags: Biology Essays Research Papers]

Free Essays
2495 words (7.1 pages)