The Benefits of Eating Horse Meat Essay examples

The Benefits of Eating Horse Meat Essay examples

Length: 2597 words (7.4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

They Eat Horses, Don't They?

Many Americans have a hard time thinking about eating horse meat. Every year, many horses are slaughtered for meat which is exported to other countries. “The U.S. Humane Society Web site says 55,776 horses were slaughtered last year in the United States and thousands more transported to Canada and Mexico for slaughter there (Lum). By getting rid of unwanted horses, the horse market will begin to steadily climb. Slaughtering horses allows breeders a way to benefit from old horses and benefits the economy.

Unfortunately, people who breed too many horses find it hard to get rid of the each year.This causes them to have to find another place for the extra horses. “People will turn them out in fields and let them starve to death. That alternative is less humane, more wasteful and just dumb” (Maese). The problem of horses starving is nothing new to the horse business. For years Amish have been tying horses to lamp posts that they can no longer afford to feed, and some people who obtain horses do not have the means to take care of them. While it is not truly the horse’s fault, at the same time, butchering it provides a clean, humane and swift end to what otherwise would be a miserable last few days of their life. Not to mention that they would be able to be used in another form. Sometimes its this sacrifice that is needed to benefit the industry.

Over the years, the opinions of many people have started to change about horses in America. It has started from the idea, the Native Americans had of using the whole animal when it was hunted, to nowadays Americans do not even want to use a horse unless it is alive. This has to lead one to wonder how exactly this change occurred.

It's all PETA and thes...


... middle of paper ...


... to kill a suffering horse and use the meat, than to kill a suffering horse and waste it.




Works Cited

Drape, Joe. "Drugs Injected at the Racetrack Put Europe Off U.S. Horse Meat." New York Times. 09 Dec 2012: A.1. SIRS Issues Researcher.Web. 14 Nov 2013
Lum, Rebecca Rosen. "Wild Horses Lose Protection from Slaughter." Contra Costa Times (Walnut Creek, CA). Jan. 28 2005: n.p. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 05 Nov 2013.
Maese, Rick. "Horse Slaughtering Deeply Divides Racing, Breeding Community." Orlando Sentinel (Orlando, FL). 28 May 2004: n.p. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 05 Nov 2013.
Pacelle, Wayne. "Don't Reopen Plants That Slaughter Horses for Food." Chicago Tribune. 19 Apr 2013: 25. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 11 Nov 2013.
"USDA Promotes the Eating of Horse & Goat Meat." USDA Promotes the Eating of Horse & Goat Meat. N.p., n.d. Web. 13 Nov. 2013.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Are Vegetarians Protest And Fight The Meat Industry? Essay

- Some people assume that all vegetarians protest and fight the meat industry. In most cases this is not true. Vegitarian are people who either are just trying to live a healthier lifestyle or people who disagree with how food today is processed. The health risks involving vegetarianism are the main concern that people have when considering the practice. The daunting question of how anyone could possibly survive without meat has cause many controversies throughout history. It is not a foreign concept, but in most circumstances, it is treated like one....   [tags: Meat, Vegetarianism, Ethics of eating meat]

Powerful Essays
975 words (2.8 pages)

Essay on The Benefits Of Eating Meat

- Introduction I. (Gain Attention and Interest) Being in college and all, you have to take on adult responsibilities all the time. So, here you are, just enjoying an average day in Madison, and decide that its time to hit up the grocery store. Everything catches your eye while grocery shopping. Aside from the apples, granola bars and wheat thins, you also grab some bacon, hot dogs, and salami. Little do you know, consuming those processed items poses serious risks to your health. II. (Reveal Topic) For as long as we can remember, whether it be from TV....   [tags: Meat, Pork, Livestock, Red meat]

Powerful Essays
1128 words (3.2 pages)

The Murder Of Eating Meat Essay

- Whenever I go out to eat, I always comb through the menu for specific words: shark, snake, grizzly, etc. It 's not that I don 't like more standard dishes. I love a good steak as much as the next guy, but that sort of thing just doesn 't excite me anymore. If I’m going to commit murder by eating meat, as the animal rights people say, I want my murder to count. I hunger for danger foods. By my definition, a danger food is any animal that can take me in a fair fight. The way I see it, if it could have killed me when it was alive, I get to eat it once it 's dead....   [tags: Food, Eating, Meat, The Animals]

Powerful Essays
999 words (2.9 pages)

Essay on The Ethics And Morality Of Eating Meat

- I used to not have an opinion about eating meat, in the past few weeks that has changed drastically. I was reading an interesting article on the ethics of eating meat and it dawned on me that I had no substantial outlook on this important topic. I had always eaten meat and had no reason to stop. Never before had I thought in depth about why I eat meat and what effect eating meat has on myself and the earth. This prompted me to investigate and learn about the conversations regarding the ethics and morality of eating meat....   [tags: Morality, Ethics, Ethics of eating meat]

Powerful Essays
1882 words (5.4 pages)

The Ethics Of Eating Meat Essay

- Eating meat has been a part of mankind for thousands of years. Some people do not agree with a carnivorous lifestyle and some say that they could not live without it. Although Vegetarianism is a widely known idea, many fail to dig deeper into the origin of Vegetarianism,the argument against it, the effect meat-eating has on animals, and the alternatives of meat that prove we can live without it. Realizing the ethics in having compassion for the animals is not a new idea. “In Western culture vegetarianism dates back to Ancient Greece” (Should)....   [tags: Meat, Veganism, Vegetarianism, Nutrition]

Powerful Essays
1123 words (3.2 pages)

The Reasons For Becoming Meat Free Essay examples

- My poor friend, Pamela. I watched her from the other side of the table, picking at a piece of bread that was her dinner. We were camp counselors for the week, and our campers had a chili cook off. Unfortunately for Pamela, every group put hamburger into their pot and there were no meat free options. Pamela has been a vegetarian for about four years now. She cut meat from her diet due to ethical reasons originally, but now eating any form of meat makes her stomach hurt. This is fairly common and according to Christine Knight, who wrote the vegetarian section in the SAGE Encyclopedia, the reasons for becoming meat free could be because of animal rights, health issues, environmental protection...   [tags: Meat, Ethics of eating meat, Livestock]

Powerful Essays
1799 words (5.1 pages)

Essay on Vegetarianism Is A Better Lifestyle Than Eating Meat And Meat Products

- People eat food every day without knowing where it came from or how it was processed. As one grows up, they pay more attention to what nutrients they need for their body. Most do not think about how those nutrients can benefit the environment and if the food may have been infected or not. Vegans and vegetarians, support both without exerting themselves. That is why veganism and vegetarianism is a better lifestyle than eating meat and meat products. Intentionally avoiding flesh eating first came into place as a part of rituals for short-lived purification....   [tags: Vegetarianism, Veganism, Meat, Nutrition]

Powerful Essays
1472 words (4.2 pages)

Essay about The Consumption Of Meat Needs For Stop Immediately

- The consumption of meat needs to stop immediately. Humans have eaten meat for millions of years, but it is a prevalent issue now because the farming industry has taken their process to the extreme. The consumption of meat is hazardous to the earth and human health. A vegetarian diet acts as the ultimate refusal to contribute to a disgustingly inhumane industry, conserves water, and prevents many fatal health problems. Farms have drastically changed in the past century, but society continues to portray them rather innocently....   [tags: Meat, Ethics of eating meat, Nutrition]

Powerful Essays
1084 words (3.1 pages)

Modern Meat Based Diets On Eating Habits Essay

- Tradition, while often serving as a value that bonds people together, can also have the potential to keep detrimental habits continuing for decades. The human diet is heavily interconnected with tradition and culture and affects our interactions greatly. It is important that our diet leaves a minimal ecological footprint in order to ensure the sustaining of populations of people and animals for many more generations. When discussing the human diet, we are likely to bring vegetarianism and veganism into the conversation....   [tags: Meat, Vegetarianism, Carbon dioxide, Livestock]

Powerful Essays
1224 words (3.5 pages)

Essay about Eating Animal Products And Meat

- “Open your lunch boxes. Let me see that lunch kids, don’t hide” Something you would hear every single day during school before going to recess, the teachers shouted those words to check our lunchboxes to see if our mothers where sending us a complete and “balanced” meal. Everyone lined up to show that they had their portions of vegetables, fruit, a form of carbohydrates and of course, the most important one, your protein. It could be from a ham and cheese sandwich to a small milk box, but you needed to have those animal products....   [tags: Nutrition, Eating, Plant, Animal]

Powerful Essays
1059 words (3 pages)