The Effects Of Flashbulb Memory And The September 11 Attacks Essay

The Effects Of Flashbulb Memory And The September 11 Attacks Essay

Length: 1258 words (3.6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview


Flashbulb memory is when a person learns or experiences a very surprising and emotional arousing events (Matlin, 155). As it is a long lasting memory that people report vivid details about a traumatic event, it has been the subjects of recent scientific studies. Recent findings have mentioned a relationship between flashbulb memory and the September 11, 2001 attack. An article published in the American Psychological Association entitled “Seared in Our Memories” written by Bridget Murray Law analyzes different studies on the topic to explore how accurate people vividly remember about the 9/11 attack, and on how much is accurate or fabricated through various encounters. After reading the article, Law mentions interesting researchers concluding flashbulb memory and 9/11 attacks, it is clear that flashbulb memory is accurate based on one’s confidence.
Take a moment and think where and what you were doing during the 9/11 attack on September 11,2001. Do you remember everything and do you think some of your memories clashed with stories from the media, family, or friends. September 11, 2001 is an historic traumatic event in New York City, when the plane crashed into the World Trade Center. Majority of New Yorker have flashbulb memory of where and what they were doing during the attack. Researchers Roger Brown, PhD and James Kulik, PhD introduced the Flashbulb memory defined as emotional and vivid memories of political events that are played in our heads so clearly like a photograph (Law, 2011 and Matlin, 155). There have been numerous researchers that focus on people who experienced an historical and emotional event like the 9/11 attack.
Hirst and 16 other psychologists (2015) conducted a longitudinal study of memory on the attack of...


... middle of paper ...


...11 attack.
September 11, 2001 is a historic day that no one can forget, whether it is accurate or fabricated unconsciously. Previous research suggests that emotions are stimulated and influences their memories. Memories are so vivid is because they are mentioned constantly. Extra information gets unconsciously encoded in one’s memory. Studies have concluded that there is a high confidence level of memory when it comes to the flashbulb memory (Hirst et al., 2015; Talarico & Rubin, 2003). People who encounter a emotional event are unable to forget it, but they are able to alternate it a bit. There is a possibility that people add details that they were missing while encountering with others frequently recalling their memories. People shape their memories through rehearsal to make it sound believable and fill in the missing aspects through media and social encounters.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

United Through Tragedy By Stewart Baxter Essay

- United Through Tragedy Throughout our lives, one will encounter many people, places, and circumstances that remain in his or her memory. On November 6th of 2016, I interviewed my 60-year old father, Stewart Baxter, regarding the most significant event in his life. Stewart was born on April 29, 1956 in Evanston, Illinois and was raised in Indianapolis, Indiana. This interview was conducted in person and notes were recorded throughout the interview on a laptop. Before conducting the interview, I provided my father with a preview of what topic the interview would cover....   [tags: September 11 attacks, World Trade Center]

Better Essays
850 words (2.4 pages)

United Through Tragedy By Stewart Baxter Essay

- United Through Tragedy On November 6th of 2016, I interviewed my 60-year old father, Stewart Baxter, regarding the most significant event in his life. Stewart was born on April 29, 1956 in Evanston, Illinois and he was raised in Indianapolis, Indiana. This interview was conducted in person and notes were recorded throughout the interview on a laptop. Before conducting the interview, I provided my father with a preview of what topic the interview would cover. Specifically, I shared that I would be asking about an event in his lifetime that he believes is the most significant....   [tags: September 11 attacks, World Trade Center]

Better Essays
821 words (2.3 pages)

Memory of Battles Essay

- Memory of Battles The First World War was a common experience that many soldiers, of many nationalities, had to endure. Because the devastation and loss of life was so great, no nation's soldiers were spared from the horrible psychological effects of the First World War. Various books and memoirs were useful in understanding the circumstances of the War and the effects they had upon the soldiers that fought it. World War One was like no war that had ever been fought before. The advent of machine gun and heavy artillery gave armies the killing power that they had never even dreamed of....   [tags: Papers]

Free Essays
803 words (2.3 pages)

The Terrorist Attacks Of September 11 Essay

- The terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 were horrific and traumatic events that affected not only the United States but had global ramifications as well. The events of that day produced immediate and long term effects on numerous aspects of society. The human tragedy in the loss of human life was immeasurable. The societal effects of 9/11 continue to be present even today as the war against terror continues. It is difficult to measure the societal impacts, but the economic cost of the attacks, have been and continue to be measured....   [tags: September 11 attacks, United States, September 11]

Better Essays
724 words (2.1 pages)

The Terrorist Attacks Of September 11th Essay

- In the beginning of issue guide it summarizes the Terrorist attacks of September 11th. How it sets off of a chain of events and questionable efforts to deal with what occurred that day. The article explains after the attacks on the world trade center, our nation lost comfort in thinking our state of security was actually secure, that we were vulnerable. The government gave a false impression to citizens that to overcome what happened that day was to come together, to show the strength and our allegiance to the U.S....   [tags: Terrorism, September 11 attacks, Al-Qaeda]

Better Essays
1077 words (3.1 pages)

The Bombing Of The September 2001 Terror Attacks Essay

- Initially the text opens up painting a scene of the morning of the September 2001 Terror Attacks. It mentions how terrorists coordinated various hijackings of aircraft across the country and used it to attack various landmarks such as the World Trade Centers and the Pentagon. As it continued it mentioned how investigators attempted to connect the various pieces together to determine what caused these attacks to occur and who performed them. It was found that if various departments had communicated more effectively such as the FBI and the CIA, then there was a potential for these attacks to be averted all together....   [tags: September 11 attacks, World Trade Center]

Better Essays
719 words (2.1 pages)

Essay on The September 11th Attacks On The World Trade Centers

- We 've all heard the infamous story about the September 11th attacks on the World Trade Centers in New York City. Many of these are theories, facts, and maybe even lies. The official story is one that is very cold and gruesome. On September 11, 2001, 19 militants associated with the Islamic extremist group "Al-Qaeda" hijacked four airlines and carried out suicide attacks in the United States (9/11). Over 3,100 people were killed during the attacks in New York, and Washington D.C. including more than 450 police officers and firefighters....   [tags: September 11 attacks, Al-Qaeda, Osama bin Laden]

Better Essays
1478 words (4.2 pages)

The Issues with Closing Guantanamo Essay

- The United States military base in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, has been occupied by over 700 Middle Eastern men suspected of terrorism since 2002. It has been home to some of the most heinous suspected terrorist to ever walk on this Earth. What to do with this military base, has been a major source of conflict within our nation and with other nations for over a decade, with no real reasoning substantial enough to close the base. Although our government has come forward and declared that interrogation methods used on some of the detainees has been unethical and has broken some United States laws....   [tags: guantanamo bay, military base, terrorist attacks]

Better Essays
1459 words (4.2 pages)

Essay on The September 11th Terroritst Attacks

- First shock, then terror, followed by sorrow and lastly rage were my emotions on September 11th, 2001 when a hijacked airliner crashed into the Twin Towers in New York City. Tunh. Tunh. Tunh. All circuits are busy; please try again at a later time. This message kept repeating as I tried to call my cousin in New York, who was working in the South Tower. At the time the American Airlines flight 11 just moments earlier crashed into the North Tower. I sat in my house in shock and terror. Then at 9:05 am, about twenty minutes after the first collision, United Airlines flight 175 crashed into the South Tower....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Free Essays
1078 words (3.1 pages)

How the September 11th Attacks Impacted Politics and Business Essay

- The September 11th attacks on the world trade organisation left the world in shock, changing the lives many individuals, organisations, countries and economies. It has affected the world of business and politics in many ways and these effects are still continuing to occur. Following the attack, it was difficult for New York to derive the specific economic costs, hence making it harder for the American government to introduce plans aiming to resolve the situation. However after examining and quantifying the impact of the attack a leading team of New York economists and consultants have detailed the effects....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Better Essays
1752 words (5 pages)