The Declining American Diet Essay

The Declining American Diet Essay

Length: 995 words (2.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

In centuries past, America’s diet has turned from small portions and locally grown food to processed meats and high calorie meare easily attainable and affordable. In 1984, 72% of our dinners were home-made. In 2007, just 57% were (Doane). As a nation that is always on the move, Americans tend to look for fast and easy ways to live our day to day lives. The growth in fast food restaurants has taken over our “convenient” country and has trained us to become dependent on cheap and easy food, also known as a lead cause to obesity. Restaurants aren’t the only reason American’s are eating so unhealthy. The mental stimulation that our favorite calorie filled foods provide us are causing our country to lose their health-and their sanity.
Most of us could eat healthier if we wanted to, but we just don't want to. It is a growing mental issue for many people. As a country in a battle with obesity, it is clear that healthy eating isn’t easy. Over a third of the American population is classified as obese; this means that almost 41 million women and more than 37 million men aged 20 and older were obese in 2010 (Avena). Obesity comes with not only physical problems, but also many emotional problems. Individuals who are considered obese are often judged as lazy, unintelligent and overall not socially accepted. In a way, it is definitely unfair. There are people who can have a disease, such as with their thyroid, which can cause them to not be able to get weight off as easily as others. But for the majority of American’s, we tend to feed into what we are feeding ourselves, almost as if it were our own addiction; and drive-thru’s are our dealers.
When compared to drugs ands their criteria for addiction, food is just as easily considered addicti...


... middle of paper ...


...lth, but all the others can do is try and make a positive difference. The lack of motivation and support coming from our country is, and will always affect how we deal with our help. America has a lot of work to do, and it is not possible, but it will require a big change.


Works Cited
Avena, Nicole. "The American Diet." Psychology Today. Psychology Today, 19 Aug. 2013. Web. 26 Nov. 2013.

Brody, Jane E. "America's Diet: Too Sweet by the Handful." Nytimes.com. New York Times, 9 Feb.
2009. Web. 26 Nov. 2013.

Doane, Seth. "America's Changing Eating Habits." Cbsnews.com. CBS, 23 Nov. 2008. Web. 27 Nov.
2013.

Patenaude, Frederic. "Eating Habits of Americans vs French People and Europeans."Renegadehealth.com. Renegade Health, 11 July 2013. Web. 26 Nov. 2013.

Reilly, Rachel. "Food Addiction Does Exist." Dailymail.co.uk. Daily Mail, 27 Aug. 2013. Web. 27 Nov. 2013.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Not So Diet American Diet Essay examples

- The Not So Diet American “Diet” Comically, America has been named one of the “fattest” countries to date. This is actually no joking matter. Compared to other countries, America is the most consumable country. Known for the large portioning sizes and irresistibly unhealthy meat obsession, America holds its ranking at number two on the 2016 fattest countries in the world list, out of ten. We are just nearly outranked by Mexico. Researchers believe there are two reasons America is bursting at the seams....   [tags: Nutrition, Food, Major depressive disorder, Eating]

Strong Essays
1102 words (3.1 pages)

Essay about Why Diet Coke is Worse Than Coke

- You pull into the drive thru at McDonalds and think to yourself “should I get a coke or stick with my diet and get a diet coke”; well if you actually look at the ingredients you would see that diet is not the way to go. Contrary to popular belief, the alternative drink is not really helpful for your diet after many years of research have shown. Although you would be saving calories, the drink does not provide any nutritional value whatsoever. Coke is now preferred over diet because it causes weight gain, deadly diseases, and many health problems....   [tags: weight, health, calories]

Strong Essays
659 words (1.9 pages)

Fish Protein Has Been A Mainstay For The Human Diet Essay

- Fish protein has been a mainstay for the human diet for centuries. However, aquaculture, which is the practice of raising fish such as salmon in controlled conditions, as opposed to the commercial fishing industry, which is procurement of wild fish from their natural environment, made its debut in the United States as a commercial enterprise in the late 1970’s according to the Eco - Justice Marketplace Project.(n.d.). This mode of salmon procurement began to develop in the late eighteenth and early nineteenth century, as a response to the declining populations of native wild fish such as salmon and trout....   [tags: Salmon, Aquaculture, Fish, Fish farming]

Strong Essays
1299 words (3.7 pages)

Food Rules : An Eater 's Manual And Mary Maxfield Essay

- Waist sizes are expanding, everyone is on a diet of some sort, and a large majority of the population is under the care of a physician for some disease that can be attributed to the modern diet. Information on the origins of this epidemic, potential cures both magical and old-fashioned, and who or what is to blame for this crisis are everywhere you look. Two authors that offer their opinions on this vast subject are Michael Pollan author of the book Food Rules: An Eater’s Manual and Mary Maxfield, graduate student in American Studies with degrees in creative social change and sociology....   [tags: Nutrition, Obesity, Healthy diet, Health]

Strong Essays
874 words (2.5 pages)

The American Diet Essay

- "We have the best raw materials in the world, both quantitatively and qualitatively, but most of them are ruined in the process of preparing them for the table." stated H.L. Mencken in reference to America and our usage of food (Mitzewich). Food is a necessity for life and survival, however, with the structure of the American diet, the food we eat is assisting us into our [early] graves. Americans are highly unaware of what they are stuffing down their throats and even less unaware of the generational effects....   [tags: American Diet, Processed Food, Fast Food Indusrty]

Strong Essays
955 words (2.7 pages)

The American Diet Essay

- The typical American diet has become a very controversial and touchy topic that can easily offend some people. Many people from different walks of life all have the same problem in the U.S., their growing waistline. Does fault lie with the nations culture or is the fault our own. Many foods commonly eaten in the U.S. are considered fatty or unhealthy yet many Americans eat them anyway though the information and facts are clearly labeled on the packages of the food we consume. Are there any religious reasons behind our terrible diet choices....   [tags: Health, Nutrition, Diet, Lifestyle]

Strong Essays
982 words (2.8 pages)

The American Diet Essay

- Have you noticed that around every corner is some kind of snack or soft-drink vending machine. When you walk outside there is most likely some kind of fast food restaurant or convenience store within walking distance that offers food and drinks on demand with little to no wait. Living in a fast paced world, these fast and easily accessible foods have become something many rely on. Yes, with all of our technical and cultural advances in America we have surely come a long way in these past few decades....   [tags: Health, Nutrition, Diet, Lifestyle]

Strong Essays
1029 words (2.9 pages)

The American Diet Essay

- The state of the American Health in the U.S has become an increasing concern of many Americans. An article entitled “11 Facts about American Eating Habits,” addresses the state of food in the U.S by stating, “Healthiness of the food we eat decreases by 1.7 percent for every hour that passes in the day.” Experts and scientists in the U.S has raised questions about regarding the different ways food is now being produced. While individuals are usually not aware of the ingredients that food contains, many people continue to have unhealthy eating habits....   [tags: Eating Habits, Health, Diet]

Strong Essays
1016 words (2.9 pages)

Is Americas Political State Declining? Essays

- Is Americas political state declining. In Norman Ornstein’s article “What’s Wrong with Washington. Tribalism” he comments that the American government is the worst it has been in over 44 years. Ornstein uses strong concrete points to prove his statement such as his simple and easy to understand examples, his colorful word choice, and he even leans on the readers emotions to use mood as one of his elements. Ornstein explains his dislike for Americas government through vivid examples. One of these is when he explains how each party, democrats and republicans, have moved farther to the extremes in what they believe in....   [tags: President of the United States, Barack Obama]

Strong Essays
807 words (2.3 pages)

Essay Health Promotion Among African American Minority

- Health Promotion Among African American Minority The health status of the African American has been declining over the last century. Studies have shown that African Americans have less access to appropriate health care and that includes preventative care for children and adults. African Americans are not only more susceptible to disease and illness; they are also more likely to die from them. This minority tends to have the worst indicators of all health minorities. So has life expectancy improved for African Americans....   [tags: Medicine, Public health, Prevention]

Strong Essays
953 words (2.7 pages)