A Conversation Hard to Understand: A Clean, Well-Lighted Place Essay

A Conversation Hard to Understand: A Clean, Well-Lighted Place Essay

Length: 721 words (2.1 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Every work in literature is open to interpretation, and every person is entitled to their opinion. In a story shorter than 1,500 words, less than that of this paper, Ernest Hemingway’s A Clean, Well-Lighted Place has garnered serious debate and criticism. Written and published in 1933, Hemingway’s story containing a theme about nothing in several contexts has definitely given many critics something to talk about, but not about the usual theme, irony, or symbolism. For the past 55 years, the critics continue to debate the conflicting dialogue between the two main characters, and whether the inconsistency was intended by Hemingway or a mistake by the original typesetter.
Within a story that is mostly dialogue, it would be logical to understand which characters are speaking so the reader can understand the interactions of the characters. There are no names given to the two waiters in the café, and there is very little reference to which one is speaking. This makes the reader infer which character knows what key information is being presented. One of the first critics to start the dialogue debate in 1959 is Dr. William E. Colburn who authored Confusion in ‘A Clean, Well-Lighted Place’. Colburn declared, “The dialogue does not fit a logical pattern; there definitely is an inconsistency in the story” (241). At the same time in 1959, a college teacher named F. P. Kroeger wrote, “There has been what appears to be an insoluble problem in the dialogue” (240). These two initial statements have resulted in years of contention and controversy by many other critics.
The inconsistency Colburn and Kroeger wrote about was followed up an article by Professor Otto Reinert at the University of Washington who observed:
The difficulty arises from He...


... middle of paper ...


...mplete story.



Works Cited

Bennett, Warren. “The Manuscript and the Dialogue of ‘A Clean, Well-Lighted Place’.” American Literature. 50.4 (1979): 613-624. JSTOR. Web. 8 Feb. 2014.
Colburn, William E. “Confusion in ‘A Clean, Well-Lighted Place’.” College English. 20.5 (1959): 241-242. JSTOR. Web. 8 Feb. 2014.
Kerner, David. “The Manuscripts Establishing Hemingway's Anti-Metronomic Dialogue.” American Literature. 54.3 (1982): 385-396. JSTOR. Web. 8 Feb. 2014.
Kroeger, F. P. “The Dialogue in ‘A Clean, Well-Lighted Place’.” College English. 20.5 (1959): 240-241. JSTOR. Web. 8 Feb. 2014.
Reinert, Otto. “Hemingway's Waiters Once More.” College English , 20.8 (1959): 417-418. JSTOR. Web. 8 Feb. 2014.
Ryan, Ken. "THE CONTENTIOUS EMENDATION OF HEMINGWAY'S 'A CLEAN, WELL-LIGHTED PLACE'." The Hemingway Review 18.1 (1998): 78. Academic OneFile. Web. 8 Feb. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Reader Response to A Clean, Well-Lighted Place, By Hemingway Essay

- Reader Response to A Clean, Well-Lighted Place In 1933, Ernest Hemmingway wrote A Clean, Well-Lighted Place. It's a story of two waiters working late one night in a cafe. Their last customer, a lonely old man getting drunk, is their last customer. The younger waiter wishes the customer would leave while the other waiter is indifferent because he isn't in so much of a hurry. I had a definite, differentiated response to this piece of literature because in my occupation I can relate to both cafe workers....   [tags: A Clean Well-Lighted Place Essays]

Free Essays
1127 words (3.2 pages)

Charles Dickens ' Hard Times Essay

- Hard Times Charles Dickens was known to be very controversial and outspoken in his books and Hard Times was no exception. Hard Times takes place in the industrial-centered city of Coketown, England where Dickens’ clearly attempts to expose the massive inequality between economic/social classes as well as the outright narcissism of the middle to upper classes who are only concerned with making a profit in the most practical/efficient way. Charles Dickens is in no way subtle throughout this book and attempted to repeat his main theme constantly in order for the reader to quickly understand what was trying to be said....   [tags: Hard Times, Charles Dickens, Gradgrind]

Better Essays
1146 words (3.3 pages)

Essay about The Is Not Hard For The Truth

- Sometimes this faith stuff seems imagined and not always easy to handle. First of all, for God’s sake and your sake don’t dumb down your faith to fit your doubts. Jesus faced the doubts of so many, so your doubt is not particularly hard for Him to help you with. Anybody that says they never have a doubt is probably lying to you. We all struggle with our faith and at times it is just plain hard to believe some of the things we are asked to believe. Questioning without Quenching Many of us are prone to question everything....   [tags: Religion, God, Faith, Supernatural]

Better Essays
1148 words (3.3 pages)

The Hiding Place Essays

- Hajji jumped to his feet before Nate could fully take in what had just happened. Hajji pulled a gun from somewhere and trained it on the wall. Was he planning on killing it. "Easy." Nate pushed off the floor with one hand and turned an opened palm to Hajji. "This isn't a trick," he said, meeting the man's eyes. "I think it's what I've been looking for." He turned to study the wall with a giddy effervescent growing inside. "See, the stairs are just a decoy. This!" He aimed the flashlight at the crack in the wall....   [tags: Creative Writing Essay]

Better Essays
1456 words (4.2 pages)

What Is a Well Spent Semester? Essay

- ... Furthermore, freedom of thought affects the lives of people, society and the government. It changes them, makes them more enlightened and acknowledges the holiness of human dignity. Kant concludes that Enlightenment is the ability to use one’s own reasons without the guidance of outside forces. Enlightenment, according to Kant, marked the transition from a collectivist culture to an individual driven culture, which took place due to the fact that the Enlightenment formed a new culture based on reasonable judgment ability or rather, ability to use reason alone without guidance....   [tags: philosphical perspective, 'Enlightment' approach]

Better Essays
1052 words (3 pages)

Essay on Review Of ' A Hard Rain Fell '

- Justin Bates His 105 Prof. Thompson 6 October 2014 Review of A Hard Rain Fell: a G. I. ’s True Story of The War in Vietnam In A Hard Rain Fell: a G. I. ‘s True Story of The War in Vietnam, John Ketwig tells a visceral account of a young man’s odyssey from the country roads of upstate New York to the jungles of Vietnam. It is a contrast of cultural upheavals and the harsh realities of war, from rock and roll philosophy and Beatlemania to the sight of seeing a child being burned by a napalm bomb....   [tags: Vietnam War, South Vietnam, Vietnam, North Vietnam]

Better Essays
1282 words (3.7 pages)

Benefits Of Being Abroad Will Be Hard Essay

- I have already acknowledged the fact that being abroad will be hard. For the most part, I know what to expect. I have traveled to a few countries and I have seen how people live. My aboard experiences have included: outhouses with no plumping, showers that have to be taken with water from the wells, and bus rides that last hours with no a/c or bathrooms. I have seen people hunt, kill, and cook their own food. I have spent time on farms where all the food had to be retrieved before anyone can eat....   [tags: Third World, First World, Second World]

Better Essays
823 words (2.4 pages)

Essay on Listening Is A Important And Hard Skill

- Listening is a very important and hard skill to learn because there is a lot that goes into making a good listener. In order for us to fully understand the process of listening there are ways we need to break it down. You must be able to master these different skills in order to learn how to listen. One of the biggest things I personally do is make assumptions about what things specifically mean. I make my own judgement of an event that takes place and I put what I think the meaning behind it really is....   [tags: 2006 singles, 2009 singles, English-language films]

Better Essays
1160 words (3.3 pages)

Essay about The Earthboy Place by James Welch

- "It was called the Earthboy place, although no one by that name (or any other) had lived in it for twenty years."(166)James Welch in his fictitious allegory, "The Earthboy Place," presents the idea of how assimilation has caused many Indians to stop continuing with their lives as a native. Consequently, they leave their homelands to earn a living in another "world" which shows adaptation to the Westerners' culture; likewise to the writing of McNickle's. "He wore a blue suit and a white shirt and his tan shoes were new and polished."(113) In "A Different World" as depicted by D'Arcy McNickle, Archilde loses his freedom of native life and has now followed the rules of a White man's way of lif...   [tags: Welch James Earthboy]

Better Essays
1672 words (4.8 pages)

Quiet Place to Drink Essay

- "A Clean Well-Lighted Place" shows use the contrast between young and old. The difference between a nice, bright café and the not so clean bar for a man to spend his long nights. In the short story by Ernest Hemingway, an old man is trying to have a drink at a café. One of the waiters is young and it anchus to go home to his wife, while the other waiter, an older man, understands the gentleman who is drinking. The old man in the café comes in often for drink. He tries to pass the night in the clean well-lighted place, where he "liked to sit late because he was deaf and now at night it was quiet and he felt the difference" (Hemingway 173)....   [tags: American Literature]

Free Essays
344 words (1 pages)