Preview
Preview

Genetics: Past, Present and Future Essay

:: 10 Works Cited
Length: 2598 words (7.4 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Green      
Open Document
Need writing help? Check your paper »



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Throughout the ages, patterns of inheritance have always been studied. People have always been curious about what causes the appearance of certain traits in individuals. However, by the time the 21st century commenced, science found that the answers to these questions can be found in each cell of the body. Genes. But what are genes truly? Who were the scientists who contributed towards their discovery? What are the recent advancements in the field of genetics, and what does the future hold for this field?
1. The Past
To understand the functioning of genes and even the structure of genes, it is essential to know the history of genes, and past assumptions of hereditary.
Greek theories. Like in any other field of knowledge, the Greek philosophers have left their mark on the history of genetics. Pythagoras proposed that the male parent provided the material that determined the traits inherited; however, Empodocles stated that both parents played an equal role in the transmission of genes since many children possessed the same traits of their mother. The father of medicine, Hippocrates, put forth the theory of pangenesis. He believed that different parts of the body produced traits that were transferred during conception. Aristotle disproved the theory of pangenesis by presenting evidence that parents who had lost limbs often produced healthy offspring. In addition to this, Aristotle was the first to propose the idea that traits were not affected by external circumstances, humors, or elements (Freedman 10-13).
The renaissance. As one may know, the renaissance was a period between the 1400s-1700s where great advancements in science occured. The invention of basic tools and the revelation of how to effectively use those too...


... middle of paper ...


...les Join DNA and RNA in the Genetic Catalog." Science News 29 Dec. 2012: 24. Educators Reference Complete. Web. 12 Nov. 2013.Document URL.
Freedman, Jeri. How Do We Know about Genetics and Heredity. New York: Rosen Pub. Group, 2005. Print.
Marshall, Elizabeth L. The Human Genome Project: Cracking the Code within Us. New York: F. Watts, 1996. Print.
"Powering a Cure; Genetic Medicine." The Economist 27 Oct. 2012: 14(US). Educators Reference Complete. Web. 12 Nov. 2013.
Ritter, Malcolm. "Could Prenatal DNA Testing Open Pandora's Box?." Newsday. 12 Jun 2011: N.p. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 14 Nov 2013.
Sepkowitz, Kent. "The Inner Life of Cells." Newsweek 17 Sept. 2012: 8. Educators Reference Complete. Web. 12 Nov. 2013.
Stein, Rob. "Role of Race Reemerges in DNA-Testing Debate." Washington Post. 01 Aug 2011: A.1. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 14 Nov 2013.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Essay on Human-Chimpanzee Divergent Genetics - Being human, we possess a quality that is unlikely to be found in other known organisms. Since perhaps the dawn of existence, the human psyche has strived to explain the origins of this quality and what it reveals about man’s conception. The ancient Greeks surmised that the Titan god Prometheus sculpted humans in the image of the gods from the mud of the earth. The ancient Egyptians posited that humans came into being from their sun god Ra’s tears. Now in modern times, scientists believe the key to our origins lies within our closest relative, Pan troglodytes, commonly known as the chimpanzee....   [tags: Genetics]
:: 4 Works Cited
2014 words
(5.8 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
Looking Forward to this Course on Genetics Essay - Glancing at my reflection, I can see my father’s brown eyes and my mother’s curved nose, inherited traits that have been passed down from generations ago. However, concealed both within and under my layers of skin are the genes determining every intricate detail of my being. I am influenced by uncontrollable forces, which have inspired me to explore the nature of genes, as it dictates the fundamental mechanisms of life. Genetics can indisputably be a way in which to discover many of the answers we seek....   [tags: DNA, blueprints of the human body] 566 words
(1.6 pages)
Good Essays [preview]
Insight Into the Past and Present with Science Fiction 0.4 by Mike Lancester - ... Similarly, Aboriginals were treated unfairly and unjustly by the early European settlers. The European settlers perceived the Aboriginals dirty, unholy and unruly people. They attempted to ‘civilise’ the Aboriginals by enforcing European culture upon them as an effort to ‘upgrade’ them to European standards. Likewise, in the text 0.4, the aliens attempted to upgrade the 0.4 to a more appropriate standard, the 1.0. The 1.0 then looked at the remaining 0.4 as inferior beings, “He looked at me like I was dirt.” Through this simile, Lancester compares the 0.4 to dirt, emphasising the views the 1.0 hold towards the 0.4 as being insignificant and unclean....   [tags: racism, aboriginals, genetics] 563 words
(1.6 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Nature vs Nurture: Genetics vs Environment Essay - Do you know how much your personality is the result of your genetic makeup, and how much is the result of the environment. The "nature-nurture" question is one of the oldest issues in psychology. This question is applicable to identical twins. They are the same age, same-sex, have the same genes, live in the same house, share same stuff, given identical presents, so in other words, they share the same environment from birth. The researcher tends to know if identical twins really share the same personality....   [tags: nature vs nurture, psychology]
:: 1 Works Cited
711 words
(2 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Life Lessons in Yulisa Amadu Maddy’s No Past, No Present, No Future Essay - Life Lessons in Yulisa Amadu Maddy’s No Past, No Present, No Future An age-old cliché states that one really never appreciates what he or she has until it is gone. Does this mean that nobody has ever truly appreciated the gift of life while living. Such an assumption cannot easily be made because no one can truly know the experiences or feelings. One can only try to understand by relating it to personal experience. On the other hand, this cliché would seem to explain the changes that people undergo as a result of a close brush with death....   [tags: Death Maddy No Past Present Future Essays] 1020 words
(2.9 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
T.S. Eliot's The Waste Land and Yulisa Maddy’s No Past No Present No Future - Death and Dying in T.S. Eliot's The Waste Land and Yulisa Maddy’s No Past No Present No Future I am immortal. Although I realize that I will die, I don’t believe it. The fear of death motivates me to ignore my mortality and, in motivating me to ignore, allows me to live a jaded, happy life. If death were a predominant thought, then appreciating life would seem difficult—unless of course I changed my name to Harold. Everyone confronts the idea of death sooner or later; different people just deal with death in different ways....   [tags: Eliot Wasteland Maddy Future Present Past Essays] 1224 words
(3.5 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Future Of Human Evolution Essay - The Future of Human Evolution Evolution, the science of how populations of living organisms change over time in response to their environment, is the central unifying theme in biology today. Evolution was first explored in its semi-modern form in Charles Darwin 's 1859 book, Origin of Species by means of Natural Selection. In this book, Darwin laid out a strong argument for evolution. He postulated that all species have a common ancestor from which they are descended. As populations of species moved into new habitats and new parts of the world, they faced different environmental conditions....   [tags: essays research papers] 1788 words
(5.1 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Death in T.S. Eliot's The Wasteland and Maddy's No Past, No Present, No Future - Death in T.S. Eliot's The Wasteland and Maddy's No Past, No Present, No Future Death is an inevitable fact that everyone experiences at some point in their lives. Whether it is losing a friend, family member, someone famous and well known, or finally themselves, everyone knows what it's like to deal with the topic of death. In The Wasteland T. S Eliot is describing death with a very different approach which makes death seem poetic yet very dreary and uninviting. On the other hand, in Yulisa Amadu Maddy's book No Past, No Present, No Future death is not poetic at all but very cold and melancholy....   [tags: Death Eliot Maddy Wasteland Future Past Essays]
:: 3 Works Cited
1158 words
(3.3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Connection of Mortality with One’s Love of Life in T.S. Eliot's The Wasteland and Yulisa Amadu Maddy's No Past No Present No Future - The Connection of Mortality with One’s Love of Life in T.S. Eliot's The Wasteland and Yulisa Amadu Maddy's No Past No Present No Future Through many writers’ works the correlation of mortality and love of life is strongly enforced. This connection is one that is easy to illustrate and easy to grasp because it is experienced by humans daily. For instance, when a loved one passes away, even though there is time for mourning, there is also an immediate appreciation for one’s life merely because they are living....   [tags: Eliot Wasteland Maddy No Past Present Essays]
:: 3 Works Cited
1050 words
(3 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
The Importance Of The Human Genome Project Essay - The Importance Of The Human Genome Project This is the outstanding achievement not only of our lifetime, but of human history. I say this, because the Human Genome Project has the potential to impact the life of every person on this planet. It is a giant resource that will change mankind, much like the printing press did. The famous words of Dr. James Watson resonated as a victory bell, signaling the successful completion of what many deemed the boldest undertaking in the history of biology: The Human Genome Project (2003)....   [tags: Science Genetics Biology Papers]
:: 4 Works Cited
2751 words
(7.9 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]