The Takeover: New Media’s Role on Civic Engagement Essay

The Takeover: New Media’s Role on Civic Engagement Essay

Length: 2282 words (6.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Pushing the peas around my plate, I looked around at my family. Sunday lunch at my Grandmas had been a tradition in our family for as long as I could remember. We always sat around the table talking and watching TV if something interesting was on that we all agreed upon. This particular Sunday CNN was on and we were listening to continued reports on Chik-Fil-A and their media frenzy dealing with opposition to gay marriage, but it seemed like something was bothering my Grandma. After watching her in silence for a couple of minutes I finally asked, “Grandma, you alright?” She said, “Its just astonishing how far technology has come since I was younger. People came together by texting and networking on computers, and we are sitting here watching it on TV. If my generation would have had that kind of technology we could have gotten so much more accomplished.”
My Grandmother’s words really backed up the idea that new media has and can continue to increase and influence civic participation in a positive way. Citizens- young or old- choose to participate in public, civic life when they have ability, motivation, and opportunity to do so (Carpini). In history, faith in the efficacy of civic involvement results from the methodical depreciation of the public district over the past thirty years (Carpini). Today, new media technologies increase the faith, amount, and quality of civic engagement among young adults by providing more access, organized interests, and new or easier opportunities for engaged and not yet engaged young adults to participate more and effectively (Carpini).
The innovation of new media has helped citizens from all across America come together for civic causes and has acted as a platform for volunteering and being acti...


... middle of paper ...


...9. N.p.: n.p., n.d. National Network of State Teachers of the Year. NCB University Press, Oct. 2001. Web. 23 Nov. 2013.
Schneider, Nathan. "Truthout." Truthout. N.p., 24 Oct. 2013. Web. 23 Nov. 2013.
ushistory.org. "Ask Not What Your Country Can Do For You"" "Ask Not What Your Country Can Do For You" N.p., n.d.Web. 21 Nov. 2013.
Smith, Aaron, Kay L. Schlozman, Sidney Verba, and Henry Brady. "The Internet and Civic Engagement." Summary of Findings. Pew Internet & American Life Project, 1 Sept. 2009. Web. 15 Nov. 2013.
Smith, Aaron, Kay L. Schlozman, Sidney Verba, and Henry Brady. "The Internet and Civic Engagement." The Current State of Civic Engagement in America. Pew Internet & American Life Project, 1 Sept. 2009. Web. 17 Nov. 2013.
Talbot, David. "Steve Case's Second Act." “How Obama Really Did It”. MIT Technology Review. MIT, 19 Aug. 2008. Web. 13 Oct. 2013.





Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Problem Of Teacher Student Engagement Essay

- One of the biggest problems in a class room is having the motivation to do or learn the lesson. So should teachers engage their students and motivate them. Should the teachers come together in union to form a commitment on engaging their students. What is the schools role in teacher student engagement. How can teachers motivate the ones they are responsible for teaching when they will not engage the students. Ultimately yes, teachers should engage the students and motivate them to learn or do the lessons....   [tags: Education, School, Teacher, Engagement]

Powerful Essays
1166 words (3.3 pages)

The Neil Lane Diamond Engagement Ring Essay

- As the Neil Lane diamond engagement ring sparkled off of her finger, Sally Albino,30, a Staten Island Hospital clerk and Cosimo Zingaropoli,32,a retail manager, both of Staten Island were in complete awe over their recent engagement. The white gold ring consisted of diamonds all around the band glistening from every angle. But it wasn’t all sparkles and diamonds saving up for this lifelong engagement ring. Albino and Zingaropoli have been together 6 years before getting engaged. “I wanted to get her the ring she wanted and loved.” Zingaropoli said....   [tags: Engagement ring, Diamond, Engagement, Rings]

Powerful Essays
851 words (2.4 pages)

Role Of Financial Intermediaries Essay

- Economy methods such as credit cards unsecured loans. According to the research, consumers have become less comfortable about the amount of debt they are shouldering. Indeed, homelessness charity Sheher estimates that tbere will be 130,000 personal insolvencies this year. While the research echoes many leading economists in predicting that the UK will not experience a recession in the technical sense (two consecutive quarters of negative GDP growth), the slowdown will continue well into 2009, and the economy is unlikelyto pickup until2010....   [tags: Economics Economy]

Free Essays
1607 words (4.6 pages)

Essay on Stereotypes in Rules of Engagement

- Sometimes I like to question myself why things are the way they are. Why some people act nice and some act aggressive when dealing with one another. It feels like people forget that they are who they are and most importantly humans. A lot of stereotypes have shaped and controlled the way we think about people. More stereotypes and negativities made us treat our dear friends unfairly. I believe everything that happens in society happens for a reason, and that our race, religion, and background make people think of us as either good or bad....   [tags: Rules of Engagement, stereotypes,]

Powerful Essays
681 words (1.9 pages)

Role Of Social Media On Customer Engagement Essay

- The role of social media networks in customer engagement. Today, the companies are looking for best strategies to increase sales so customer engagement becomes important because fully engaged the customers spend more on each purchases. Customer Engagement is processes, technology and tools to enable an organization to attract and influence behaviours of customer effectively. In other words, it is developing customer’s relationship with companies. They are lot of strategies in customer engagement such as create positive shopping experiences, always follow up and use social media networks....   [tags: Social media, Consumer behaviour, Sociology]

Powerful Essays
1452 words (4.1 pages)

Hostile Takeover of the New World Essay

- Hostile Takeover of the New World The Effects of the United States Government on the Indians "The responsibility of any nation, and the particular responsibility of elected officials of any nation, is not to justify what has passed for legality but to anticipate the conditions and problems of tomorrow and attempt to deal with them....   [tags: Native American History Indians Essays]

Powerful Essays
5938 words (17 pages)

The Role of an Assurance Engagement Essay

- An effective relationship businesses and stakeholders is driven by the confidence of each other. Using assurance providers service will, if reasonable, strength this relationship. However, their role is sometimes not clear for the stakeholders. The term assurance, its benefits to businesses, how independence is maintain and the effect of the ISA 700 revision on the expectation gap will be the four focus points of this report In an assurance engagement, the practitioner expresses a conclusion designed to enhance the intended users’ degree of confidence about the outcome of an evaluation of measurement of a subject matter against specified criteria (ICAEW, 2013)....   [tags: Businesses, Stakeholders]

Powerful Essays
1618 words (4.6 pages)

Australia Takeovers And Arrangements Are Ruled And Managed By The Corporations Act 2001 Legislation

- In Australia takeovers and arrangements are ruled and managed by the Corporations Act 2001 legislation (Corporations Act), by the Australian Security Exchange Rules (ASX listing rules), by the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC), and by the Takeover Panel, which is a tribunal specialist and resolves takeover disputes. Under ASX Listing Rules, the following regulatory approvals are required in a reverse takeover: • ASX listing rule 11.1: if a company plans to make a significant change in its activities, the company must as soon as possible provide full details to ASX about the nature or scale of changes to its activities....   [tags: Stock, Takeover, Mergers and acquisitions]

Powerful Essays
1085 words (3.1 pages)

The Takeover of Cellphones Essay

- The Takeover of Cellphones Cellular devices have evolved and technologically advanced significantly over the last couple of decades. There are many uses to this technology it ranges for something as simple as cordless phone calls, text messages, and even surfing the web. This technology can be thought of as a system just like any other technology because it is dependent on a lot of other components than just the cell phone by itself. Cell phones all need to have a provider company who gives the cell phone signal from a tower....   [tags: communication technology]

Powerful Essays
1512 words (4.3 pages)

Civic Engagement Is More Than Just Volunteer Work Essay example

- Theater 180 addressed the quest question of how do people understand and engage in community life. Through this class I’ve gained a better understanding of what civic engagement is. At the start of this semester I had very minimal knowledge about civic engagement. As far as I knew civic engagement was just volunteering but nothing much beyond that. With this class I have learned that civic engagement is much more than just volunteer work. What exactly is civic engagement. Civic engagement is when an individual or a group of individuals work together to make a positive change in their community....   [tags: Thought, Idea, Engagement, Community building]

Powerful Essays
1005 words (2.9 pages)