Essay on The Motorcycle Helmet Law Debate

Essay on The Motorcycle Helmet Law Debate

Length: 2192 words (6.3 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview


People should not have to wear helmets because non-helmet usage dose not cost the government more money then helmet usage in a crash there is no difference between injuries with a helmet and without a helmet, and a helmet limits personal freedom.
Living in Wisconsin we see see many motorcyclist ride without helmets many non motorcyclist think that that rider is irresponsible or he has a death wish and that they are costing them more money in there taxes thats just not true many motorcyclist have health insurance. Which covers the cost just the same as an auto accident motorcyclists are 45% more likely to be injured in a cycle accident then other drivers(CDC pg or par. #). That is the name of the game and riders just learn to accept the reality of there chosen mode of transportation. The CDC has a positive stand on helmet usage but where do they get this information a 30year old study of helmet and non helmet usage among motorcyclist in California the man behind this study was professor John Hurt for which the study became known as the hurt report. In this report he followed a hundreds of motorcyclists and documented what happened to each and every one of them over the course of ten years he had odd areas of study such how much motorcycles fitted with fairings are involved in accidents a fairing is a plexiglass or plastic mounted to the front of the motorcycle that cuts the wind and other debris from striking the rider. What mr Hurt found was that motorcycles fitted with fairings are involved in crashes a lot less this probably is because motorcyclists who have fairings are more experienced then other riders who have not found out the benefits of a fairing.for the non riders in the population why should non riders care if motor...


... middle of paper ...


...2013. .\


"Taking to the road helmetless; Motorcyclists hope Mich. governor signs bill ending order." Washington Times [Washington, DC] 12 Apr. 2012: A06. Opposing Viewpoints In Context. Web. 16 Oct. 2013
"Motorcycle deaths in Pennsylvania climb in 10 years since repeal of helmet law."Pittsburgh Tribune-Review [Pittsburgh, PA] 26 May 2013. Opposing Viewpoints In Context. Web. 17 Oct. 2013.
"Myrtle Beach Helmet Law Stirs Anger." All Things Considered 6 Oct. 2009. Opposing Viewpoints In Context. Web. 17 Oct. 2013.

"Safety Group Lauds NTSB for Adding Motorcycle Helmet Laws to 'Most Wanted' List, Urges Congress to Enact Overdue Traffic Safety Recommendations." Journal of Transportation 4 Dec. 2010: 46. Global Issues In Context. Web. 18 Oct. 2013.
“Motorcycle helmets are not safer”bikers rights .com no date
november20 2013Web

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on helmet law

- Who are Relmets Really Protecting. The debate over whether or not to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle has been hot topic since the helmet law went into effect in California in 1992. It seems obvious that wearing a helmet would help protect you in a motorcycle accident. Many legislatures agree. In fact, nineteen states have a mandatory helmet law for all motorcycle riders. Twenty-seven states have a law for those under a set age, three of which require additional insurance for those of age who choose not to wear a helmet....   [tags: essays research papers]

Better Essays
865 words (2.5 pages)

Essay about Helmet Laws In The United States

- Helmet laws throughout the U.S. have always created a great deal of controversy. Currently there are two types of helmet laws in the United States; a universal helmet law, which requires all motorcyclists to wear a helmet and partial helmet law that has age requirements. The helmet debate has been a long battle between free-rights organizations and government officials. In 1967, the Highway Safety act created a federal highway safety grant program. Prior to this act, no state in the U.S. had a motorcycle helmet law....   [tags: Public Safety]

Better Essays
1483 words (4.2 pages)

America Needs a Motorcycle Helmet Law Essay

-            Millions of people all over the United States choose motorcycles over automobiles for the thrill, speed, and high performance capabilities. On the other hand, motorcycles are not at all the safest way of transportation. Motorcycles do not provide the passenger with the outer protection that cars provide, therefore, when one crashes, the results are usually much more serious. Injuries to the head are responsible for 76% of fatalities when dealing with motorcycle crashes many of which could have been prevented had the rider been wearing a helmet....   [tags: Argumentative Persuasive Essays]

Better Essays
874 words (2.5 pages)

Motorcycle Drivers and Helmets Essays

- As a motorcycle rider I know first-hand the importance of wearing helmets, not only for the driver but the passengers too. Last august I was in a motorcycle accident just down the road from my house. Not only have I been riding motorcycles for the past six years, but I have also had multiple safety driving courses from college and military. I never thought I would get into an accident especially just down the road from my house. I was driving at the speed limit and I had the right away when a woman pulled out in front of me and nearly took my life....   [tags: accident, negligence, injury, death, law, fatality]

Better Essays
973 words (2.8 pages)

Essay about Bell Vortex Motorcycle Helmet

- ... It also includes one of the most efficient ventilation systems in the market. It is engineered intelligently so you can easily control the air flow through the vents and adjust them to your own needs. But the ventilation led to the helmet in being a bit loud and noisy. I prefer my rides to be more quiet and comfortable but that’s the best we can get in such an affordable price. I have a big head, so I didn’t find the helmet to be heavy but not everyone might agree with that. Summary of features The helmet is not that heavy and weighs 5 pounds....   [tags: safety, performance, affordability]

Better Essays
678 words (1.9 pages)

Optional Helmet Law Is a Disaster for Pennsylvania Essay

- Optional Helmet Law Is a Disaster for Pennsylvania 1. September 4, 2003 was a sad day for Pennsylvanians. Governor Rendell signed the new motorcycle helmet law into effect, sentencing riders to death and increasing the tax burden caused by this new law. Pennsylvania is the 31st state to repeal its all-rider helmet law (Berenson 2). The new law states “no helmet is required for a person 21 years of age or older who has been licensed to operate a motorcycle for not less than 2 full calender [sic] years or has completed a motorcycle rider safety course approved by the Department of Transportation or the Motorcycle Safety Foundation” (Lobel 3)....   [tags: Argumentataive Persuasive Motorcycles Essays]

Better Essays
1155 words (3.3 pages)

Essay on helmet law

- The Motorcycle Helmets, Educate not Legislate Choice or Law. Freedom of choice" is not about the thrill of feeling the wind in our hair any more than a young man's choice to serve in the armed forces of this country during a time of war is about the thrill of being shot at. The issue is about returning personal responsibility to trained and experienced adult motorcyclists. It is about rejecting the proposition that the government should be allowed to impose upon the personal decisions of free men....   [tags: essays research papers]

Better Essays
1366 words (3.9 pages)

Essay about The Importance of Helmet Use Among Motorcyclists

- Riding a motorcycle can be a fun and exciting hobby. With gas prices at near all-time highs, it can also be a very economical way of getting around. Unfortunately, it can also be dangerous. In the spring of 2006, my brother received third-degree burns on both legs when the motorcycle he was riding was hit from behind by a straight truck. He was not wearing a helmet at the time of the crash and to this day I have no idea how he lived. He was lucky to have survived, but many others are not. To protect motorcyclists, laws should mandate all riders wear a helmet because statistics indicate that they prevent serious injury which, in turn, causes economic strain to society....   [tags: gas, dangerous, protect, laws]

Better Essays
784 words (2.2 pages)

Essay The Physics of Motorcycle Roadracing

- Despite what some people may think, motorcycle roadracing is not only a highly strenuous sport, but there is much more involved than just twisting the throttle and turning the handlebars. There are a number of powerful forces working on the bike and the rider. There is, of course, the downward pull of gravity, friction between the tires and the track, and centrifugal force which acts to the outside of the turn. The key to cornering at high speeds is to perfect the lean angle of the motorcycle so that the force of gravity reaches equilibrium with the centrifugal force attempting to stand the bike back up....   [tags: physics sport sports motorcycle]

Better Essays
971 words (2.8 pages)

Essay on helmet

- Safety in the head John, being around for your next birthday would be great, so you need to use this helmet, it will save me many days of grief. Please wear this helmet when you ride your motorcycle. Having you come home to the neighborhood is a better feeling then you going home to a grave. This helmet will protect your head from hard hits that you will encounter when you fall off your motorcycle. Wearing a helmet will save you from getting a mangled face. Since you feel that you are too cool to wear a helmet, let me advise you that having an attitude like that is not smart....   [tags: essays research papers fc]

Free Essays
1089 words (3.1 pages)