Women’s Rights: A Path into the Society to Achieve Social Liberation Essay

Women’s Rights: A Path into the Society to Achieve Social Liberation Essay

Length: 1241 words (3.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Society has violated females’ privacy for thousands of years. The violations have crossed relational, physical, spiritual, sexual and emotional borders of women and girls’ privacy and privileges. Furthermore, women hold almost 52 percent of all professional-level jobs; however, American women stay behind men when it comes to their representation in leadership positions. The last decades of the 20th century women’s professional advancement slowed down, narrowing the percentage of women in management jobs. Philosophers like Plato and the ancient cynics have tried to advocate in favor of women. Yet, society has given more attention to the feminist’s political rights than the actual feminist’s social rights as the ones that women should enjoy on their work environment; although achieving equal political rights for women is a necessary condition for women to succeed, it is not sufficient to cover the gender break in leadership and management positions. It would not be sufficient because women’s oppression under male domination does not consist only in depriving women of political and legal rights, it also extends into the arrangement of our society and our culture.
In this paper I will try to show that American women lack of representation in leadership and management positions in the employment industries. As a philosophy scholar and writer Susan James notes, Feminism is defined as “the belief that women are oppressed or disadvantaged by comparison with men, and their oppression is illegitimate or unjustified” (qtd. in Haslanger). Feminism cannot be defined only as a political program or compilation of laws because it is way more than only political affiliations. Sexism has not only dominated women in the political reality, but also ...


... middle of paper ...


...

Chu, Anna, and Charles Posner. "The State of Women in America A 50-State Analysis of How Women Are Faring Across the Nation." American Progress. Center for American Progress, 25 Sept. 2013. Web. 21 Apr. 2014.
Farrel, Jane, and Sarah Jane Glynn. “What Causes the Gender Wage Gap?”. American Progress. Center for American Progress, 9 Apr. 2013. Web. 22 Apr. 2014
Haslanger, Sally, Tuana Nancy and O'Connor, Peg, "Topics in Feminism", The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Spring 2014 Edition), Edward N. Zalta (ed.). Web. 21 Mar. 2014
Warner, Judith. " Fact Sheet: The Women’s Leadership Gap Women’s Leadership by the Numbers." American Progress. Center for American Progress, 7 Mar. 2014. Web. 20 Apr. 2014.
Warner, Judith. "Women’s Leadership What’s True, What’s False, and Why It Matters." American Progress. Center for American Progress, 7 Mar. 2014. Web. 22 Apr. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Choosing the Right Career Path for You Essay

- Ever since civilization was capable of recording history, we were able to identify the type of job fields that existed throughout history. Not much has changed over the centuries; Ancient Greece consisted of farmers and fishermen just like we have today. According to the Bible, Jesus Christ was a carpenter by trade, he followed in the footsteps of his adoptive father. I believe a lot of people throughout history have aimed to follow the same line of work as their parents, because they respected their mother/father; parents have a big influence on our career choices....   [tags: career, choice, path, vocation]

Strong Essays
725 words (2.1 pages)

Path Dependence And Corporate Social Responsibility Essay

- Chapter 4 Path dependence and corporate social responsibility The previous two chapters have comprehensively reviewed the concept and barriers of CCL. In this chapter, some conceptual frameworks about path dependence and corporate social responsibility (CSR) will be presented to provide some new perspectives to achieve RO4 of this dissertation. 4.1 Path dependence Path-dependence theory was illustrated by Arthur (1994), trying to describe the choices made in the past would determine the choices prevailing in the future....   [tags: Social responsibility]

Strong Essays
2116 words (6 pages)

Essay on Social Class And Its Impact On Society

- Growing up, I noticed everything; like the name brands shoes my parents couldn’t afford. They would make an effort of buying me similar ones. My dad would see how I would try to hide the shoes in shame. Kids would judge and stare at the type of clothes others had on. Social class mattered then, and it matters even more now. People judge others by how much they have, what they wear, and what they own. Those are the things that are used to label a person’s social class. Social class has become a controversial issue when it comes to whether or not it can be changed....   [tags: Middle class, Working class, Social class]

Strong Essays
1265 words (3.6 pages)

Essay about The Path of Buddha

- Self reflection often leads to profound discoveries about the true reality of the world around us. Such is the case when looking at the life of Siddhartha Gautama; the one who became enlightened and challenged the belief systems of the society in which he lived. His profound philosophical teachings have endured through thousands of years and have influenced the moral foundation of many cultures throughout history. Buddha's philosophy differed from other religions in that it was psychological, and it focused on reaching enlightenment through inner worldly means rather than by prayer and worship....   [tags: Gautama, Buddhism vs Hinduism]

Strong Essays
1282 words (3.7 pages)

Marriage Is Not Always The Path Taken By Everyone Essay

- Marriage is the union of two people as husband and wife under the court of law. People have been getting married for centuries and for several different reasons. They are not always perfect, and sometimes lead to divorce. However, society revolves around marriage to produce future generations and provide an optimum environment for both the parents and the children. The ironic thing about marriage is that the relationship really isn’t the thing that changes. The main difference is how other people interact with the couple, and how legal obligations are handled....   [tags: Marriage, Love, Wife, Arranged marriage]

Strong Essays
1188 words (3.4 pages)

Essay about Finding A Career Path And Positive Future

- 2nd Chance At a Loving Life, 2nd CALL, is an organization which takes previously incarcerated individuals from society, and helps them define a career path and positive future. I have personally always been a fan of the “underdog” and enjoy seeing success from those not believed in. Re-entry is certainly a major issue in our criminal justice system which needs to be addressed. It is common to hear about how expensive incarceration is, how it is ineffective, and how offenders recidivate more often than not....   [tags: Criminal law, Crime, Criminal justice, Prison]

Strong Essays
1010 words (2.9 pages)

Essay on Social Media And Its Effects On Society

- Media is persistently bombarding everyone who lives in our modern, technology oriented society with its messages and goals. If one is to observe the key types of media used by Choose MyPlate, they would quickly discover that they achieve their primary focus through the usage of social media (MyPlate 2016). Social media is one of their main sources due to its ability to reach mass quantities of individuals as well as the fact that it is so simple to share and get connected. One of the first outlets of social media that MyPlate uses is Facebook....   [tags: Health, Nutrition, Personal life, Health care]

Strong Essays
1317 words (3.8 pages)

Essay on Becoming A Social Worker Is The Highest Goal

- Becoming a social worker is the highest goal I am ecstatic to achieve in life. The social work profession speaks to me unlike any other profession, because I have the opportunity be a guiding light in someone’s life. Through social work, I will be able to help all types of people make decisions while at the same time advocate for their individual rights. By attending the University of Kansas, I believe I will be able to emerge myself in the best academic environment to work toward achieving my goal....   [tags: Sociology, Social work]

Strong Essays
1088 words (3.1 pages)

What The Primary Mission Of Social Work As A Professional Means? Essay

- Code of Ethics This paper will explore what the primary mission of social work as a professional means to me. Through self-reflection of the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) Code of Ethics, I will delve into why I chose social work as a career, the type of social worker I want to become, and ponder what challenges and obstacles may impede my chosen path. Social Work as a Career According to the preamble of the NASW Code of ethics (1996), as social workers, we try to make lives better for others, by helping people obtain those resources in society that all humans need to survive....   [tags: Social work, Sociology, Ethics]

Strong Essays
728 words (2.1 pages)

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls: The Path of Recovery is for Everyone

- Hardships are a terrible, but normal part of everybody’s life. No matter the hardship, anybody can recover. After viewing the information, it give an idea of how bad each of them had it.When Jeannette from The Glass Castle escapes the depths of Welch and her parents, her life was smooth sailing afterwards. When you have a life as very upsetting as hers, It is expected for more struggles to happen later in life. Not everybody will be as fortunate as her and continue forward with no regression. When Lily from The Secret Life of Bees ran away from home with no clue where she was headed, other than a town written on a picture....   [tags: hardship, success, struggle]

Strong Essays
1011 words (2.9 pages)