Which Would you Choose: Life or Death? Essay

Which Would you Choose: Life or Death? Essay

Length: 1029 words (2.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Many women in the United States now-a-days choose abortion over adoption because they are not well educated on the effects of abortion and adoption (Burton). Women think that abortion is better just because their child has a defect or any chance of having an abnormality. But the statistics say that only three percent of all abortions are because of an abnormality or child defect (Heure). Have you ever heard the controversy over abortion and adoption? It is a big topic in the world today.
‘Abortion is when the fetus is taken out of the womb and is not capable of surviving outside of the womb (Coomson).’ This is the definition that many use for the word abortion. Some may simply put it as taking the life of a human being. Just because the fetus may not look like a human it is still one. Even though abortion became legalized in 1973 it does not mean that everyone was ‘ok’ with it (Koch).
‘Adoption is to take and rear as one’s own child, specifically by a formal legal act (“adopt”). Adoption has been accepted in the world for many years. It was mainly accepted in society back in the early and middle 1900’s. This is when having a teen-pregnancy was looked upon as a bad thing. In today’s society teen-pregnancy and having a child when not married is accepted in society (Marshall). Many young girls were sent away when they were younger once their parents found out that they were pregnant. They would have the child without anyone knowing and then they would return back to their life like nothing happened (Marshall).
Even though abortion is looked upon as a bad thing in society some may think that there is a good side to it. One main reason on why a mother may decide to choose abortion is because she is not financially stable. The m...


... middle of paper ...


...5 May 2012. Web. 26 Mar. 2014. .
Coomson, Emmanuel K. “Unsafe Abortions.” AllAfrica.com. 14 Oct. 2013: n.p. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 26 Mar. 2014
Heure, Rhonda. “At the Center: Abortion vs. Adoption.” At the Center: Abortion vs. Adoption. Life Matters Outreach Inc., n.d. Web. 31 Mar. 2014. http://www.lifemattersoutreach.org/p/abortion=info.html.
Koch, Wendy. “Struggling Families Take Second Look at Adoption.” USA Today. 19 May. 2009: A.l. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 26 Mar. 2014
Lucey, Catherine. “Unusual Iowa Abortion Rule Has Surprising Result.” Des Moines Register. 18 Feb. 2014: n.p. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 26 Mar. 2014
Marshall, Jennifer A. “Making Adoption a Likely Option.” Heritage Foundation. 18 Nov. 2011: n.p. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 26 Mar. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

At What Cost Would You Save The Life Of Another? Essay

- “Thou shalt not be a victim. Thou shalt not be a perpetrator. Above all, thou shalt not be a bystander.” (Berenbaum) Would you save lives of others at the consequence of losing your own. Many people faced with this question during the Holocaust became bystanders while very few had the courage to jeopardize everything to rescue others. While Nazi’s were terrorizing others and eliminating their liberties others became bystanders and were spectators and accomplices to the Nazi party. The Holocaust; an attempt to clear a country of its impurities, to create a superior race, and to create a perfect civilization in a country of discrimination and hostility....   [tags: Holocaust]

Strong Essays
788 words (2.3 pages)

Would You Buy a Car That Looked Like This Essay

- Andrew Simms, a policy director and head of the Climate Change Program for the New Economics Foundation in England, presents his argument about the impact SUV’s have on our roadways, and the air we breathe. “Would You Buy a Car That Looked like This. “. The title alone gives great insight on what the article is going to be about, (vehicles). “They clog the streets and litter the pages of weekend colour *supplements. Sport utility vehicles or SUV’s have become badges of middle class aspiration” (Simms 542)....   [tags: Article Review, Andrew Simms]

Strong Essays
1096 words (3.1 pages)

Essay on Aging In the Reanissance and As You Like It

- Aging In the Reanissance and As You Like It       Life starts upon the exit from the mother's womb. From that moment, time marches on until the inevitable death occurs to take one once again from the world of the living. Life and death fascinated various playwrights and authors of the Renaissance. Shakespeare made his interest in aging known in many of his plays and sonnets. He approaches this continuing theme from many angles. In many of his sonnets he talks about aging and how the image changes as one ages and gets older and less attractive....   [tags: Shakespeare As You Like It Essays]

Strong Essays
1796 words (5.1 pages)

Culturally Preparing for Death Essay

- It is understood that all roles on planet Earth are only temporary. Whether it is in Eastern or Western culture, we do not prepare for death while still alive because it something we do not want to discuss and we know we cannot give a quick fix to it or change it. Death is approaching us as we grow older. (Excluding heart attacks or accidental death where death occurs instantaneously.) It is always there in our mind, in our shadows, regardless of our beliefs about what happens after death. Even in the present millennium, we still discuss death less willingly and perhaps we still have a kind of fearful feeling when we meet our final count-down....   [tags: death, culture, ]

Strong Essays
2503 words (7.2 pages)

Essay about Abortion: A Woman's Right to Choose

- In 1973 the law of Roe vs. Wade did away with back alley abortions and gave women the right to choose abortion. Women were then able to legally obtain them through medically sound institutions. Rather than on her bathroom floor through the process of a coat hanger or at back alley abortion clinics that were not always the most hygienic options. “In handing down Roe v. Wade (401 U.S. 113) on 22 January 1973, the Supreme Court held that a woman’s right to choose abortion was constitutionally protected as a part of her right to privacy; abortion thus became legal throughout the United States....   [tags: Argumentative Essay, Persuasive Essay]

Strong Essays
970 words (2.8 pages)

Essay on The Good vs. The Bad in The Road: Which Would You Do?

- Imagine a desolate and dismal world that deteriorated with scarce supplies of food and shelter and there is only a few survivors left--including yourself and one of your family members. In hopes of survival, what measures would you take. Would you go to the extreme by cannibalism or committing suicide. On the other hand, would you choose to be on an ethical route by grasping on life delicately. In the midst of the unflinching and empty world with virtually no hope, the father and son in the novel, The Road by Cormac McCarthy, choose to be the “good guys” by staying alive and refraining from cannibalism and thievery....   [tags: Literary Analysis, Cormac McCarthy]

Free Essays
961 words (2.7 pages)

Death and Dying in Relation to Buddhism Essay

- Although people in general may have different views and/or ideas on death and dying, is it possible to come to some kind of consensus on its definition. In this essay paper titled, “What Is the Meaning of a Good Death?” I will focus on its definition; discuss where this idea came from and its relation to a traditional Buddhist death. Based on class lecture readings from RLCT 2066 (Death, Dying & Spirituality) and research completed on the subject I will offer the reader a good understanding of the titles meaning through discussions and conclude with my interpretation of what preparations are made for death in relation to a traditional Buddhist death....   [tags: death, reincarnation, religion, spirituality]

Strong Essays
2300 words (6.6 pages)

Impact of Isolation in Death of a Salesman Essay

- Impact of Isolation in Death of a Salesman Arthur Miller's play Death of a Salesman is the story of a man, Willy Loman, gone deaf to the outside world. Though many try to help him, he shuts them out and creates his own reality in which he is successful and loved by everyone. In Death of a Salesman, Willy has many influences both good and bad attempting to direct his life; it is his refusal to choose the helpful advice that will ultimately lead to his downfall....   [tags: Death Salesman essays]

Free Essays
873 words (2.5 pages)

Dehumanization in Death of a Salesman Essay

- Dehumanization in Death of a Salesman      Alienation and loneliness are two of the frequently explored themes in Arthur Miller’s Death of a Salesman.  Yet they can also cause other effects which are just as harmful, if not more so.  In Death of a Salesman, two of these other results are dehumanization and a loss of individual freedom.  This is a very complex web of emotions, but as Miller said, “Death of a Salesman is not, of course, in the realistic tradition, having broken out into quite a new synthesis of psychological and social dimensions” (Eight vii).  It did indeed “break out” in the modernist direction.  It is a wonderful example of the way modernist writers expressed their belie...   [tags: Death Salesman essays]

Strong Essays
1236 words (3.5 pages)

Facing Death Essay

- Facing Death Works Cited Not Included In today?s modern society we have a certain distaste for the subject of death. There are people in society feel uncomfortable with the subject of death. The subject of death is a reality that we need to face everyday. There is nothing any of us can do about death, and there is no virtue in dwelling on it or trying to penetrate its mystery. Is it possible to prepare for death. In our day and age as we know it, there have been astounding advancements in medicine....   [tags: Papers Death Dying Life Religion Essays]

Strong Essays
660 words (1.9 pages)