Essay about What Was Hurricane Katrina?

Essay about What Was Hurricane Katrina?

Length: 688 words (2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

We are storm veterans. Hurricanes come along every late summer and fall in New Orleans. It is part of life in the Gulf Coast. You make sure you always have emergency supplies handy. You have a storm shelter, or a plan to get together with friends and family someplace safe. Hurricanes are just a thing we deal with around here.
It is true, we could have evacuated. We heard the serious storm warnings for Katrina. We also heard that the streets were piled up with people trying to leave. We would be lucky to get out anyway. So we decided to stay with some friends. We would ride out the storm together, like always.
We gathered in a house that was on high ground. It was at least a mile from the beach. We made sure we had fresh water, flashlights, batteries, and lots of food for us and our pets.
When the storm hit, we hunkered down. It was not long before the lights went out. That was no surprise. But then the wind started howling. It sounded like a jet airplane about to crash into the house! The noise was so loud we could not talk to each other. We all hugged in the dark. Some of us were in tears.
It did not get any better. Water crashed through the windows downstairs. Waves gushed into the house in a surge of seawater and junk from the streets. We tripped upstairs in the blackness. We scrambled to get our emergency supplies into the attic. But the water kept crawling up the walls. It was as if the house was sinking.
Now, we are all huddled together on the roof. We even rescued a man who was drowning in our street. He swam out of his bedroom window when the storm flooded his home. We are shivering together in the cold rain. And we are wondering: will we live or will we die in this storm?
Yeah, we are storm veterans. But we were not re...


... middle of paper ...


...gh Loop Current, which had deep, warm water. These conditions can make a storm stronger. Katrina gained strength and regained hurricane status. By August 28, Katrina became a Category 5 storm. Its winds were clocked at 175 miles per hour!
The federal government declared a state of emergency in many areas along the coastlines. But not all of them. Max Mayfield was the National Hurricane Director. He was not just worried about the possible damage from high winds and rain. He didn't think that the levees and flood walls that protected the coastal areas would survive the storm surge. He was so worried that he called the mayor of New Orleans. He also called the governors of Louisiana and Mississippi. Then he called the President of the United States, George W. Bush, at his ranch in Texas. He urged them all to tell people to evacuate the area: a monster storm was coming!

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Hurricane Devastation : Hurricane Katrina Essay

- “It’s amazing how our life can change from one day to another and Mother of Nature is one of them. Hurricane Katrina a category 4 hurricane struck the Gulf Coast of the United States on August 29, 2005, causing death and destruction in New Orleans. Katrina will be remembered by all victims in New Orleans and around the world.” Hurricane Katrina was declared the costliest and most destructive natural disaster in history, because of the strong winds and storm causing destruction of many towns and communities for more than a million people....   [tags: Hurricane Katrina, Louisiana, New Orleans]

Better Essays
1498 words (4.3 pages)

Essay on Hurricane Devastation Of Hurricane Katrina

- Hurricane Katrina Hurricane Katrina was the most expensive hurricane that hit the United States ever. The hurricane was the third strongest of the season, behind both Hurricane Wilma and Rita. The hurricane was the third strongest of the season, behind both Hurricane Wilma and Rita. Early in the morning on August 29, 2005, Hurricane Katrina struck the Gulf Coast of the United States. When the storm made landfall, it had a Category 3 rating on the Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Scale–it brought sustained winds of 100–140 miles per hour–and stretched some 400 miles across....   [tags: New Orleans, Louisiana, Hurricane Katrina]

Better Essays
967 words (2.8 pages)

Hurricane Devastation Of Hurricane Katrina Essay

- Anthony Coll Mrs. O’Connor English 12 Level II December 3rd Hurricane Katrina Hurricane Katrina ranked a category 3 hurricane on the Saffir-Simpson scale began to form on August 23, 2005 over the islands of the bahamas. Hurricane Katrina packed winds of 100-140 MPH and a width of 400 miles. The U.S. reported over 90,000 square miles were affected by the storm and calculated it cost three times more than the horrific World Trade Center terrorist attack on september 11th. The storm was nicknamed “The Hand of God” for its complete destruction of the southern coast....   [tags: Hurricane Katrina, George W. Bush]

Better Essays
1266 words (3.6 pages)

Essay on Hurricane Devastation Of Hurricane Katrina

- Hurricane Katrina was one of the most deadliest and horrific disasters in United States’ history. The hurricane started building up in the Bahamas from the “interaction between a tropical wave and the remnants of Tropical Depression Ten.” On August 23, 2016. A day later the storm strengthened and was named Tropical storm Katrina. As the storm developed it at one point became a category five hurricane when it hit the gulf of Mexico. On August 29, 2015, the hurricane weakened to a category 3 hurricane and hit the Gulf Coast of the United States....   [tags: Hurricane Katrina, Louisiana, New Orleans]

Better Essays
910 words (2.6 pages)

My Family And The Hurricane Katrina Essay

- The story that my family often tells is our Hurricane Katrina experience. In 2005, my family and I had to leave our home in New Orleans, Louisiana to come to Texas. This is unfortunately a tragic but triumphant story of my family. On August 22, 2005, I had just begun middle school at a private school that I so badly wanted to attend. The very next day my mom and I was watching the news and the news reporter stated that there was a hurricane forming that looks as if it will head to the gulf coast....   [tags: Hurricane Katrina, Tropical cyclone]

Better Essays
999 words (2.9 pages)

Essay on The Consequences of Hurricane Katrina

- Hurricane Katrina hit the southern coast of the United States on August 28, 2005. The center of Hurricane Katrina struck New Orleans on the morning of August 29, 2005. The devastating effect of this hurricane resulted in more than 1,800 citizens losing their lives, as well as more than an estimated $81 billion dollars in damages occurred. By August 31, 2005, eighty-percent of the city became submerged under water because the storm surge breached the city's levees at multiple points. If the levees are damaged massive water will flood Louisiana from the Gulf Coast, the Mississippi River, and other surrounding bodies of water....   [tags: Hurricane Katrina, USA, informative]

Better Essays
2310 words (6.6 pages)

Essay about The Tragedy Of Hurricane Katrina

- Homeland crises do no happen often in the United States, but when they do, they are typically devastating. Two particular attacks that happened during the millennial lifetime were September 11, 2001 and Hurricane Katrina. A lot of people can remember where they were, what they were doing, and the feelings they felt after the crisis of September 11. Hurricane Katrina was another event that reflected on crisis management and government reactions to a devastating storm. Both events warrant a discussion on their respective crisis events....   [tags: Hurricane Katrina, Louisiana]

Better Essays
1048 words (3 pages)

Hurricane Devastation Of Hurricane Katrina Essay example

- What is the most devastating natural disaster known. Hurricanes are one of the most catastrophic and natural events to ever be experienced. They can be up to 600 miles across and have wind speed of 75 to 200 mph. Hurricane Sandy and Hurricane Katrina happened to be two of the most devastating hurricanes in history. Hurricane Katrina was one of the five deadliest hurricanes and the costliest natural disaster in the United States. At least 1,245 people died during the storm and from subsequent flooding, making it the deadliest hurricane since the Okeechobee hurricane in 1928....   [tags: Hurricane Katrina, Tropical cyclone, Storm surge]

Better Essays
723 words (2.1 pages)

Hurricane Devastation : Hurricane Katrina Essay

- Hurricane Katrina Debris Removal Process The year was 2005, it seems like it wasn’t that long ago , but it has been nearly 11 years since the natural disaster named Hurricane Katrina came through and devastated the city of New Orleans. The Hurricane Katrina aftermath left 80% of the city underwater and 25,000 thousand people displaced, stranded and in despair seeking refuge inside the Louisiana Super Dome. More than 1500 people died after the levees broke letting water from the Mississippi River flood most of the city....   [tags: Hurricane Katrina, George W. Bush, New Orleans]

Better Essays
939 words (2.7 pages)

Essay on Hurricane Devastation : Hurricane Katrina

- Hurricane Katrina Debris Management The year was 2005, it seems like it wasn’t that long ago, but it has been nearly 11 years since the natural disaster named Hurricane Katrina came through and devastated the city of New Orleans. The Hurricane Katrina aftermath left 80% of the city underwater and 25,000 thousand people displaced, stranded and in despair seeking refuge inside the Louisiana Super Dome. More than 1500 people died after the levees broke letting water from the Mississippi River flood most of the city....   [tags: Hurricane Katrina, George W. Bush, New Orleans]

Better Essays
939 words (2.7 pages)