What Affects Whether Fifth and Seventh Graders Try New Foods? Essay

What Affects Whether Fifth and Seventh Graders Try New Foods? Essay

Length: 2038 words (5.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

My dad’s family is Hispanic, so my brothers and I have grown up trying new foods, mostly Latino foods. Trying new foods is like second nature to me. In fact, I absolutely love trying new foods. I think it is exciting to literally travel around the world without even leaving the table! Whenever I go to a restaurant, I try to see what the coolest thing I can try is, and I will order it. I find it boring to always eat the same foods, same tastes, same flavors, etc. Why always eat the same things when there is literally a whole world of possibilities out there? On the other hand, my fifth grade brother, Alessandro, detests trying new foods. We joke about how whenever we are at a restaurant, he always orders chicken fingers. He plays it safe when he is faced with ordering food at restaurants, or even at home, he will eat something he has tried before and likes instead of something new. So I wondered why we are so different when it comes to trying new foods. We are literally like night and day when it comes to new food. Am I more open to trying new foods because I have traveled more? But, Alessandro has traveled to Venezuela (which is a country in South America), and I have not. Is it because I am older? I am twelve and he is eleven. Is it a matter of different personalities? I am a little more outgoing that he is. Putting all those questions aside, I wondered about my classmates and their eating habits. I wondered how different eating habits are between my classmates and me. Do they share my preferences for new foods? Starting to think about that, I wondered whether being Hispanic made any effect on my eating habits, because maybe I try Hispanic food more than other ethnicities. Then, I wondered whether someone’s ethnicities made ...


... middle of paper ...


...licy Magazine." Foreign Policy. 10 Feb. 2004. Web. 20 Feb. 2012. .
"Official Bilingualism in Canada." Wikipedia. Wikimedia Foundation, 19 Feb. 2012. Web. 20 Feb. 2012. .
Platenburg, Gheni. "HispanicTrending." : Growing Demand for Ethnic Food Correlates to Increased Minority Populations. 19 Dec. 2011. Web. 20 Feb. 2012. .
Shoukas, Denise. "The Exploding American Palate: Ethnic Flavors Spice Up the Mix." Specialty Food —. Web. 20 Feb. 2012. .





Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Obesity And Eating Unhealthy Foods Essays

- After reading “A Guide to Health Care News Stories” I came across an article entitled, Distracting dining. Stay clear of it. The article was published on December 1, 2015 by the University of Illinois. The new study from the University of Illinois stated that distracted dining may be as dangerous to your health as distracted driving is to your safety on a highway. The study concluded that noisy and distracted environments during meals puts kids at risk for obesity and eating unhealthy foods. In order to dissect this news article I will be using the ten review criteria presented in the article “A Guide to Health Care News Stories.” The first step reviews if the cost of the intervention was a...   [tags: Nutrition, Obesity, Childhood obesity, Food]

Term Papers
1078 words (3.1 pages)

Essay on Magical Realism in Seventh Heaven

- Magical Realism in Seventh Heaven       The book Seventh Heaven was written by an American author by the name of Alice Hoffman. Seventh Heaven was published in the year of 1990. Seventh Heaven was a book based on life in the suburbs and the spiritual essence of the people who lived there. The author who wrote this story seemed to make the essence known that magical realism was definitely about these people and that they lived it everyday. Magical Realism lived everyday and will keep living as long as there is life on earth....   [tags: Seventh Heaven Essays]

Free Essays
935 words (2.7 pages)

Essay on The Seventh Tower

- The Seventh Tower Plot Summary      This book is a Science fiction book that is the fist of a series of books called The Seventh Tower. It starts out with a boy by the name of Tal Graile-Rarem receiving word that his dad was missing on a mission that he was doing for the queen. And that is when every thing goes down hill. This is because his dad has the only good sunstone that will allow Tal to pass into the world of Aerian. Aerian is the world where a boy goes to receive his spirit shadow when he turns fourteen....   [tags: Book Report Seventh Tower Essays]

Term Papers
1208 words (3.5 pages)

Essay on The Dangers of Genetically Modified Foods

- Genetically modified organisms (GMOs), organisms that have been genetically altered that cannot occur in nature, change many aspects of a standard modern diet. In the developed world, 80% of all foods consumed contain GM ingredients. Although some countries have begun to label GM foods, 135 countries are still in the dark as to whether or not what they are eating is genetically modified. GM crops can add more nutritional value to a diet, because foods can now be engineered to contain more essential vitamins and nutrients, boosting our health....   [tags: GMOs, GM foods, GM crops]

Term Papers
1378 words (3.9 pages)

The Definition of Organic Foods Should Be Redefined Essay

- Organic versus non-organic foods are always being debated to whether they are worth the extra cost. This seems to be an easy question, at first, but begs a more in-depth analysis to come to a conclusion. Organic definitions can vary by government, company and even individuals. Many people have their own ideas of what organic means. My personal definition, before this research assignment, was that organic products were grown with no pesticides, chemical additives, or preservatives and grown in a humane way....   [tags: Organic vs. Non-organic Foods]

Term Papers
1231 words (3.5 pages)

Marketing Strategy Of Whole Foods Essay

- Whole food has a track record of organic and natural food dating back to John Mackey’s college drop-out days which resulted in him getting employment at a natural food store. Renee Harding his girlfriend was attracted to the healthy food idea which led them to join hands in opening a restaurant called Safe Way including a health food store. Although they experienced financial difficulties, Mackey’s father invested $25, 000 which resulted in him urging organic local grocery owners to join. The strategy was a huge success which led to the first opening in 1980 of a Whole Food Market and turned out to be a success....   [tags: Organic food, Whole Foods Market, Whole foods]

Term Papers
847 words (2.4 pages)

Beethoven's Seventh symphony Essay

- Music historians have debated on whether Beethoven’s music fits more with the Romantic or the Classical era. Beethoven was a student of Haydn, which makes his roots clearly classical, but he does not fit the mold of a classical composer. Due to his lack of reverence to musical form, allegiance to the cult of the individual, and innovative use of musical concepts, Beethoven is seen as the bridge between the Classical and Romantic era. In the case of the seventh symphony I would classify it as more romantic than it is classical....   [tags: music, music history, romantic era, symphonies]

Term Papers
904 words (2.6 pages)

Human Response to Death in The Seventh Seal, by Ingmar Bergman Essay

- Living with Death In his film The Seventh Seal, Ingmar Bergman openly addresses the human response to death. The film documents the return of Antonius Block and his squire Jons to their homeland after their ten years of fighting in the Crusades. During their return journey to Antonius Block's castle, the characters encounter death in many forms, including the devastating plague afflicting the population and (even less subtly) Death personified in his classic black garb. Each of Block's and Jons' confrontations with death provides opportunities for Bergman to display the different philosophies of death that he has intertwined with his characters....   [tags: The Seventh Seal, Ingmar Bergman]

Term Papers
2001 words (5.7 pages)

We Must Ban Genetically Modified Foods Essay

- Genetically modifying foods is an imprecise experiment with widespread repercussions that is harmful to practically everyone involved and should be stopped. This relatively modern technology gives scientists the ability to change and swap the DNA make-up of any species. While this may seem like a breakthrough, it causes many problems for people who eat the modified food, for the plants that are changed, for the farmers who typically grow the original plants, and also for the environment. Another reason we should stop altering food is that no long-term tests have been done to see what side affects could occur, and in tests that have shown negative results these results are disregarded by the...   [tags: Genetically Engineered Foods]

Term Papers
1540 words (4.4 pages)

Toomer's Seventh Street, Depicts Life and Issues in the Prohibition Period

- Toomer's Seventh Street, Depicts Life and Issues in the Prohibition Period Toomer captures very deep thoughts in his writing in fairly simple language. The way he works his ideas into the text is amazing. In "Seventh Street," an excerpt from his larger work, Cane, Toomer blends ethnic ideas together while speaking about issues that involve the whole public spectrum. He begins with a four-line verse that draws the reader in and helps him to visualize the setting. Money burns the pocket, pocket hurts, Bootleggers in silken shirts, Ballooned, zooming Cadillacs, Whizzing, whizzing down the street-car tracks....   [tags: Toomer's Seventh Street Essays]

Term Papers
1006 words (2.9 pages)