Essay on We’ve Come a Long Way Baby!

Essay on We’ve Come a Long Way Baby!

Length: 1326 words (3.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

We’ve Come a Long Way Baby!
Some people might be of the opinion, ‘we’ve come a long way baby!’, when it comes to the subject of women's place with responsible roles in theater. And although women are still an underrepresented group as playwrights and directors, there have been great strides made in the last three centuries. There are theaters across the US that has dedicated themselves to producing plays written by women. It's an exciting time for new and upcoming women playwrights. Yes, the overwhelming majority of plays are still produced by men, and women are the majority of the theater going public, but I was still surprised find out that there were so many plays written and produced by women.
The theater has been a way out for women; it was a way to work up the social ladder, earn equal pay, and find independence. Women have reached the latest achievements as actresses than in any other art form and this remains so today. Acting is closely related to role-playing and ceremonies in society, the roles women way our reflection of the different ways that women function in society. Today theatrical performance is mainly used for fun and profit it makes no attempt at social bonding, after year and the spectrum of the "ritual/theater continuum" (Chinoy/Jenkins, 10), we find few women and more men. On the other hand, when we consider family and public performing events were social and religious bonding take place, we find women.
They are decorating parade floats, church interiors, schools, and homes; women manage decent perforations, sing in choirs, light candles and play the organ, guard order and dignity… these performance roles are the rights of women. This is helpful in understanding why there are so few women direct on...


... middle of paper ...


...en Playwrights”. Arts Beat NY Times Blog. March 2, 2011, http://artsbeat.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/03/02/katori-hall-wins-blackburn-prize-for-outstanding-women-playwrights/
Lauren Smart. “Echo Theatre continues to spotlight female playwrights”. Sun Daily Campus.18 February 2011. Web. 4 Mar 2011 http://www.smudailvalue.picturesque ycampus.com/a-e/echo-theatre-continues-to-spotlight-female-playwrights-1.2005108
Shruti Nambiar. “City playwright to get stage space in Washington”. India Express.26 Feb 2011. Web. 4 Mar 2011 http://www.indianexpress.com/news/city-playwright-to-get-stage-space-in-washington/754913/
Marsha Norman. “Not There Yet What will it take to achieve equality for women in the theatre?” Theatre Communications Group-American Theatre. Nov 2009. Web. 4 Mar 2011 http://www.tcg.org/publications/at/nov09/women.cfm#

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on The Long Term Effects Of The Baby Boom

- When first hearing this lecture I was astonished at the matter of fact that people would even want to increase human capital and not think of the long term effects this could have. The first example of increase of human capital that first came into my mind was the baby boom that happen in the 50’s post World War II. This human capital increase was completely unintentional and till this day it is still carrying its long term effects on the current working generation. In the event that this does happen intentionally such as in the case of Romania as stated in your lecture I do feel as though the government is incline to oversee the wellbeing of these people....   [tags: Human, Psychology, Family, English-language films]

Strong Essays
735 words (2.1 pages)

Essay on The Happiest Baby On The Block By Harvey Karp

- Parenting is a huge part of any person’s life, especially when it comes to becoming a new parent of an infant. For this paper, I decided to review the book “The Happiest Baby on the Block” by Harvey Karp. Summary The book “The Happiest Baby on the Block” first talks about the 4th trimester. Karp describes the 4th trimester by saying that new born babies are more like a fetus than they are an actual baby. It talks about how babies are not really ready to come out after 9 months, however, if they didn’t, they would not have enough room to make it out if they stayed in for another 3 months....   [tags: Infant, Pregnancy, Baby colic, Infancy]

Strong Essays
1292 words (3.7 pages)

I Got A Long Way Of Go Baby Essay

- Is happiness really found when you are finally swept off your feet by the love of your life like how women’s magazines describes. Everyday there are new women’s magazines that are set up on racks all over the world for the entertainment of many women. There are pages after pages about how we should look for a man, how to attract a man, or even how to satisfy a man. Women buying these magazines may then find these as positive and helpful tips but, many buy it without knowing the negative messages that indirectly implied in the those pages of tips that are written as a way to “help” them....   [tags: Woman, English-language films, Happiness, Female]

Strong Essays
905 words (2.6 pages)

Federal Baby Doll Rule Essay

- ... If parents or physicians decide to withhold treatment when the exceptions are not met, the parents and/or physicians can be held accountable for medical neglect. In 1988, “Baby Doe” Rules came into effect. “The term withholding of medically indicated treatment means the failure to respond to the infants life-threatening conditions by providing treatment which, in the treating physician’s reasonable medical judgment, will be most likely to be effective in ameliorating or correcting all such conditions, except that the term does not include the failure to provide treatment to an infant when, in the treating physician’s reasonable medical judgment any of the following circumstances apply” (...   [tags: newborn, congenital defects, baby]

Strong Essays
1161 words (3.3 pages)

Free College Essays - Self-discovery in She's Come Undone by Wally Lamb

- She's Come Undone: Self-discovery Throughout She's Come Undone, Wally Lamb emphasizes the importance of self-discovery to one's life. Dolores has several epiphanies throughout the course of the novel, including her realization that all of her failed relationships are not solely her fault. She learns she is worth loving and is capable of surviving on her own. With each discovery about herself, Dolores learns to love herself a little more and blame herself a little less. Dolores' first realization is a sub-conscious one....   [tags: She's Come Undone]

Free Essays
509 words (1.5 pages)

Essay on What Dreams May Come

- What Dreams May Come When mortality is contemplated, issues of life, death, and the hereafter are usually the first of a myriad of topics to spontaneously arise as if they are from the dark depths of a person's soul. I believe that this is most eloquently stated by Hamlet: For in that sleep of death what dreams may come, When we have shuffled off this mortal coil, Must give us pause. (III. i.) This passage served as inspiration for Richard Matheson, the author of the novel, What Dreams May Come....   [tags: What Dreams May Come]

Free Essays
698 words (2 pages)

Contemplating the End in Shaving and There Will Come Soft Rains Essay

- Contemplating the End in Shaving and There Will Come Soft Rains   What happens at the end. "Shaving" and "There Will Come Soft Rains" both address that issue, the first referring to the end of a man's life, the second to the end of humanity. Both ends come about through illness, whether that of a dying man or of a society that drives itself to suicide. The microcosm, the macrocosm- both show in their own way that man is mortal, that this too shall pass. The authors seem to have irreconcilable messages about humanity, which are in fact merely two faces of the same coin....   [tags: There Will Come Soft Rains Essays]

Strong Essays
1027 words (2.9 pages)

Symbolism in Desiree's Baby by Kate Chopin Essay

- Symbolism in Desiree's Baby by Kate Chopin "Desiree's Baby" is Kate Chopin's most well-known short story and most anthologized piece of work. The story takes place in southern Louisiana and her writing reflects her Creole-French descent. Chopin begins the story with a descriptive quote, "when she reached L'Abri she shuddered at the first sight of it, as she always did. It was a sad looking place...Big solemn oaks grew close to it and their thick leaved, far-reaching branches shadowed it like a pall" (185)....   [tags: Desiree's Baby Kate Chopin Essays Papers]

Strong Essays
941 words (2.7 pages)

Free College Essays - Self-Destruction in She's Come Undone by Wally Lamb

- She's Come Undone - Self-Destruction In She's Come Undone Wally Lamb addresses the effects of personal trauma on one's self-image and the propensity of survivors to move towards self-destruction. Dolores believes that she is the cause of all of her tragedies, including her rape and her mother's death, and that the one true evil in her life is herself. She convinces herself that she deserves whatever pain she may receive along the course of life. With each new hardship, her guilt is increased....   [tags: She's Come Undone]

Free Essays
455 words (1.3 pages)

Sugar Baby Simulation Essay

- This is my journal of the daily life of a single teenage mother. My experience with my sugar baby was so much fun, but I soon learned that it wouldn't be easy caring for a baby all day long every day. Day one began my journey, when I introduced Lauren Ashley to my friends and family. I fixed her curly brown hair up in a bow, and I put on her a newborn diaper. There were so many styles of diapers to choose from in the store; it was mind-boggling. She had the cutest little ears I had ever seen. It was very heavy carrying Lauren Ashley everywhere all over school, including my books....   [tags: Single Mother Baby Pregnancy]

Free Essays
1208 words (3.5 pages)