Ways to Improve High School Education for Young People Today Essay

Ways to Improve High School Education for Young People Today Essay

Length: 624 words (1.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The education we receive through-out our high school years is one of the most important. It is the last structured learning environment we are in before facing the “real world.” This next step into adulthood means a number of major changes in life, which can include going off to college, starting an entry-level job, independent living, or even having children. With so many major changes endured by young people today, the inclusion of additional classes teaching financial responsibility, more extensive sexual education, and directing students in which college degree to pursue would dramatically improve high school education.
One of the most important skills to posses as an adult is knowing how to be financially responsible. The reality of bill paying, building a credit history, and proper budgeting comes quickly with life after high school. A realistic expectation on the costs of bills in an average household would re-iterate the importance of a good career. Credit scores are of high importance when it comes to making large purchases and even when applying for jobs, therefore basic knowledge on credit reporting would be greatly beneficial. In 2012, a survey conducted by the Society for Human Resource Management revealed that 47 percent of employers used credit score reports when determining which applicant to hire (Rivlin). Budgeting properly can be a financial life-saver when you are just starting out on your own with a less than ideal income. Around 13% of people ages 18 to 29 end up moving back home with their parents (Dunn). Educating high school students on finances will help by creating a foundation for a more successful and independent lifestyle.
Today's education system, in general, lacks a strong conveyance of sexual edu...


... middle of paper ...


...e degree to pursue. With these teachings high school students will have a better understanding of where to go next in life and how to make better decisions when it is time to think more independently.


Works Cited

Concannon, Kevin. "What Does It Cost to Raise a Child?" United States Department of Agriculture. n.p, 14 August 2013. Web. 20 November 2013.
Dunn, Alan. "Failure to Launch: Adult Children Moving Back Home." Forbes. N.p., 6 June 2012. Web. 26 November 2013.
Plumer, Brad. "Only 27 Percent of College Grads Have a Job Related to Their Major." The Washington Post. N.p., 20 May 2013. Web. 26 November 2013.
Rivlin, Gary. "The Long Shadow of Bad Credit in a Job Search." The New York Times. The New York Times Company, 11 May 2013. Web. 26 November 2013.
"Sexual Risk Behavior." Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. N.p., 26 August 2013. Web. 26 November 2013.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

High School Special Education Teacher Essay

- As a future high school special education teacher I will not be working on phonemic and phonological awareness with early elementary readers. However, I will be working with students who are still learning these skills at the high school level. As an educator, I need to have a thorough understanding of phonological and phonemic awareness in order to implement creative ways to assist my students in learning and strengthening these skills within my classroom. In a perfect world I would not need to work on these strategies at the high school level, however, everyone learns at their own pace and I intent create a “linguistically rich environments in which written and spoken language are used to...   [tags: High school, Education, Phonological awareness]

Better Essays
1190 words (3.4 pages)

Essay about College Education Is More Than A High School Education

- In Society today it seems that the need for a college education is at a higher demand. Years ago a majority of the population was considered lucky to receive a high school degree. With the way jobs are today it can seem almost impossible to get a job without some type of training or college education. Today more than 20 million people are enrolled in college. This paper is going to explain how a college education is greater than a high school education or a general education development (G.E.D.) in many ways....   [tags: High school, Higher education, College, Education]

Better Essays
1650 words (4.7 pages)

Graduation Speech : High School

- When I was five years old, going to school seemed like going to a party all day. The majority of the day was filled with coloring pages, snack times, and playful games while lessons of numbers and letters were squeezed in between. Middle school proved to be slightly less enjoyable; the workload had significantly increased and with it added stress. However, the teachers still let us students out for a field day every chance they got. With cheerful memories of school years past and a backpack filled to the brim with supplies, I walked into Holt High School anticipating my last four years of public education as my greatest yet....   [tags: High school, Education, Learning, Teacher]

Better Essays
1216 words (3.5 pages)

High School : A Quality Education Essay

- A Quality Education in Oahu, Hawaii My first instinct is to say no, Kalani students do not receive a quality education. First, let us define a “quality education.” I think this involves caring educators, up-to-date resources such as boards and supplies, laptops, programs, specialized instruction resources, supportive environment, effective leaders, and involved families. At Kalani High school, most of these criteria are not successfully met. Students do not have access to the resources they need to compete in the job market....   [tags: Education, School, Teacher, High school]

Better Essays
1320 words (3.8 pages)

High School Education Is Becoming Essay

- Recent studies show, that a high school education is presently becoming less and less useful. It is stated, “Two-thirds of college professors report that what is taught in high school does not prepare students for college” (Broad, para.3). In high schools, many students see their education and teachers as a joke; they blame their attitudes on the teachers and administration in the high schools because they are too lenient. Students would take their high school education seriously if their teachers and administration were tougher on them and they would not try to get by....   [tags: Education, High school, School, Teacher]

Better Essays
1128 words (3.2 pages)

The Education Of High School Essay

- Have we been lied to as students the last four years at high school. To a degree, I believe high school didn’t prepare us students for college, but I don’t believe that the teachers that make up the classes, are out to get us students for no reason. High school is a place that improves the overall development of a students’ intellect, and is a time where students can figure out what they want to do in life. High school however does not prepare students in a number of ways. High school is obviously easier than what the college standard is set at....   [tags: Education, University, School, High school]

Better Essays
1286 words (3.7 pages)

Ways Of Plagiarizing Before & Now And The Originality Behind Essays

- Ways of plagiarizing before & now and the originality behind In today’s world plagiarism is taking over every academic institution in the United States. It’s defined as copying and stealing ideas, photos, and videos without giving credits to the author. Nowadays, people, especially college students have a lack of originality in their works because they rely on other’s idea or simple copying. There many ways why students before and now plagiarize and make it seem original, such as they finding someone else’s words will make their work better, and they will get a higher score on their assignments....   [tags: High school, College, Education, Plagiarism]

Better Essays
814 words (2.3 pages)

Essay on The Great Ways For A Student At High School

- In 1967, Nicholas Maclean-Bristol, founder of a small company called Project Trust, which is one of the first programs to specialize in organizing overseas gap year experiences sent three volunteers to Addis Ababa in Ethiopia. There the young volunteers got a chance to assist with building houses and received a chance to learn more about Ethiopia (AGA). The volunteers had the liberty to see a brand new country. Though seeing the world becomes further difficult if either school, work, money or marriage develops into a full-time matter in a person’s life....   [tags: High school, College, Twelfth grade, Gap year]

Better Essays
756 words (2.2 pages)

Analysis Of The Article ' Two Ways Of Viewing The River ' By Samuel Clemens

- High School Then, College Now On a recent visit home, I picked up my brother at our high school. Upon walking into Lincoln County High School, I could hear familiar sounds. Teachers were telling students to move, students were laughing and talking, and locker doors were closing. As I looked around, no one was there, and I realized these voices were from when I was in high school. In the article “Two Ways of Viewing the River” by Samuel Clemens, it brings to mind how our perspectives can change as we review things at different points in our lives (Wyrick 77-78)....   [tags: Education, University, College, High school]

Better Essays
795 words (2.3 pages)

Essay about Vocational Education Should Be High School

- When people hear “Vocational Education”, they tend to associate it with college as the optional education after high school. The emphasis on career preparation is placed in high schools, yet is left to one’s own independence to learn in college. One who decides not to attend college loses their opportunities to learn about the various careers offered outside of their comfort zone and usually having to settle for low-paying jobs or jobs they have no desire or passion for. These people are those whom others tend to refer to as “the people with no hope” because they do not know what they want to do with their life due to the little exposure or lack of knowledge on all the careers available to t...   [tags: High school, College, Secondary education]

Better Essays
1178 words (3.4 pages)