Water Melting Is A Precious Commodity Essay

Water Melting Is A Precious Commodity Essay

Length: 897 words (2.6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview


Katie Vetsch
Professor Tanya Vanderlinde
Composition 1
22 March 2015
Yucky Water
Water is a very precious commodity. It is used to hydrate, shower, cook, swim, wash clothes, clean, and many other things. “Approximately 98% of our water is salty and only 2% is fresh” (theguardian). “Out of that 2%, almost 70% is snow and ice, 30% is groundwater, less than 0.5% is surface water, and less than 0.05% is in the atmosphere” (theguardian). The world does not have a sustainable supply of clean, usable water.
Climate change does a great toll on the amount of clean and usable water resources. Warming climate causes polar ice to melt (theguardian). The effect of polar ice melting is that it becomes an unusable water source (theguardian). This is due to the fact that when it melts, it flows into the sea, making it salt water (theguardian). Salt water is not a clean, usable water source. “Another effect of warming is to increase the amount of water that the atmosphere can hold, which in turn can lead to more and heavier rainfall when the air cools” (theguardian). “Although more rainfall can lead to more fresh water resources, heavier rainfall leads to more rapid movement of water from the atmosphere back to the oceans, reducing our ability to store and use it” (theguardian). Rainfall replaces snowfall when the air is warmer, which when it is warmer, evaporation usually increases (theguardian). These higher climates also cause inland glaciers to melt (theguardian). “This will increase water supply to rivers and lakes in the short to medium term, but this will cease once the glaciers have melted” (theguardian). “The overall effect of climate change is an intensification of the water cycle, which will cause more extreme floods and droughts gl...


... middle of paper ...


...culture uses many chemicals that eventually end up in freshwater supplies.
There are many sets of cause and effect when it comes to having a sufficient water supply that is both clean and usable. There are also many ways that one can help into creating and maintaining that water supply. Many of the causes for a shortened supply can be completely avoided and fixed. The world does not have a sustainable supply of clean, usable water.











Works Cited
● "How Will Climate Change Impact on Fresh Water Security?" theguardian. 21 Dec. 2012. Web. 22 Mar. 2015.
● "Sources and Causes of Water Pollution - Conserve Energy Future."ConserveEnergyFuture. 15 Apr. 2013. Web. 22 Mar. 2015.
● "Water Conservation Tips - How to Save Water." Water Conservation Tips - How to Save Water. Web. 22 Mar. 2015.
● "Water Scarcity." WorldWildlife.org. World Wildlife Fund. Web. 22 Mar. 2015

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Water Of Americ A Neglected Commodity Essay

- Water in America: A Neglected Commodity Water may be the most vital resource for all life on Earth, yet only a marginal percent of it is drinkable. Water scarcity is not just a third world problem, but the need to conserve fresh is an issue that the United States is dealing with as well. The largest water reservoir in the United States, Lake Mead, water level reached a historic low in 2015 (Schwartz, 2015). In addition, Drought in California has forced the Governor Brown to issue a state of emergency in 2014....   [tags: Water, Drinking water, Water supply]

Strong Essays
1447 words (4.1 pages)

Essay about Water Is Precious And Limited

- Water is essential to all life forms and, without it, there would be no life on Earth. Fresh water is precious and limited. People, animals, and crops would die for lack of fresh water. The oceans support many species of plants and animal although we cannot use it without desalination. Studies show that the average American uses 176 gallons of water each day while the average African family uses only four gallons of water ("Water Facts | The Water Information Program"). If we do not limit our water consumption, we will eventually deplete our supply....   [tags: Water, Water resources, Plumbing, Bathtub]

Strong Essays
735 words (2.1 pages)

Water Is The Most Precious Source Of Life Essay

- Got Water. Water is the most precious source of life we have. As much as we want it to be infinite, it is the most scarce item we have. 70% of the Earth 's surface is covered in water, of that 70% only 3% is drinkable. 2% is trapped in glaciers located in cold areas such as the north and south pole, which we also do not use. Finally 1% is located in rivers and underground aqueducts, this is the source of fresh water we rely on. We use this one percent to supply 7.125 billion people in the world....   [tags: Water resources, Water, Drinking water]

Strong Essays
2370 words (6.8 pages)

Is Memory A Precious Commodity, An Amazing, Internal Gift? Essay

- Do This in Remembrance of Me Luke 22:7-20; Exodus 12:3-14; 24-27 Memory is a precious commodity, an incredible, internal gift. As I watch the effects of dementia slowing chipping away at my father’s body and mind, I realize that if there are any good aspects to be found in this condition, to me, is it the fact the oldest memories hold on longer while the recent slip away sooner. My father can still tell the same stories I grew up hearing; he can recall with pride his family’s history. While these old recollections are not as strong as they once were, and maybe not as accurate, at least they are still present in some form; they are still available....   [tags: Jesus, Christianity, Family, Alzheimer's disease]

Strong Essays
2589 words (7.4 pages)

Essay on Water Is Life Not A Commodity

- Water is Life not a Commodity As the sustenance for all humankind, animals, plants and other living organisms, Water is the greatest natural resources on this planet and it is becoming scarcer and more of a necessity. Water is a basic need and not a want in the same way that without air to breathe, cannot sustain life. Safe, clean water and good sanitation is a right. Therefore, the right to safe, clean water means the right to life. According to United Nations human rights are rights inherent to all human beings, whatever our nationality, place of residence, sex, ethnic origin, color, religion, language or any other status....   [tags: United Nations, Human rights, Human, Law]

Strong Essays
1188 words (3.4 pages)

A Psychodynamic Theorist Meeting With Precious Essay

- A psychodynamic theorist meeting with Precious would begin by assessing the strengths and challenges that she experiences through a series of interviews and discussions. Generally, this would include the client 's family, but in this case that would be inappropriate. The clinician would be sure to create a positive bond with the client, in a manner similar to that of person centered therapy. In fact, much of the intervention will be similar to, but more directive than, person centered theory. One method to assist Precious could be using Exploration/Description/Ventilation....   [tags: Family, Psychology, Behaviorism, Reinforcement]

Strong Essays
1067 words (3 pages)

The Problems of Glaciers Melting Essay

- ... Satellite altimetry measures ice sheet volume changes from laser and or radar altimeters. This can be converted to changes in mass by accounting for spatially and temporally varying surface density distribution coupled with spatial exploration of unsampled regions. Limitations of this method, similar to other scientific methods lie in the models used. A second method used is referred to as input-minus-output. Through this method scientists calculate the difference between the snow mass accumulation and meltwater discharge resulting in a mass imbalance....   [tags: ice, water, level, sea]

Strong Essays
632 words (1.8 pages)

The Importance of Bottled Water in the World Essay

- “The purpose of human life is to serve and to show compassion and the will to help others.” -Albert Schweitzer. Currently in the United States environmental activists are trying to ban bottled water. Their reasons are very understandable. Water bottles spend years in land waste facilities after being used, and this is bad for the environment, but, people depend on the manufacturing of bottled water. Through statistics, and people’s opinions, this article will show you the importance of water bottles and how people around the world are so dependent on bottled water, although this does not affect you or me....   [tags: commodity, job, environment]

Strong Essays
789 words (2.3 pages)

The Idea Behind Commodity Fetishism Essay

- The idea behind commodity fetishism is that the relationships that were once between people have been transferred over to the products of said people’s creation. The abstractness of the item’s economic value has somehow taken a tangible form that gives the item value through exchange rather than the labor required to produce it. The line between an item’s falsified intrinsic value and the labor that was required to make it has been obscured to the point that we exaggerate the value of the item. Eventually the item is more or less a sum of money in wait to be exchanged....   [tags: Value, Labor theory of value, Commodity fetishism]

Strong Essays
815 words (2.3 pages)

A Melting Planet Essay

- A Melting Planet Although most glaciers and ice sheets reside in areas that man does not inhabit, they are nevertheless important for society and the global environment. Due to anthropogenic activities over the past two centuries, the temperature of the earth is rising at an alarming rate. This rise in temperatures has resulted in an overall loss of ice mass worldwide, including a rapid depletion in mountain glaciers. The effects of glacial melt will have a significant impact on the future of the human race, so it is therefore important to have a firm understanding of glaciers....   [tags: Glaciers Ecology Essays]

Strong Essays
2383 words (6.8 pages)