Water Conservation and the Drought in America Essay examples

Water Conservation and the Drought in America Essay examples

Length: 3100 words (8.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

As we all know, water is essential for mankind's survival. However, people seem to believe that our water supply is endless since there is more water than land on this Earth. Water regenerates and is redistributed through evaporation, making it seem endlessly renewable. So why worry?

Actually, only one percent of the world's water has the capability of being used by us. About ninety-seven percent is salty seawater, and two percent is frozen in glaciers and polar ice caps. That only leaves one percent of the precious water that is to be used by not only people, but used by animals, plants, and food. Dehydration, which is the lack of water, will kill us faster than starvation, which is the lack of food. Since the plants and animals we eat also depend on water, lack of it could cause both dehydration and starvation. Water that looks drinkable can contain harmful elements, which could cause illness and death if ingested (Eliasson, 2011).

To further deplete our water scarce supply, natural disasters, such as floods, earthquakes, and tornadoes, pose a great peril. However, one natural disaster stands above the rest. This natural disaster is called a drought. Drought, in my opinion, is the worst natural disaster of all. It not only affects us with a dry weather and uncomfortable heat waves, it also affects agriculture, and even drastically change the way we live about (Eliasson, 2011).

That is why I, as a fellow inhabitant of Earth, urge people today to conserve water to combat the evils of drought. We, as people, must think of not only how this will affect us. But how it will affect our children- and even grandchildren. I would not like to merely “ask” people to conserve water, I would like to enforce them to d...


... middle of paper ...


...16_rw_membership_r1p_us_se_w#>.

Eliasson, Jan, and Susan Blumenthal. “Dying for A Drink of Clean Water.” Washington Post. The Washington Post, 20 Sept. 2011. Web. 3 Nov. 2014. .

Gleick, Peter. "The U.S. Is Years Behind the Rest of the World on Water Issues" Alternet. N.p., 20 Aug. 2009. Web. 3 Nov. 2014.

"How Does Drought Affect Our Lives?" National Drought Mitigation Center. Web. 3 Nov. 2014.


Postel, Sandra. “History of Drought and Water Conservation.” University of Nebraska , n.d. Web. 3 Nov. 2014.

Smith, Gar. “Water Wars,. Water Cures.” 1 May 2013: 24-25. Earth Island Journal. Web. 3 Nov. 2014.

"Tennessee Valley Authority." Tennessee Valley Authority. N.p., n.d. Web. 4 Nov. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Limitations and Drought Essay

- Limitations Writer Mike Lee of the Bloomberg News wrote an article about the use of water consumption in a Texas drought. After an intense drought in Texas, government officials for the first time, is limiting water consumption on natural gas producers. State regulators in Texas say 85 percent of drilled wells are being used towards fracking. Residents have voiced their concerns to the drilling companies saying fracking is contaminating their water and a few areas are concerned that fracking is using all of the water in that area (Lee)....   [tags: Water Consumption, Texas Drought, Water]

Term Papers
1699 words (4.9 pages)

Importance of Water Conservation Essay

- Water conservation is a serious issue around the country. Especially places like California, where it seems like they are in a drought every year. Everyone and everything needs water to survive. People are careless when it comes to conserving water, but little do they know that conserving water can make the world a better place. The world does not make itself clean, it is our job to do so. There are a number of different ways to save water that are quick and simple, and we should all apply them to our daily lives and homes....   [tags: Ways to Save Water]

Term Papers
568 words (1.6 pages)

The California Drought Of California Essay

- California Drought For about five years California has experienced above average temperatures and a lack of rain. This lack of rain and snowfall has caused California to become increasingly dry, starting arguments over whose right to water is more important and who needs to be more mindful with their use of water. Farming in California truly began during the gold rush when water was redirected to land where food was grown for those looking for gold (Siegler, 2015). The farmers that have stayed on that land now have senior water rights (“Water wars”, 2015)....   [tags: Water, Water resources, Water management]

Term Papers
1604 words (4.6 pages)

Water Of Americ A Neglected Commodity Essay

- Water in America: A Neglected Commodity Water may be the most vital resource for all life on Earth, yet only a marginal percent of it is drinkable. Water scarcity is not just a third world problem, but the need to conserve fresh is an issue that the United States is dealing with as well. The largest water reservoir in the United States, Lake Mead, water level reached a historic low in 2015 (Schwartz, 2015). In addition, Drought in California has forced the Governor Brown to issue a state of emergency in 2014....   [tags: Water, Drinking water, Water supply]

Term Papers
1447 words (4.1 pages)

Essay about Food Conservation

- What is food. Food is any matter consumed to obtain nutritional sustenance for the living organisms. It may be of animal or plant origin, usually consisting of nutrients like carbohydrates, fats, proteins, vitamins and minerals. It is orally ingested and after passing through a series of processes involving enzymatic actions it is assimilated and the energy obtained is used by the organism to carry out processes like growth, maintenance of life and carrying out physical activities....   [tags: Conservation]

Term Papers
3883 words (11.1 pages)

The Problems Created by The Current Drought in California Essay

- Are we coping with the current drought in California or are we just postponing the inevitable shortage of water. Californians need to be quick because if scientists are right, the harshness of the current drought is second only to that of the dust bowl. Some agencies have been created to find possible results to the water shortfall, the government has been manipulated to discover solutions to the problem as well as requesting that people conserve water. This could be the beginning of California’s many consecutive years of drought to occur and last spring and summer was one of the worst because it received the lowest amount of rain recorded and California’s reservoirs were at so low that they...   [tags: irrigation, canals, shortage of water]

Term Papers
868 words (2.5 pages)

The State Of California Is A Water Crisis Essay

- The state of California is in a water crisis. No, this is not the first time we have had an extended dry season or even a severe drought, but there is no reason why we should not treat it as though it could be the last time this state is afflicted by such an intense water shortage. Water shortages are only going to get more and more extreme here if we continue to stress our environment by sucking out every last drop of water it has to offer before it can be replenished. We need to properly monitor and manage water consumption throughout the state by allotting a sustainable amount of water to a finite number of residents....   [tags: Water resources, Water crisis, Water supply]

Term Papers
1174 words (3.4 pages)

Essay on The Severity of Drought in Califonia

- Are we coping with the current drought in California or are we just postponing the inevitable shortage of water. Californians need to be ready because if scientists are right, the severity of the current drought is second only to that of the dust bowl. Some agencies have been created to find possible solutions to the water shortage, the government has been directed to find solutions to the problem as well as requesting that people conserve water. This could be the first of California’s many consecutive years of drought to come and last spring and summer was one of the worst because it had the lowest amount of rain recorded and California’s reservoirs were at so low that they cannot help with...   [tags: crops, cost, source of income]

Term Papers
796 words (2.3 pages)

Water Shortage in California is Ruining the Farmers Essay

- Water is a precious resource. It is the lifeblood of every living thing on Earth. California is in the midst of a water crisis. Combined with a three (plus) year drought and many people moving into the state there is not enough water to support the crops the farmers need to grow. There is also a tiny little fish that is causing a mess in the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta. The Delta water pumps were turned off to prevent the extinction of the tiny little fish. Some farmers have to let their fields sit idle for the fall and spring planting season....   [tags: Water Scarcity]

Term Papers
1330 words (3.8 pages)

The Inevitable Water Shortage in America’s Future Essays

- The same dream again.  It had been haunting him for weeks now.  Always the same.  Water.  Fresh water.  Drinkable water.  He got out of bed slowly, his stillsuit itching in that one certain spot again, and went to his refrigeration unit.  What flavor do I want this morning?, he thought to himself.  Eggs Benedict.  He opened the top of the squeeze tube and gulped the yeast solution down. All the troubles had begun in the year 2010 when Aldo was in his first year of college.  The first of many droughts had hit the Southwestern United States of America due to excessive use of the Colorado River.  Few had died in that one, but it was just a child compared to the trials to come....   [tags: Drinking Water Shortage]

Free Essays
3279 words (9.4 pages)