War in Iraq Essay

War in Iraq Essay

Length: 1175 words (3.4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

For the past eight or nine years, the United States has continually sent troops overseas to the Middle East, but why? The government has said that it is to fight terrorism or to bring democracy to the Middle Eastern nations. There happens to be a barrier that stands in the way of both those goals and that would be Islamic Fundamentalism. Islamic Fundamentalism is the term used to describe the religious ideologies of advocating a return to the “fundamentals” of Islam. Through this return to the Islamic fundamentals, the rights of women have been violated while acts of terrorism and suicides increase. Also, there has been an increase in resistance to the United States occupation. With this increase of resistance the death toll of United States armed forces have sky rocketed. The solution to this problem would have to be one that begins with the removal of all foreign troops from the Middle East.
To begin, the major cause for resistance of the Islamic countries is the foreign occupation of countries like Iraq. This occupation occurred due to terrorists flying planes that had been high jacked into the Twin Towers and the World Trait Center. The occupation then began when former President Bush declared a war on terrorism and sent troops over to the Middle East. The choice to send troops to the Middle East sent the United States of a journey that has seen much misery do to the misunderstandings of President Bush and how he refused to see that this Islamic terrorism had some sort of religious purpose (Zakariya). For the terrorism against the United States to stop, the troops must be withdrawn. When this withdrawal takes place it will show that there is a better way to solve a problem, like terrorism, can be finished without using viol...


... middle of paper ...


...points:
Terrorism. Ed. Mike Wilson. Detroit: Greenhaven Press, 2009. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. Gale. Web. 5 May. 2010
Brownback, Sam. “Iran Violates Woman’s Rights.” Opposing Viewpoints: Rogue Nations. Ed.
Louise Gerdes. Detroit: Greenhaven Press, 2006. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. Gale. Web. 5 May. 2010
"Ocupation Enduring Freedom." iCasualties. Web. 11 May 2010.


Pape, Scott McConnell Interview. “Foreign Occupation Is the Primary Cause of Suicide Terrorism.” Opposing Viewpoints: Suicide. Ed. Jacqueline Langwith. Detroit: Greenhaven Press, 2008. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. Gale. Web. 5 May 2010

Roy, Saberi. "Islam, Islamic Fundamentalsim and Islamic Terrorism." Global Politician, 12 June 2007. Web. 5 May 2010.

Zakariya, Fareed. "Foreign Occupation Has Produced Radical Muslim Terrorism." Juan Cole.
Web. 5 May 2010.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The War Of The Iraq War Essay

- The Iraq War which started in 2003, and last until 2011 has in a sense been restarted. Which means in the past thirteen years American troops have been involved in operations in Iraq for all but three. The cost of the Iraq War has sky rocketed into the trillions, and the loss of lives into the Thousands, and the effects of the Iraq War will be felt for a long time. Entering Iraq has caused Americans to set a precedents about our policy and moral standing, that we greatly shape our future endeavors and policies towards foreign nations....   [tags: Iraq War, 2003 invasion of Iraq, Iraq]

Strong Essays
2013 words (5.8 pages)

The Declaration Of The Iraq War Essay

- The America synonymous with liberty and freedom, the America envisaged by our forefathers, is an idealised society far from the current reality of our own. These fundamental ideals, which many blinded Americans would attest their government to be ardent followers of, were made irrelevant by a government desperate to consolidate its power and further its agenda. Nothing stopped the American people engaging in George W Bush’s crusade, without a modicum of doubt or time to question his intentions, we followed him into battle from our vantage point in front of our televisions....   [tags: Iraq War, United States]

Strong Essays
1031 words (2.9 pages)

The Iran Iraq War Of Iran Essay

- Countries engage in war for reasons that may often seem to have simple solutions. At first glance, reasons for war can seem petty or pompous. In fact however, the steps to war often are complex and deep, shrouded in history, cultural clashes and religious disputes. The Iran-Iraq war of the 1980’s for instance locked the two nations in conflict for nearly eight years, costing nearly half a million Iraqi and Iranian soldiers, and an equivalent number of civilians their lives, with no real resolution to the dispute....   [tags: Iran, Iraq, Iran–Iraq War, Saddam Hussein]

Strong Essays
2353 words (6.7 pages)

Essay on The Iran Iraq War : Iran

- The Iran-Iraq War: The Iran-Iraq War occurred from 22 September 1980 to 20 August 1988. The conflict was a conventional war fought by two different states: the Islamic Republic of Iran and the Iraqi Republic. Notably, two key non-state actors participated in the war: Iran 's government found allies in the oppressed Iraqi Kurdish ethnic group, who fought in conjunction with Iranian offensives. Iraq aligned itself with the Mujaheddin of Iran, who opposed the Iranian government. The conflict took place along the Iran-Iraq border, in South-West Asia....   [tags: Iran, Iraq, Iran–Iraq War, Saddam Hussein]

Strong Essays
1063 words (3 pages)

Essay about The Iraq War From The View Of The Iraqis

- The Iraq war from the view of the Iraqis in Turtles Can Fly The movie, Turtles Can Fly, is about the fall of Saddam Hussein and the time going until the second Iraq war is to begin. They follow a group of orphans struggling to survive the war. Waiting for the American soldiers to come and give a better life. Showing what refugees had to go through during those times. The kids making a living by disarming and selling mines to arms dealers nearby. Most movies in today times do not show the point of view of the minority groups....   [tags: Iraq War, Iraq, 2003 invasion of Iraq]

Strong Essays
734 words (2.1 pages)

The Iraq War On Terror Essay

- The Iraq War, our government’s invasion dubbed “Operation Iraqi Freedom,” had finally arrived after declaring war on March 19, 2003. The U.S.-British coalition to invade Iraq and remove Hussein’s dictatorship has been both a beneficial and damaging political effort. A war that began because of Hussein’s unwillingness to participate in weapons inspections became a messy situation that would last over a decade. President George W. Bush announced his trademark “War on terror” and, as a result, invaded Iraq on the grounds that Hussein was hiding weapons of mass destruction which threatened world security....   [tags: Iraq War, George W. Bush, 2003 invasion of Iraq]

Strong Essays
1060 words (3 pages)

Essay on War in Iraq

- 1. There was very little evidence and the United States acted prematurely. The evidence itself is confusing and somewhat misleading. As we look on the invasion many Americans were very enthusiastic about going to war with Iraq. However, we’re not trying to think about why we were not there or trying to justify other than speculate the following reasons. Did Iraq have weapons of mass destruction or was the United States to find about their military power. Possibly, the United States was trying to eliminate Saddam and his regime to promote democracy and peace....   [tags: war, Iraq, USA, ]

Free Essays
467 words (1.3 pages)

Unjust Iraq War Essay

- The Iraq war has been a very sensitive and divisive issue in today's society. Although we can not ignore the cloud around this administration when it comes to potential incentives that going to war presented, (such as oil for profits and retaliation to Saddam Hussein for the Gulf War and treatment of President Bush Sr.), I will look beyond these potential motives to explain why the U.S. involvement in the Iraq War was unjust simply because it doesn't fall into any of the four functions of force authored by Robert J....   [tags: US History Iraq War]

Strong Essays
1471 words (4.2 pages)

The War in Iraq Essay

- Pick up any newspaper or point your web browser to any major or minor news publication and questions like these will be all over them. A lot of Americans feel that the War on Terror and our presence in Iraq has lasted too long. Are they correct. Should we pull out and call it quits. Should we have another repeat of the Vietnam War. Believe it or not, that's how a lot of people view this war, as another Vietnam. They feel that we are out there, putting the American nose into something that shouldn't be picked....   [tags: Argumentative Persuasive Iraq War Terror]

Free Essays
1659 words (4.7 pages)

The Truth About The War In Iraq Essay

- The Whole Truth about the Iraq War For my first peace paper I went to the Ritz East movie theater on September 30th to watch the movie "Uncovered: The Whole Truth about the Iraq War." This is a movie whose mission was to reveal the lies that have been told to the American people by the Bush Administration. The majority of the audience seemed to me to be democrats or at least people who opposed the war in Iraq and the Bush Administration....   [tags: Film Movie Iraq War]

Free Essays
1267 words (3.6 pages)