The Virginia Tech Incident: Developing Hindsight to Prevent Future Incidents

The Virginia Tech Incident: Developing Hindsight to Prevent Future Incidents

Length: 1792 words (5.1 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

“I fear for my life and the lives of others on campus. I do not believe that this student is mentally sound” (Hoeft). Life is a precious thing; one may not realize how important it is until they are faced with a threat on their mortality. More than thirty of Virginia Tech’s students were faced with that mortality on April 16, 2007, when Seung-Hui Cho murdered them with two semiautomatic handguns, and then he killed himself. Many problems lead to this unfortunate event, and many people seem to blame the school. Lynn Daggett, a Professor at the Gonzaga University School of Law, states, “Schools struggle with whether, when, and how to involve the police, both when students appear to present a threat to others, as in these high profile cases, and also when the school suspects a student of criminal behavior” (Daggett). This paper will discuss the Virginia Tech incident in hindsight, and elaborate on the lack of police involvement, sharing of student information, and how can this data keep these events from reoccurring.
In order to understand this paper, one needs to know what the Virginia Tech incident entailed. Seung-Hui Cho was a disturbed student who did not receive enough psychological assistance for his issues. As mentioned before, on April 16, 2007, Seung-Hui Cho was the murder of what The New York Times reported as “the deadliest shooting rampage in American History”(Hauser). Cho murdered thirty-three people; many of the victims were students, who were shot in a dorm or classroom. The New York Times report, by Christine Hauser and Anahad O’Connor, went over the horrendous event; “The killings occurred in two separate attacks on the campus in Blacksburg, Va.” Around 7:15 am the first attack took place, two people were shot and k...


... middle of paper ...


... Hall, and W. Gerry Gilmer. "Connecting the Dots...: Information
Sharing By Post-Secondary Educational Institutions under the Family Education Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA)." Education & the Law 20.4 (2008): 301-316. Academic Search Complete. Web. 13 May 2014.

Hauser, Christine, and Anahad O'Conner. "Virginia Tech Shooting Leaves 33 Dead." The
New York Times. The New York Times Company, 16 Apr. 2007. Web. 9 May 2014.

Hoeft, Mary. "Professors in the Crosshairs." Inside Higher Ed. Inside Higher Ed, 24 Feb.
2011. Web. 26 Mar. 2014.

Martínez, Louis E. "The Police Response to Critical Incidents in Academic Institutions."
Journal of Police Crisis Negotiations 12.1 (2012): 69-77. SocINDEX with Full Text. Web. 26 Mar. 2014.

Roy, Lucinda. "Prologue, Chapter 1, Chapter 2." No Right to Remain Silent: The Tragedy
at Virginia Tech. New York: Harmony, 2009. 1-61. Print.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Tech Schooling Essay examples

- When plumbing goes bad, hair needs cutting, or the car goes on the fritz, who is going to get the call. Most people will answer “the plumber, the stylist, or the auto repair place down the road at Wal-Mart.” That answer is mostly correct. Although, the focus needs to be on how those people got where they are today. These people, who do so much work for us every single day, need to get some consideration. In most cases they would have gone to a vocational high school or technical college. These are special schools in which students learn the exact skills they need to complete their desired career in an accelerated period of time....   [tags: Education, Vo-Tech High Schools]

Better Essays
2000 words (5.7 pages)

Future Tech's New Company President Essay

- The search for Future Tech’s new company president is an important task. As our name implies, we are focused on the future. We have been successful for the past 25 years, but it is now time to usher in a new way of thinking. We not only want to focus on our productivity and profit, but also on the well-being of our employees. Our organization has a goal to change the future of the way that organizations function. Great importance is put on the people of the organization and how we can work together to make our business, as well as our lives, better through our interactions....   [tags: Productivity, Profit, Advancements, Leadership]

Better Essays
1087 words (3.1 pages)

Ways To Prevent Future Foreclosure Crisis Essay

- I am a resident of Detroit, Michigan and witness to the impact of having a high foreclosure rate. I understand that the foreclosure rate in Michigan is a direct link to the high unemployment rate in Michigan. Although, I relate my essay to Michigan it relates to the economy and foreclosures in general. Next to Michigan, the state of Nevada is has the second highest foreclosure rate. So, homeowners are losing their homes throughout the country. We need to have more job resources. Our economy was relying heavily on the auto industry and banks....   [tags: US Economy]

Better Essays
1039 words (3 pages)

My Past, Present & Future Self in Hyderabad and the United States Essay

- Making my way through the crowded streets of Hyderabad (India), I arrive at the door step of a bakery shop. I have picked up some freshly baked sweet rolls for breakfast. My family really enjoys breakfast the day sweet rolls with jelly and warm milk are on the menu. Over breakfast, my family usually discusses any important events of the day ahead. Most families in India create a strong sense of family bond and aim to instill good values in their children. In this paper, I will be shedding some light on my past and present experiences....   [tags: India, future, biography,]

Better Essays
1049 words (3 pages)

Government Acts to Prevent Future Terrorist Attacks Essay

- Government Acts to Prevent Future Attacks On September 11, 2001, a sequence of organized suicide attacks, conducted by al-Qaeda, occurred around 8 o’clock that morning. Earlier that morning, the four commercial passenger jet airliners, that were later crashed into buildings, were hijacked by nineteen al-Qaeda terrorists. These terrorists intentionally crashed two of the planes into the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center in New York City. The third was crashed into the Pentagon in Arlington, VA, and the fourth plane was crashed into a field in Pennsylvania....   [tags: Safety, Security, Programs]

Better Essays
1417 words (4 pages)

Life Lessons in Yulisa Amadu Maddy’s No Past, No Present, No Future Essay

- Life Lessons in Yulisa Amadu Maddy’s No Past, No Present, No Future An age-old cliché states that one really never appreciates what he or she has until it is gone. Does this mean that nobody has ever truly appreciated the gift of life while living. Such an assumption cannot easily be made because no one can truly know the experiences or feelings. One can only try to understand by relating it to personal experience. On the other hand, this cliché would seem to explain the changes that people undergo as a result of a close brush with death....   [tags: Death Maddy No Past Present Future Essays]

Free Essays
1020 words (2.9 pages)

T.S. Eliot's The Waste Land and Yulisa Maddy’s No Past No Present No Future

- Death and Dying in T.S. Eliot's The Waste Land and Yulisa Maddy’s No Past No Present No Future I am immortal. Although I realize that I will die, I don’t believe it. The fear of death motivates me to ignore my mortality and, in motivating me to ignore, allows me to live a jaded, happy life. If death were a predominant thought, then appreciating life would seem difficult—unless of course I changed my name to Harold. Everyone confronts the idea of death sooner or later; different people just deal with death in different ways....   [tags: Eliot Wasteland Maddy Future Present Past Essays]

Free Essays
1224 words (3.5 pages)

Tech Geek Essay

- I have always been a little bit of a "tech geek". Not the "I-can-hack-into-my-school-district's-payroll-department-and-give-myself-a-raise" type of techie, but I do have a love affair with gadgets and computers. Because of this, I'm trying to increase the use of technology in my classroom. This journey started with trying to teach my kids how to use software tools like Comic Life, Keynote and Pages as well as bookmarking hundreds of websites that enrich the curriculum we explore. All of this hard work has lead to some frustration because for the most part these tech integrations were one-time affairs....   [tags: Educational Technology ]

Better Essays
1811 words (5.2 pages)

Hindsight Bias Essay

- Hindsight Bias "Oh, I shouldn't have missed that question, I knew the answer." No I didn't, I just thought I did. I just further proved the concept of the Hindsight Bias, or the "I knew it all along phenomenon." This concept came about in the late seventies when psychologists Paul Slovic and Baruch Fischoff began studying how scientific results and historical happenings always seem like common sense to people when in fact , they had no idea. Once people find out something has happened, it seems inevitable that the event happened....   [tags: Papers]

Better Essays
520 words (1.5 pages)

The Future Is Wild: A Natural History Of The Future Essay

- The Future is Wild: A Natural History of the Future The Future is Wild is a very interesting book as it provides us with a peek into the planet earth 200 million years from now. However, the most fascinating aspect of this book is how the authors rely on the knowledge of the past to build the image of the future. This logical linkage between the known past and the mysterious future takes our imagination to its limit, and yet does not cross the limits of our reasoning and logic. The book begins by explaining briefly the history of the planet earth and the frequent patterns of evolution in order to set up the readers’ minds, and then it jumps smoothly five, a hundred, and two hundred million...   [tags: The Future is Wild Book Review]

Free Essays
908 words (2.6 pages)