Vince Carter: NBA Basketball Player or Community Leader? Essay

Vince Carter: NBA Basketball Player or Community Leader? Essay

Length: 1674 words (4.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Lamar Carter known to all as, Vince Carter, was born on January 26.1977 in Daytona Beach, FL. Carter became an extraordinary leader at a young age. Carter used his talent to gain fame and fortune so that he could give back to his community and the less fortunate.
During his years at Campbell Middle School he was the only seventh grader to ever play on the Varsity Basketball team, not only was he on the team but he was a starter on the team. While at Mainland High school he was captain of the Volleyball Team, member of the Marching Band and is known to be the most gifted basketball player to grace their court. Vince was also awarded McDonald’s All-America and was voted Florida’s 1995 Basketball Player-of-the-Year.
After graduating with Honors in 1995 from Mainland, Vince was voted onto the USA Junior National Team where he played in the World Championship. After choosing from 76 scholarship offers he decided to attend the University of North Carolina, from 1995 through 1998. During this time Vince continued to surpass and received the Statistical Leader Award for two years in a row and took the Tarhells to the Final Four two times where he was the leading scorer in both games. In addition to that, he earned the best field goal percentage and the defensive player of the year awards. Just when he thought he couldn’t possibly earn another award he was chosen to be one of the five finalists for the prestigious, John Wooden Award and also received the National Player of the Year Award.
In 1998, Vince’s was chosen to be the fifth selection in the National Basketball Association (NBA) draft. He was selected by the Golden State Warriors but was immediately traded to the Toronto Raptors where he joined his cousin Tracy McGrady. Durin...


... middle of paper ...


... News-Journal (FL) - 1, Aug 2001: 01A. News Bank Info web Daytona Beach Community College Library, FL Web. 6 Nov. 2010 http://go.dbc.edu/library/
Smart money on priorities - Volusia will steer resources to greatest social services
need.” Daytona Beach News-Journal (FL) - 8, Mar 2009: 11A. News Bank Info web Daytona Beach Community College Library, FL Web. 5 Nov. 2010 http://go.dbc.edu/library/
"Vince Carter - Hoopedia." Main Page - Hoopedia. Web. 01 Dec. 2010. .
VinceCarter15.com | Official Site of Vince Carter." VinceCarter15.com | Official Site of Vince Carter. N.p., n.d. Web. 7 Nov. 2010. .
Watkins, Michael J. "Black Biography: Vince Carter." Answers.com: Vince Carter. Web. 23 Nov. 2010. .

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Michael Jordan versus Vince Carter Essay

- Michael Jordan versus Vince Carter In today's society athletes are inevitably compared to one another, especially basketball players. It seems that every time a young player enters the NBA and demonstrates above average talent or has one spectacular game he is dubbed the next Michael Jordan. Vince Carter is one such athlete, however his comparisons to Michael have some validity. There are numerous similarities between Carter and Jordan, however Carter has yet to prove himself the next Michael Jordan....   [tags: Papers]

Free Essays
735 words (2.1 pages)

The National Basketball Association ( Nba ) Essay

- The National Basketball Association (NBA) is a professional basketball league teams in North America. The league was founded in New York City on June 6 1946. The men basketball team which is the most successful of it has 30 franchised member club, it has 29 of it in the United States and one in Canada. And the sub branch which is for women is called the WNBA(Women National Basketball Team). CURRENT SOCIAL MEDIA The current media techniques employed by the NBA is there own very site which is (http://www.nba.com/) The NBA also uses twitter to promote and advertise its products and games and which currently have 15.9millions followers and the players also have twitter account which they used...   [tags: Basketball, National Basketball Association]

Powerful Essays
1950 words (5.6 pages)

Essay on A Spiritual Basketball Leader

- Phil Jackson is a well-known man in the basketball world, as a championship coach and leader. Not only for his knowledge of basketball was he considered great, it was also for his use of alternative spiritual methods to assist his coaching. Through his Naturalist and Pantheist worldview he left a legacy of a role model. Phil Jackson’s money and career, views about the nature of God, and family are ultimately shaped by his worldview of Naturalism and Pantheism. Comparing my worldview of Christianity to Phil Jackson’s family, career, and nature of God, we will determine whether the role model status is relevant to how I perceived a role model....   [tags: Phil Jackson, notorious coaches of the NBA]

Powerful Essays
656 words (1.9 pages)

Basketball Players And The Nba Player Essay

- Professional basketball players in todays present day have been paid in the millions ranging from one million up to twenty five million a year. A million dollar is for an average pro basketball player and up to twenty five million for the superstars such as Kobe Bryant and Lebron James. More players in the NBA are being paid for their performance whereas overseas teams will pay to get any NBA player. Overseas teams will double an NBA player’s salary in order for them to play in their country because it will give them an advantage when they play in their league....   [tags: National Basketball Association, Boston Celtics]

Powerful Essays
831 words (2.4 pages)

Michael Jordan and Basketball Essay

- Basketball is one of the most popular sports in America, and only a few of the NBA stars are considered great. There is only one they call the greatest, with six national championships, and 5 MVPs under his name. Michael Jordan could play basketball so many ways he could make an opponent look bad by just passing the ball. Every fan and every announcer loved to say the name “Michael Jordan” or also known as “M.J.” Jordan was the talk of the country, every kid or fan wanted to have his autograph or basketball card....   [tags: NBA, Chicago Bulls, Professional Basketball]

Powerful Essays
1060 words (3 pages)

Magic Johnson More than an Average Athlete Essay example

- Magic Johnson More than an Average Athlete In my life, I had many people who I really admire from Tiger Woods, Michael Jordan, Sean Carter (Jay-z), and Robert Johnson. Others who have influenced me in my development of a person were my parents; my mother and my father were there for everything I have done in my life. The person who I model myself after is Earvin Johnson jr. also known as Magic Johnson. There are many reasons why but all really point to him defeated in adversity in many facets of life....   [tags: Basketball athlete hero role model]

Free Essays
1159 words (3.3 pages)

The Basketball Association of America and the National Basketball League History

- The Basketball Association of America came from a league in North America, 1946; being one out of three professional basketball organizations. The Basketball Association of America (BAA) and another basketball organization, National Basketball League (NBL), formed together to become the National Basketball Association (NBA). Surprisingly, they came together after being big rivals, and fighting for three years over who gets the better players and the most fans to watch the action and most likely to see how much profit they can make from the basketball games....   [tags: hoop, national basketball, nba, ]

Powerful Essays
1227 words (3.5 pages)

Essay on Rules on the Game of Basketball

- Do you remember growing up and you had to obey mommy and daddies rules. “sit up straight while you’re eating. Don’t sit too close towards the television. Stop being selfish with your belongings.” Meanwhile as you get older you follow the rules of being in a daycare, classroom, work environment, and society. To be able to know your rules it allows you to know your boundaries on what can you do and what you cannot do. So we encounter rules in our everyday lives even in sports. In sports we need rules in order to play the game correctly and for our safety....   [tags: basketball, nba, james naismith, wnba]

Powerful Essays
820 words (2.3 pages)

Michael Jordan and Basketball Essay

- A former American professional basketball player and known as the greatest basketball player of all time, Michael Jordan.He was born in Brooklyn; New York and later moved to North Carolina. He was also known with the nickname “Air Jordan” and “His Airness.” MJ, son from James Jordan and Deloris was married to Juanita Vanoy in September 1989. Jordan had two sons,Jeffrey Michael and Marcus James and a daughter, Jasmine Mickael. But Vanoy divorced him in February 2002. Michael Jeffrey Jordan started his career playing at the college basketball league for the University of North Carolina....   [tags: chicago bulls, nba titles]

Powerful Essays
906 words (2.6 pages)

Kevin Durant: Basketball Player Essays

- I am doing my successful person report over Kevin Durant, because, he has played a dominant role in carrying the Thunder Basketball team and represents Oklahoma City in a great way. Kevin Durant has been a huge impact on the court and in the public as he soars for the dunk from the free-throw line to amaze the crowd, he also volunteers at various organizations and remains humble despite his numerous accolades such as, three time NBA scoring champion, rookie of the year, and helped Team USA win the gold medal at the Olympics....   [tags: NBA, Oklahoma, Olympics]

Powerful Essays
573 words (1.6 pages)