Essay on Victims of Police Brutality: What would You Do?

Essay on Victims of Police Brutality: What would You Do?

Length: 1997 words (5.7 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

What would you or someone you love was a victim of police brutality? Would you report it, fight it, or go on as if nothing happened? Despite research studies proving that the use of police brutality is a part of self-defense for the law enforcement, others opponents disagree on this research and feel they’re abusing their authority and using excessive force.
Police brutality has been around for decades. In the 1960’s, African Americans were seeking to declare their rights to vote, march, or enter desegregated school caused conflicts with the white Americans and were trying to deny any Black citizen from joining anything that included white citizens, but because the African Americans knew that violence was not the answer to their problems, they took it to the streets peacefully until law enforcements started corrupting their legal protesting’s. When civil rights leaders such as Martin Luther King Jr. and Malcom X led nonviolent marches to protect equal rights, law enforcements did not take the marches kindly. In the south, police departments were violent to these demonstrators, such as back in 1963 in Birmingham, Alabama, they beaten the demonstrators, sprayed high-pressure fire hoses, and attacked them by using police dogs. At Selma, Alabama, local and state police attacked the civil rights demonstrators that were marching peacefully, using the same harmful techniques as the officers in Birmingham. More than 100 people were injured on what was known as “Bloody Sunday”. (“Police Brutality”, Feb.) Police forces were mostly white in the mid-20th century, and were in charge of patrolling black neighborhoods that were mistreated by the city government. Many of the local residents faced harassment from the white officers and said ...


... middle of paper ...


...ting me and my family and I hope they wouldn’t let me down in any situation.


Works Cited
“Americans’ Opinions of The Police (sidebar).” Issues & Controversies On File: n. pag. Issues & Controversies. Facts On File News Services, 17 May 1996. Web. 26 Mar. 2014.
“Judge narrows Occupy Wall Street protesters’ claim vs NY police.” Reuters. Issues & Controversies. Facts On File News Services. 27 Nov.2013. Web. 9 Apr. 2014.
“Police Brutality.” Issues & Controversies. Facts On File News Services, 24 Feb. 2014. Web. 26 Mar. 2014.
“Police Brutality.” Issues & Controversies. Facts On File News Services, 24 June 2010. Web. 24 Mar. 2014.
“Police Use of Force.” National Institute of Justice. 20. Jan. 2012. Web. 14 Apr. 2014.
“Standing Up Against Abuse.” UWIRE Text 14 Mar. 2014: 1. Academic OneFile. Web. 26 Mar. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Police Brutality And Racial Profiling Essay

- Police brutality and racial profiling dates back to the 1700’s in the United States(Rushing). Unfortunately, such treatment by police continues today when police are expected to hold the civic duty to protect and serve. Mistreatment by police is just the start in most cases, when citizens fight back it becomes “brutal”. Police brutality by definition means “The use of any force exceeding that reasonably to accomplish a lawful police purpose.” Police brutality can occur in many different ways with the most common being physical harm....   [tags: Police brutality, Police, Police officer, Abuse]

Term Papers
1408 words (4 pages)

Essay on Police Brutality And Crime Brutality

- “It 's been rough for me trying to find my position in the struggle and where my voice is needed and helpful. You know, I grew up in Philadelphia, and Philadelphia has a really rough police-brutality history. I grew up in a neighborhood where it was very clear that the police were "them" and we were "us".” said famous actor Will Smith. This quotation is very powerful to me, because with Will Smith being at his status where he is today, I would suspect him not to be the “typical” target for police brutality....   [tags: Police, Police brutality, Police officer, Abuse]

Term Papers
1515 words (4.3 pages)

Police Brutality Of Police Abuse Essays

- For many years in the past, police action particularly police abuse, has come to be unclear. Citizens are worried about protecting them from criminals. In fact they need to me aware of the corrupt police officers that are in the streets today as well as the criminals. There are many examples that make police brutality the worst as it is today. This one is one of them. Police Officer Daniel is in the choke hold death of Eric Garner, come in the wake if November 15th by the channel 24 news in Ferguson Missouri, police officer would walk free after killing 10 year old Michael Brown....   [tags: Police brutality, Police, Police officer]

Term Papers
1204 words (3.4 pages)

Essay about Police Brutality And The Police

- There has been controversy in the world about police brutality and whether police have used excessive force to apprehend a subject is increasing. Police brutality has been around for a long time, but it just now televised. In the late 19th century, the issue of police brutality was often tied to business owners’ efforts to break up strikes by workers attempting to organize and form labor unions, also on a day known as Bloody Sunday where a group of peaceful protesters were literally beaten to the ground, sprayed with tear gas, and water hose by the police (“Police Brutality”)....   [tags: Police brutality, Police, Police officer]

Term Papers
1341 words (3.8 pages)

Police Brutality : A Police Officer Essay

- Police Brutality Have a police officer ever abused a family member of yours. Police brutality affects communities by lost of trust in police officers. Victims and witnesses of crimes are much less likely to report crimes. Which brings problems to our communities. In this research paper, readers will understand when a police officer who uses force when it is not called for, or who uses excessive force to perform his or her job, have crossed the line into police brutality. Police brutality remains one of the most serious and divisive human rights violations in the United State....   [tags: Police brutality, Police, Police officer, Abuse]

Term Papers
1077 words (3.1 pages)

Police Brutality And The Police Essay

- Over the years, this country has witnessed many cases of police brutality. It has become a controversial topic among communities that have seen police brutality take place in front of their homes. Officers are faced with many threatening situations everyday forcing them to make split second decisions and to expect the worst and hope for the best. Police officers are given the power to take any citizens rights away and even their lives. With that kind of power comes responsibility, that’s one major concern with the amount of discretion officers have is when to use force or when to use lethal force....   [tags: Police brutality, Police, Rodney King]

Term Papers
1515 words (4.3 pages)

Police Brutality Is Not A New Issue Essay

- Police officers make split-second decisions every time they interact with a suspect. These decisions can impact the lives of the officers, the suspects, and even civilians. Therefore, officers must decide when it is necessary to exert violent or lethal force to subdue a suspect. When the police use force, it can result in the death of the suspect or witnesses. However, failing to apply force in a confrontation, can endanger the officer or allow the suspect to allude police custody. Officers receive training in observing a situation and reading body language, so that they can assess a suspect’s threat....   [tags: Police, Police brutality, Violence]

Term Papers
1230 words (3.5 pages)

Police Brutality Is True And Accurate Essay

- My position on police brutality today remains neutral and it will always remain neutral because I could never know what is true and what is false. When I first started my research, I already believed police brutality is accurate but when I completed my research and my conversation with Deputy Steve Will, I was unsure whether or not police brutality is true. The only way to truly know the truth behind police brutality is having frequent experience as either a civilian interacting with a police officer or as a police officer interacting with a civilian....   [tags: Police, Police brutality, Police officer]

Term Papers
1826 words (5.2 pages)

Essay about The Police Brutality Of America

- The police brutality The police handle a main part in society as its protectors. Officers look out for the citizens and try to protect their safety and happiness. Throughout the years, the society has questioned the use of force, racism and unethical as well as other forms of misconduct by officers. Some people claim that many of these problems are misconstrued by the media; these officers are simply doing their job. According to Wall street journal, in 2015 officers have been charged deadly on duty; in the year proximately 1,200 people were killed by police officers, therefore; some people argue that these circumstances can be drawn back to poor training and policies In addition, the wh...   [tags: Police, Police brutality, Police officer]

Term Papers
1072 words (3.1 pages)

The Police Brutality Of America Essay

- The police brutality The police handle an essential part in society as its protectors. The law enforcement officers look out for the citizens and try to protect their safety and happiness whenever possible. Throughout the years, however; the society has questioned the use of force, racism and internal corruption as well as other forms of misconduct by officers of the law. Some people claim that many of these problems are misconstrued by the media and blown out of capacity; these officers are simply doing their job....   [tags: Police, Police brutality, Police officer]

Term Papers
1102 words (3.1 pages)