The Use of Nuclear Power Essay

The Use of Nuclear Power Essay

Length: 1185 words (3.4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

According to the U.S. Energy Administratin, “By 2030, electricity demand in the U.S. is expected to grow by 21% from its current level” (Candris). The population increase of the United States and other developing countries is causing a need for cleaner energy. There are many alternatives that are already in use today that show that the technology is possible. Wind, solar, hydroelectric, and natural gas are all alternatives that can provide energy in a much more efficient and clean way. However, these alternatives do not come close to the energy that can be produced by nuclear power. The past events have shown that nuclear power follows more of the necessities that other resources do not follow now. Despite monetary costs and increased health risks, nuclear power is becoming a stronger alternative energy source because there is need to reduce our footprint and a need for more baseload energy due to weak amounts of energy from wind and solar.

Baseload energy is energy that is used by the general population to power homes, businesses, and other buildings. Because nuclear power produces large amounts of energy, “Nuclear plants have proven to be the low-cost source of baseload electricity” (Candris). Some sources, such as wind and solar, that are already in use supply some energy, but the energy produced is not baseload. One example of this is the sheer number of the nuclear plants in the world that have been constructed in China, Russia, India, and South Korea (Donn). All of these countries have large populations that are based in large cities. The necessity for this baseload energy was noted and nuclear was the clear alternative to solve the problem. Due to new technologies that require more energy everyday, “The world’s growing c...


... middle of paper ...


...of our planet.


Works Cited


Brand, Stewart. "Nuclear Power Is Safe, Sound...and Green." Earth Island Journal. Winter 2011: 48. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 27 Oct 2011.

Candris, Aris. "Why the U.S. Needs Nuclear Power." Wall Street Journal. 09 Nov

2009: A19. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 27 Oct 2011.

Carden, Art. "Nuclear Energy Should Be Subsidized? It Just Ain't So!." Freeman 60.5. Jun 2010: 6. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 03 Nov 2011.

Donn, Jeff. "US Nuke Regulators Weaken Safety Rules." Asbury Park Press. 20 Jun 2011: n.p. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 27 Oct 2011.

Hayward, Steven F. "A Fossil Fuel Renaissance? The policy fallout from Japan's nuclear woes." The Weekly Standard. 28 Mar. 2011. Gale Power Search. Web. 27 Oct. 2011.

Lovins, Amory B. "Nuclear Nonsense." Earth Island Journal. Winter 2011: 49. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 03 Nov 2011.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Nuclear Power And The Ethical Use Essay

- When it comes to the most crucial events in human history, world war 2 is bound to be mentioned. Throughout history mankind has perfected many tools and weapons for either agriculture or conflict. Though as we become wiser and progress, we need to bear responsibility. The two speeches I focused on deal with the subject of nuclear power and the ethical use. The authors are the inventor Albert Einstein and Harry Truman who gave some fascinating insight that I want to analyze. I 'll elaborate on Truman 's announcement of the bombing of Hiroshima....   [tags: Atomic bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki]

Strong Essays
960 words (2.7 pages)

The Use of Nuclear Power as a Weapon Essay

- The Use of Nuclear Power As a Weapon August 6th,1945 is not a day to be forgotten.It marks the world’s first use of an atomic bomb, which was dropped on the Japanese city of Hiroshima by the US Military. Three days later, the USA dropped a second atomic bomb on the city of Nagasaki, bringing WW II to an end. In total, more than 140.000 people were estimated to be killed. Although the most memorable effects of the atomic bomb were the mass amounts of death, the development of the atomic bomb has greatly influenced American society and the world....   [tags: essays research papers]

Free Essays
754 words (2.2 pages)

Essay on The Consequences of Continued Use of Nuclear Power Plants in the USA

- ... At that time, the research held by Club of Rome - an authoritative community of scholars from around the world – became widely known. The authors of the study admitted the fact that depletion of natural reserves of fossil resources is inevitable, including oil, which is the key to the global economy, and their sharp rise in price. In turn, the potential reserves of nuclear fuel (238U, 235U, and 232Th) solved the problem of fuel for a long term. The terms of atomic energy development were extremely favorable....   [tags: electricity, radiation, disposal]

Strong Essays
2660 words (7.6 pages)

Persuasive Speech: We Must Use Alternative Power Sources Instead of Nuclear Energy

- General Purpose: To Persuade Specific Purpose: To persuade my audience that they should advocate the use of alternative power sources other than nuclear energy. Central Idea: Nuclear energy only contributes a small amount to the world’s electricity yet it has hazards and dangers that far out-way its benefits. There are many other alternative power producing sources that can produce energy more efficiently and more safely than nuclear power plants can. Organization: Monroe’s Motivated Sequence I....   [tags: Persuasive Speech]

Strong Essays
1650 words (4.7 pages)

Nuclear Energy : Nuclear Power Essay

- Nuclear Energy Nuclear energy is energy stored in bonds holding protons and neutrons together in an atoms nucleus, when that bond is split an enormous amount of energy is released—nuclear fission, according to Nuclear Energy’s site. Nuclear energy has been a global energy alternative source for nearly half a century. Its predecessor, nuclear power, was developed for military use in World War II and became the biggest fear during the Cold War. After the Cold War, international use of nuclear weapons was banned, and an initiative to reform nuclear power into a positive model for energy....   [tags: Nuclear power, Nuclear fission, Plutonium]

Strong Essays
1441 words (4.1 pages)

Essay on Nuclear Power And Nuclear Control

- Many believe that nuclear power plants are a hazard to the people that live around them and the environment in which they are built. However, these assumptions are based mostly on the fact that the nuclear reactors and nuclear power plants of today are built to the same standards that the old nuclear plants from many years ago. Nuclear power today is designed to be much safer than outdated nuclear power plants and have a very minimal chance of causing a nuclear catastrophe. Nuclear power plants are a safe and viable option for generating electricity for the foreseeable future....   [tags: Nuclear power, Chernobyl disaster]

Strong Essays
737 words (2.1 pages)

The Banning Of Nuclear Power Essays

- The Banning of Nuclear Power in Japan Nuclear power is a dormant volcano, a “sleeping” giant at this moment, but you will not know when it will awake. People may think using nuclear power is safe; however, once an accident happens, it will evolve to an uncontrollable disaster. Looking back into history, there were numerous nuclear crisis that happened all around the world, especially in Japan. For instance, Tokaimura nuclear accident happened on 30 September 1999 and the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear accident happened on 11-15 March 2011....   [tags: Nuclear power, Nuclear fission]

Strong Essays
1328 words (3.8 pages)

Fukushima Nuclear Power Plant Essay

- March 11, 2011 marked the date in which the northern region of Japan, Tohoku, experienced a dreadful environmental tragedy that altered the lives of many Japanese people. A massive earthquake and tsunami triggered widespread and irrevocable damage to not only the Tohoku region and communities living there, but also to the nuclear reactors at the Fukushima Nuclear Power Plant ensuing the uncontrolled release of radiation into the environment. Due to this nuclear catastrophe at the Fukushima Daiichi Power Plant, many people have begun to question the plausibility of nuclear safety and the possibility of reliable government information....   [tags: Nuclear Power]

Strong Essays
2165 words (6.2 pages)

Nuclear Power Is A Global Issue Essays

- Energy is the most important produce for our survival of our society. With energy, we can have water and food, and we need energy for all our services like light, heat and power that we use. To keep stop burning the fossil fuels of coal, oil and gas which make our environment bad, the research found our energy comes from 80% burning of hydrocarbons. Global problem issues such as climate change or global warming well lead us to the extinction of many plant and animals. By Second World, War scientist explored an amazing power, new sources of power are nuclear power....   [tags: Nuclear power, Nuclear fission, Uranium]

Strong Essays
1454 words (4.2 pages)

Essay on Nuclear Power And Atomic Power

- On the other end of the spectrum, nuclear power has come leaps and bounds and may even overtake coal in our future as the central energy source in our world. Nuclear power became one of the few resources for energy besides fossil fuels when the US government made the decision in the 1950’s to back nuclear power instead of solar energy (Gonzalez, 2012). Nuclear power in the US was established by economic elites such as the Rockefeller Foundation and the Panel on the Impact of Peaceful Uses of Atomic Energy (Gonzalez, 2012)....   [tags: Nuclear power, Energy development, Fossil fuel]

Strong Essays
1184 words (3.4 pages)