Essay on Touch Screen: How it Changed our Lives

Essay on Touch Screen: How it Changed our Lives

Length: 1091 words (3.1 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Today our world is filled with new technology that has changed the way the world functions. One of the biggest is the touch screen. Touch screen technology has changed the focus of our technological advances . We find them on ATMs, phones, MP3 devices, tablets, computers, as well as other kinds of technology. Many think the touch screen has only been around since 2006, when Apple released the first iPhone. The truth is, the touch screen has been around since 1965 but it has come a long way since then.
In 1965 the first touch screen was invented and used in British air trafficking towers. “This touch screen used touch technology similar to that found in today’s tablets, but could only read one touch at a time (NPR Timeline: A History of Touch).” England’s Royal Radar used the touch screen devices until 1995 when it was replaced by a screen similar to today’s ATMs.
Touch screens greatly improved with the development of multi-touch technology. A multi-touch screen is preferred because it follows multiple touches instead of a single touch at a time. Multi-touch technology was created in 1984 by Bob Boie of Bell Labs. “This touch screen used a transparent capacitive array of touch sensors overlaid on a CRT platform (Bill Buxton Multi-Touch system).” A CRT is a screen that was generally used for computers. In other words, you could find one on your grandma’s dinosaur computer or television. Despite the fact of it being made in 1984, the multi-touch screen was quite a success. The screen was responsive, clear, and allowed the user to manipulate graphic objects on the screen. The multi-touch screen is still in use today and can be found on almost every smart phone out there.
Many people believe the iPhone was the first smart phon...


... middle of paper ...


.... "Timeline: A History Of Touch-Screen Technology." NPR. NPR, 26 Dec. 2011. Web. 17 Dec. 2012.
Conabree, Dave. "DSI Unveils a New Dimension in 3D Animation and Design - Mobile Magazine." Mobile Magazine DSI Unveils a New Dimension in 3D Animation and Design Comments. N.p., 17 May 2002. Web. 17 Dec. 2012.
Costello, Sam. "First-Generation IPhone Review." About.com IPhone / IPod. About.com, 18 Mar. 2010. Web. 17 Dec. 2012.
"Microsoft Surface 2 CES." Interview by Rob. YouTube. YouTube, 08 Jan. 2011. Web. 17 Dec. 2012. .
Sager, Ira. "Before IPhone and Android Came Simon, the First Smartphone." Bloomberg Businessweek Technology. N.p., 29 June 2012. Web. 17 Dec. 2012.
"Surface 2.0 Demo at CES." Interview by Steve Clayton. YouTube. YouTube, 11 Jan. 2012. Web. 17 Dec. 2012. .

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

How Technology Has Changed Our Lives Essay

- It is now 2016, there 's no headphone jack on the new model, "I need to listen to my music", "how will I facetime with my friends at night?", "what phone do I get now?" our phone 's are a part of us. We 've witnessed a decade pass by, on our phone 's, for some of us longer, and at that time phone 's have become more than merely a desire, rather, a necessity. Now, not only can they transmit calls and texts to a small list of friends with limited onboard processing, they operate with technology more advanced than that which took us to the moon, utilizing satellites to transmit data, Bluetooth to interact with local hubs, and radio frequency to connect to Wi-Fi....   [tags: IPhone, IPod Touch, App Store, Apple Inc.]

Strong Essays
1035 words (3 pages)

Understanding Capacitive Touch Screens Essay

- Understanding Capacitive Touch Screens Since Apple released the first generation iPhone on June 29, 2007(Honan, Mathew, "Apple unveils iPhone", 2007), the way of using handphone started to change .The biggest change is a handphone could control a big touch screen without using a pen on it. Touch screen interfaces are effective in many other appliances as well, like tablets, laptop and TVs which influences the technological researches in recent 5-6 years. The objective of this essay is to briefly explain the principals involved in the working of capacitive touch technology .The main focus will be on the basics of what is contained inside a capacitive touch screen and what the features are a...   [tags: iPhone, touche technology]

Strong Essays
771 words (2.2 pages)

Social Media Has Changed Our Lives Essay

- Social Media has changed our lives completely. People communicate more through a keyboard or touch screen, than through genuine human connection. Self-worth is measured by the number of likes and followers you receive on Facebook or Twitter. One simple like or comment could create and everlasting friendship or it could ruin one. It can help people who are socially isolated or shy connect with people, while being a detriment to people who may suffer from personality and brain disorders. Research shows that people who have been diagnosed with ADHD or addictive personalities, have a harder time adjusting back into reality after signing out....   [tags: Facebook, Twitter, Sociology]

Strong Essays
1390 words (4 pages)

Essay How Technology Has Changed Our Lives

- It is hard to believe a time ever existed when terms like smartphone, texting, touch screen, internet and sexting were not part of our everyday lives. We live in an era of the information superhighway, where through the use of large scale communication resources like the internet exchange and retrieval of data happens at lightening speeds. In order to keep up with the demand for an efficient transfer of data and improve mass communication our technology has had to evolve dramatically over the years, gadgets had to be developed, upgraded and distributed to meet the growing demand....   [tags: Mobile phone, Adolescence, Pornography]

Strong Essays
1073 words (3.1 pages)

Essay on How Technology Has Changed Our Lives

- There was a time without electronics. No televisions, no smartphones, no computers, and no Internet. It was a time where Facebook, Google, Wikipedia, or League of Legends did not exist. The concept of these commonly-used devices and applications not existing is now hard to imagine. As a society, we have adapted to this new technology to the point where if they were to all disappear, many people would panic about the lack of ability to do their common daily tasks, despite the fact that human life has lived much longer without any advanced technology....   [tags: Computer, Software engineering, Alan Turing]

Strong Essays
1365 words (3.9 pages)

Essay on How Technology Has Changed Our Lives

- Wake up, check your phone. Leaving for school, grab your laptop. Come home from school, do homework on your desktop computer. Getting ready to unwind, grab your iPad. Before going to sleep, check your phone. This has become an accustomed routine for a generation so technology driven. We often look at others who don’t own a phone as if they’re a foreign species followed by the words, “how do you go about your day without it?” Society depends on technology products to be able to go on about our day normally....   [tags: Mobile phone, Laptop]

Strong Essays
1574 words (4.5 pages)

Essay on How Technology Has Changed Our Lives

- Chris Gotz once said, “Look up. Get off of your phone. We are suffering from a deficit of first hand experiences!” Our generation adds on to the lack of real life. We are consistently more interested in how we appear than the outside world, more in touch with people we have never met instead of talking to our family. We are consumed with the newest technology that we forget our own beliefs and our own principles. Technology just distracts us from living our lives to the fullest. We cannot be entertained by conversation, instead it is a preconceived notion that we must be required to multitask....   [tags: Want, Humans, Emerson Drive, World]

Strong Essays
1417 words (4 pages)

How Technology Has Changed Our Lives Essay examples

- I can remember at a young age, I would play on the big box computer monitor in the living room. The screen wasn’t that incredibly big, social networking wasn’t around, and internet wasn’t like it is today. I would always play on this awesome art game for hours at a time. In my perspective, technology has always been in my life. It’s hard for me to believe at how advanced it has become. From the Millennium Bug that could’ve destroyed the world in 2000, to social networking kicking off, and to the iPhone’s release, the technology has done nothing but become more advanced in the world that I live in....   [tags: Facebook, Social network service, MySpace, Web 2.0]

Strong Essays
755 words (2.2 pages)

How Technology Has Changed Us Essay

- The first means of electronic communication in the 1980’s was the pager and later the mobile cell phone changed everything. But in the span of 10-15 years, the brick phone became a distant memory and handheld touch screen cell phones became the new hot commodity. These technology advancements made it possible not only for mass communication, but also for the efficiency of communicating at the touch of your fingertips. But as long as I can remember, technology had never affected me as a child because my parents always encouraged my brothers and I to play outside and be involved in many activities....   [tags: Mobile phone, Communication, Electronics, Writing]

Strong Essays
1178 words (3.4 pages)

Essay on The Effects Of Social Media On Our Lives

- Continuing to daily use social media sites has socially isolated us. It has become common and “normal” for people to be seen constantly on their phones checking the latest news of social media. The attachments to our phones have formed introverted personifications that have changed the way we see relationships. We are dependent on social media sites to stay in touch with our friends, however, we are snooping rather than communicating. It is related to the pressure we feel we need to give into due to the fear of missing out (Fox, & Moreland, 2015, p....   [tags: Social media, Communication, Facebook]

Strong Essays
1126 words (3.2 pages)