Essay on To Tie the Knot or Not

Essay on To Tie the Knot or Not

Length: 2129 words (6.1 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

I have always had an interest in the motivation behind what people do. While in the process of discerning an occupation that interests and motivates me to become a better person, I realized that psychology took a grip on my interest. From the most basic everyday habits to complex decisions that affect the rest of their lives, I want to know why people do the things they do. As I talked to my mom about a month ago, she informed me that our very close family friends may soon start the process of going through divorce. This shocked me and caught me off guard; although I do not often see them together, I would have never guessed that their marriage had fallen apart in the slightest. My mind went in circles. What went wrong? How long have they struggled? Do they have any hope? Does their religion have anything to do with their wishes? My psychology experience started making me think about everything that could have gone wrong.
Our friends belong to the Roman Catholic Church, so getting divorced often draws negative attention to the couple. Although they go to church on a semi-regular basis, they by no means have the “most Catholic” faith. They disagree with many of the Church’s teachings but still feel they agree with enough to stay in the Church. I wanted badly to go talk with Cathy and see if she could shed some light on this every pressing question: What correlation between religion and marriage success rates exists? However, I knew that she had to deal with this extreme pain and sadness during this hard time in her life. I felt it would not benefit, but rather hurt her more, if I would interview her simply for my own curiosity. Therefore, I turned to my priest, Father Andrew Dickinson. I knew that he taught a pre-marriage class t...


... middle of paper ...


...Feb. 2009,Research Library, ProQuest. Web. 9 Apr. 2010.
Robinson, B.A. “U.S. Divorce Rates for Various Faith Groups, Age Groups, & Geographic Areas.” ReligiousTolerance.org. Ontario Consultants on Religious Tolerance, 20 July, 2009. Web. 4 Apr 2010.
Thomas, John L. “The Factor of Religion in the Selection of Marriage Mates.”American Sociological Review 16.4 (1951): 487-491. Ebscohost. Web. 4 Apr 2010.
Wang, Qingbin, and Qin Zhou. “China’s Divorce and Remarriage Rates: Trends and Regional Disparities.” Department of Community Development and Applied Economics, University of Vermont. p. 5. Web. 7 Apr 2010.
Weinert, Stephanie. “From First Date to Life Mate.” Fellowship of Catholic University Students. Orlando, Florida. 31 December, 2009.
Wendy Kaminer. "Marriage, religion, and the law. " Free Inquiry 1 Oct. 2001: Research Library, ProQuest. Web. 12 Apr. 2010.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay about Creating a Robot to Tie a Knot with Lego Mindstorm

- Abstract The point of building this robot was to have it successfully complete and tie a knot. The original idea was to have the robot tie knots creating a bracelet. Unfortunately, the process of tying a knot alone was too much work to try and move on to an entire bracelet. I had neither the time nor the insight to build a flexible and usable 'arm.' I tested and modified a design from the Lego Mindstorms book, but found that I could neither open nor close the hand. I continued to further modify the design to be able to grab and let go of string but the result was extremely bulky....   [tags: Robotics]

Free Essays
909 words (2.6 pages)

The Hangman’s Knot Essay

- The Hangman’s Knot I as well as many people don’t understand the symbolism of the the hangman’s knot or the history behind its uses. I have always came to understand that it was an offensive knot to others because of the lynchings going on during slavery time period. Even today the hangman’s knot still plays a role in modern hate crime acts; However the hangman’s knot dates back to as early as the 16th century. The brutality portrayed by the knot brings out many feelings among many different people, And with that causes many acts of violence and rage toward others....   [tags: Noose Hanging Knot]

Free Essays
1718 words (4.9 pages)

A Simple Knot Essay

- Quick. Look at your shoes. If your shoes have laces, they might be tied wrong. In fact, about 50% of Americans tie their shoes the wrong way, they use the wrong knot when tying their shoes. If your laces come undone, or your bows are twisted, or you double knot your shoes to prevent them from coming untied, then chances are, you tie your shoes the wrong way. About two years ago, I took up running. I loved my new sport and entered several running events. Six months into my new hobby, I went for a run with a friend who's been running for over 20 years....   [tags: How-To Paper]

Term Papers
1213 words (3.5 pages)

Essay on How to Tie a Tie

- How to Tie a Tie In the workplace it is important for one to look professional. For men, one great step to appear professional is to wear a tie. Wearing a tie can add greatly to a professional appearance. For these reasons in the following one will find a step-by-step process to follow describing how to tie a necktie. Before a man starts tying his necktie, he must find an appropriate shirt to wear with the tie. The kind of shirt that is appropriate to wear with a tie is a dress shirt (one with a collar), preferably long-sleeved....   [tags: Process Essays Dressing Profession Essays]

Term Papers
534 words (1.5 pages)

Essay on How to Tie a Shoe

- How to Tie a Shoe When you were a little kid whoever bought your shoes always bought you the ugly Velcro ones that most always had some kind of cartoon character on them or lit up when the shoe hit the ground. Then one day you decided you weren’t a little kid anymore and the cartoon character or light up shoes weren’t cool enough for you. So off the person who bought your shoes went to buy “big kid shoes”. But, there was a problem, you didn’t know how to keep them on your feet without tripping over those weird looking strings....   [tags: Tying Shoe How to Essays]

Term Papers
581 words (1.7 pages)

Using the New French Prusik Knot in the International Tree Climbing Championship

- Using the New French Prusik Knot in the International Tree Climbing Championship The hot topic of conversation among tree climbers at the 1997 ISA Conference in Salt Lake City was the "new French Prusik" knot. It was somewhat controversial since the International Tree Climbing Championship committee was faced with the decision of whether to allow its use in competition. It had been previously disallowed in 1995. In actuality, the knot has been around in arboriculture for awhile. In 1993 I had the good fortune to be one of the Americans to attend the first European Congress on Tree Care in Lahnstein, Germany....   [tags: Papers]

Term Papers
2850 words (8.1 pages)

Essay on Benefits Of A Shirt, Tie And Blazer

- A shirt, tie and blazer may not be the ingredients for our favourite outfit. However, a uniform screams several things to society such as you are apart of an organisation and that we are all equal. According to a leading research on consumers shopping habits, statistics show that 95% of people spend thousands of pounds on glamorous clothing each year. Which is ridiculous considering, we can use that money to make the future a better place by building more schools and fund more resources to help their children....   [tags: Clothing, Uniform, Fashion, Felt]

Term Papers
711 words (2 pages)

Theatre : The Tie Educational System Essay

- Theatre in education (TIE) is believed to have been founded in 1965 at the Belgrade theatre in Coventry by an actor called ‘Roger Chapman’. The TIE educational system uses professional actors to create a variety of learning opportunities based on the curriculum that is currently being taught at schools. The actors generally work with two classes and encourage a considerable amount of interaction and participation amongst the children. Although it is advised to stick to the schools national curriculum much theatre in education companies create performances based on difficult topics such as Drug abuse, sexual abuse, bulling, physical abuse, domestic abuse, discrimination and oppression....   [tags: Domestic violence, Abuse]

Term Papers
1035 words (3 pages)

How Can Tie Dyeing? Essay

- Tie dyeing is the process adding color to a portion of fabric, thus creating a design pleasing to the eye. There are a few different methods one could use to complete the process, but some are more easily conducted at home. The following paragraphs will walk you through the process using squeeze bottle to deliver dye to the fabric, and how to do so creating as little mess as possible. Before beginning the process, there are a few basic pieces of knowledge to share with those who are unfamiliar with the activity....   [tags: Color, Primary color, Red, Green]

Term Papers
1662 words (4.7 pages)

Tie-Dying Essay examples

- This essay will explain a dying technique that is called tie-dying. Tie-Dying is a technique that can be used on many different fabrics to create different effect and millions of designs that are all one of a kind; no two tie dyes are alike. I have come to be very fond of tie-dye, using it as a means of support, owning my own small tie dye business for years. To design a tie-dye you will make several handmade folds that are secured by string or rubber bands, and then saturated in dye for different periods of time to create different shades of colors....   [tags: Dying Techniques]

Term Papers
2024 words (5.8 pages)