The Theory of Everything Book Report Essay

The Theory of Everything Book Report Essay

Length: 2618 words (7.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Research Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview


Since the dawn of the man we have been wanderers and explorers, looking up at the night sky, studying the stars, and pondering the origin of them. How did we get here? Who are we? Why are we here? Why does anything exist? These are questions that have baffled us since we first looked to the stars, and still do continue to linger amongst us. Will we ever know the answer to these questions? This cannot be easily answered, for we uncover new mysteries every day, but with the uncovering of one mystery, comes the discovery of another. In Steven Hawking’s “The Grand Design” and the “Theory of Everything” he discusses these mysteries that have dominated our lives since the beginning. Starting with a brief history of our understanding of the universe, he quickly delves into the topics of the big bang, black holes, the forces that govern our universe, and he addresses other theoretical theories. By the end of these books the reader is left off with a more insightful view of the scientific universe that encompasses them.
In the beginning humans looked to the nightly sky in wonder. They studied the stars, and created theories to explain the phenomena that they experienced every moment. Until about 546 BCE humans had always believed the Gods were the explanation to all phenomena. It wasn’t until Thales of Miletus that humans found out that the world could be understood. Thales is credited for being the first man to predict what a solar eclipse was. Before his time there were similar myths to that of the Vikings. That when wolves catch the sun or the moon a solar eclipse will occur, and that people must therefore scream as loud as the can until the wolves are scared away. Such a theory as that of the Vikings would be seen as absurd in today’s...


... middle of paper ...


...se Theory by Dr Michio Kaku." YouTube. YouTube, 12 June 2009. Web. 24 Nov. 2013. .
"Quantum Mechanics: The Uncertainty Principle." YouTube. YouTube, 23 Jan. 2010. Web. 24 Nov. 2013. .
"Scientists Confirm That Reality is an Illusion Our 3D Universe Is A Hologram." YouTube. YouTube, 15 Feb. 2013. Web. 24 Nov. 2013. .
"The Particle Adventure | Particle decays and annihiliations | Virtual particles." The Particle Adventure | Particle decays and annihiliations | Virtual particles. N.p., n.d. Web. 24 Nov. 2013. .
"The illusion of third dimension : the universe as a hologram or holographic universe." YouTube. YouTube, 6 Aug. 2012. Web. 24 Nov. 2013. .

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

An Outline for a Book Report: A Short History of Nearly Everything Essay

- ... He helps to widen the knowledge of people who are not experts in the field of science, or whom did not feel that had absorbed enough information in school and are still seeking the knowledge. 5. Speaker: Bill Bryson is the narrator, and he writes in first person. This demonstrated when he give examples from his life and using sentence referring to himself. For example, “I am delighted that you could make it” (1). III. Critical Analysis and Evaluation 1. Logos: Bill Bryson argues in A Short Story of Nearly Everything that as humans we are extremely lucky to be on Earth....   [tags: science, bill bryson, ethos]

Research Papers
934 words (2.7 pages)

Cultural Anthropology Book Report Essay

- Classical Readings on Cultural Anthropology What do we have to learn through the study of different cultures. I was hoping for some wonderful revelation in the collection of writings. I may have found one. This book was a difficult read for me. I am not sure whether it’s my age or my inexperience with classical readings. I also found it difficult to formulate a report on a collection of readings, the last report I did was on Laura Ingall’s Little House on the Prairie. This reading was a little more challenging....   [tags: essays research papers]

Research Papers
1828 words (5.2 pages)

Book Report on George Orwell's Burmese Days Essay

- Book Report on George Orwell's Burmese Days The book “Burmese Days” was written by George Orwell and published first in 1934. Orwell took the inspiration for this first novel of his from the experiences he gained during his service as an imperial police officer in Burma in the late 1920s. There he was confronted with extreme forms of imperialism, causing racism and also chauvinism. These are also the main topics of the novel and although they are wrapped up in the story of a single man’s fate, John Flory’s, these topics caused some problems with the publishing of the book....   [tags: George Orwell Burmese Days Literature Essays]

Research Papers
5582 words (15.9 pages)

Relational Dialectics: A Research Report Essay

- Relational Dialectics: A Research Report This research of Relational Dialectics Theory refers to the book titled A Handbook of Personal Relationships, edited by Steve Duck. The title "A Dialectical Perspective on Communication Strategies in Relationship Development," written by Lesile Baxter, presents the basic strategies for an ideal relationship . The theories in which Baxter discusses describe the communication actions that a coulpe must use to establish, maintain, and dissolve their personal relationships....   [tags: Relationships Sociology Sociological Papers]

Research Papers
635 words (1.8 pages)

Movie Report : Bad Astronaut Essay

- They have also argued that the United States had a lot of pressure to get to the moon. By far the biggest reason was the space race against Russia. The United States felt that they were obligated to win the space race. The president John F. Kennedy said that it would be risky and expensive to go the moon. Philip Plait a hoax theory-debunker says in his book Bad Astronaut that the Russians had their own Moon program with an extensive intelligence network and a great scientific community. They were capable to analyze NASA data and would have exposed it if it were a hoax especially since their program failed....   [tags: Apollo 11, Moon, Apollo 17, Neil Armstrong]

Research Papers
1180 words (3.4 pages)

Essay on A Report On Police Brutality

- Research Paper Rough Draft: Police Brutality Police misconduct is as rampant as ever in America, and it has become a fixture of the news cycle. Police brutality is the use of any force exceeding that reasonably necessary to accomplish a lawful police purpose. The media is inevitably drawn toward tales of conflict, hence why there are so many crime and police stories on the news. Despite the increasing frequency of misbehaving cops, many Americans still maintain a high respect for the man in uniform....   [tags: Police, Police brutality, Police officer]

Research Papers
1919 words (5.5 pages)

Essay on Domino Theory

- Domino Theory The Domino Theory Here is my report on the Domino Theory The ?Domino Theory. is a complex and interesting theory. It is based on a simple rule of physics. That rule is inertia. Inertia is defined in the dictionary as, ?the tendency of matter to remain at rest or to continue in a fixed direction unless affected by some outside force.?1 This can be seen by making a line of dominoes, one right after the other and pushing the first domino over. The rest of the dominoes will fall over until the last one is down....   [tags: essays papers]

Free Essays
2339 words (6.7 pages)

The Few By Alex Kershaw Book Report Essay

- The Few by Alex Kershaw In the summer of 1940, World War II had been in progress for nearly a year. Adolf Hitler was victorious and planning an invasion of England to seal Europe’s fate. Everyone in the United States of America knew it. The Germans were too powerful. Hitler's Luftwaffe had too many planes, too many pilots and too many bombs and since Hitler was Europe's problem, the United States claimed to be a neutral country (Neutrality Act of 1939). Seven Americans, however, did not remain neutral and that’s what this book is about....   [tags: Book Report Kershaw ]

Free Essays
1080 words (3.1 pages)

Book Report On The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom Essay example

- Book Report On The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom This isn't technically a book that I read when I was in the properly defined age group, but looking back at this book it is probably the book that has had the largest impact on my life, and had it been out when I was younger would have been a book that I would have read. I read this book after I had finished reading Tuesdays with Morie by the same author. Now I have read a lot of books in my life and I can't think of one that has had a more profound affect on me than The Five People you Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom....   [tags: Albom Mitch Book Report]

Free Essays
1124 words (3.2 pages)

The Chronicles Of Narnia: Book Report Essay

- The Chronicles of Narnia: Book Report Digory and Polly were good friends. They both lived in England for all of their lives. One day they were playing when Polly wanted to show Digory her secret place. It was up in her attic. She hid many things there. She hid fruits and snacks to eat and a lot of other stuff to.      Digory noticed a door across the attic. Back then the houses were connected together and they thought that if they would cross the rafters and open the door they could sneak into a house and the next and so on....   [tags: Book Report Chronicles Narnia Essays Papers]

Research Papers
1735 words (5 pages)