Essay on The Writing's of Maya Angelou

Essay on The Writing's of Maya Angelou

Length: 1907 words (5.4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

Maya Angelou is an author and poet who has risen to fame for her emotionally filled novels and her deep, heartfelt poetry. Her novels mainly focus on her life and humanity with special emphasis on her ideas of what it means to live. The way she utilizes many different styles to grab and keep readers’ attention through something as simple as an autobiography is astounding. This command of the English language and the grace with which she writes allows for a pleasant reading experience. Her style is especially prominent in "I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings", where the early events of Angelou’s life are vividly described to the reader in the postmodern literary fashion.
In order to understand Maya Angelou’s works, one must first understand the postmodern time period. Postmodernism got its start during the early 1940s and continues all the way up to the present day. A main characteristic of this time period is the analyzation of human nature (1940s Postmodernism). According to the Public Broadcasting Service, “the French theorist Jean-François Lyotard succinctly defined postmodernism as [ . . . ] a skepticism toward the ‘grand narratives’ that seek to explain and plot human life and history” (1940s Postmodernism). Along with this, postmodern writing focuses on issues happening during the present rather than searching for answers to large-scale, in depth ideas. In keeping focus on the present issues, new knowledge that comes about is not acquired to simply know it, it is acquired to apply it (Klages).
Another important characteristic of postmodern literature is the mixing of styles. Many literary styles such as “[ . . . ] tone, point of view, register, and logical sequence; apparently random unexpected intrusions and [ . . ...


... middle of paper ...


...ya_angelou/poems/498>.
Metzger, Sheri E. Critical Essay on “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings.” 2001. Cengage
Learning. 22 Mar 2010 Web.
Phenomenal Woman by Maya Angelou. FamousPoetsandPoems.com. 22 Mar. 2010 Web. .
Scott, Edurne. Understanding Post-Modernism. 30 Mar. 2009. Suite 101. 22 Mar. 2010 Web.
Smith, Sidonie Ann. The Song of a Caged Bird: Maya Angelou’s Quest After Self-Accep
Tance. 1997. Cengage Learning. 22 Mar. 2010 Web.
Still I Rise by Maya Angelou. FamousPoetsandPoems.com. 22 Mar. 2010 Web. .
Touched by An Angel by Maya Angelou. FamousPoetsandPoems.com. 22 Mar. 2010 Web. .
1940s Present Postmodernism. Mar. 2007. Public Broadcasting Service. 22 Mar. 2010 Web.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Writing Essays : My Theses, And Framing Quotes

- Writing essays was never my forte, it just never came easy to me like it would to others. Since other subjects came easy to me and I had to focus more than others on writing, I had a negative attitude toward the process as a whole. During this summer semester, I was able to grow as a writer, and gain a more positive attitude toward how I write and a better feel for writing in college. Writing a paper is a process in which there are many different stages. In high school I would never write outlines or any sort of pre planning work....   [tags: Writing, Essay, Maya Angelou]

Term Papers
735 words (2.1 pages)

Maya Angelou 's Phenomenal Woman Essay

- It is said that when we look in the mirror, we see our reflection; but what is it that we really see. Some people look through the glass and see a totally different person. All across the world identity is an issue that many women have. Woman today must be skinny, tall, thick, fair skinned and have long hair in order to be considered beautiful. Maya Angelou feels otherwise, as she gives women another way to look at themselves through her poem "Phenomenal Woman". Civil rights activist and writer, Maya Angelou was born in St....   [tags: Poetry, Maya Angelou, The Reader]

Term Papers
1436 words (4.1 pages)

The True Gift Of A Writer By Maya Angelou Essay

- The true gift of a writer is their ability to transform sparks into fires: their ability to transform intangible feelings into words on a tangible piece of paper. As Maya Angelou once remarked, “There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” As a writer, Maya Angelou spent her life sharing her gift with the world; she spent her life telling stories. Angelou spent years transforming her own emotions into words so powerful that people from all walks of life were able to empathize with the feelings each written word evoked when read....   [tags: Maya Angelou, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings]

Term Papers
1264 words (3.6 pages)

Maya Angelou: The Strength of the Human Spirit Essay

- In Maya Angelou’s third book of poetry And Still I Rise, the personal struggles of the African American Woman are brought to life through poetic works. With inspirations drawn from personal journeys of Maya Angelou herself, powerful poems praise, celebrate, and empathize with the feminine colored experience. Angelou’s writing sheds glaring light on themes of feminine power, beauty, and perseverance, raising the African American Woman to a pedestal that demands respect and adoration. For Angelou’s audience, the everyday woman is presented equipped with all the necessities to thrive and shine in the face of adversity....   [tags: Maya Angelou]

Term Papers
1752 words (5 pages)

My Critique Of Maya Angelou 's ' The Graduation ' Essay

- This Semester in this English Course has impacted the way I write and my attitude towards writing as a whole. I have exceeded my expectations on what I would learn this semester. From sculpting my own writing style through the critiques and essays to learning to use MLA format in my writing more fluidly I have learned a lot. The peer review activities I have participated in has also been helpful in having another set of eyes to review my paper that is not myself nor the professor. Having another student who is going through the same process as me catch mistakes that I myself have skimmed over is refreshing....   [tags: Writing, Essay, Fiction writing, Creative writing]

Term Papers
712 words (2 pages)

Essay on Still I Rise By Maya Angelou

- Over the past centuries, discrimination and humiliation has been everywhere, especially between the white people and the black people. Black people are always at the lower social status and get less benefited from the welfare. Contemporaneously, an African-American poet Maya Angelou wrote a poem called ‘Still I Rise’. It is a remarkable work drawing from mistreatment and addressing the latent racism and sexism by black people, which has been made into a public-interest advertisement. The poet expresses her inspiring faith in the notion of self-respect and self-esteem....   [tags: Black people, White people, Maya Angelou, Poetry]

Term Papers
1457 words (4.2 pages)

Analysis Of Maya Angelou 's Poem Essay

- In this poem, Maya Angelou was able to express one particular poetic device which i was able to identify throughout the poem. Her use of metaphor was mentioned quite often in the poem. When Angelou said “You may shoot me with your words, You may cut me with your eyes, You may kill me with your hatefulness, But still, like air, I 'll rise.” Metaphor is a literary device which is often used in poems to give us a better understanding of how the author is feeling. Metaphor is a figure of speech which is often given to a object or action that cannot literally be done....   [tags: Metaphor, Maya Angelou, Poetry, Black people]

Term Papers
1244 words (3.6 pages)

Maya Angelou Essay

- This piece of autobiographical works is one of the greatest pieces of literature and will continue to inspire young and old black Americans to this day be cause of her hard and racially tense background is what produced an eloquent piece of work that feels at times more fiction than non fiction In 1970, a child with skinny legs and muddy skin was introduced into African American literature. Born marguerite Johnson she became known as Maya Angelou (Lupton 51). Her critically acclaimed works have changed the way of the African American autobiography is written....   [tags: Biography Maya Angelou]

Term Papers
955 words (2.7 pages)

Essay on Maya Angelou

- Distress in Maya Angelou's Life Marguerite Ann Johnson, commonly known as Maya Angelou, was born on April 4, 1928 in St. Louis, Missouri. She is a famous African-American poet, novelist, and playwright and also worked during the civil rights: "Angelou is a very remarkable Renaissance woman who hailed as one of the great voices of contemporary literature" (www.mayaangelou.com). She is also an activist in civil-rights. Angelou went through many controversies during her childhood and adulthood; her romantic life was never joyful and there are questions that come consecutively in my mind: how does Angelou's "Artful Pose" demonstrates the attitude toward writing of her poetry....   [tags: Maya Angelou Biography Poet African American]

Term Papers
1173 words (3.4 pages)

Essay about Maya Angelou

- Maya Angelou A poet, an author, a play-write, an actress, a mother, a civil-rights activists, historian and most important a survivor. Perhaps Maya Angelou, award winning author of many books, is one of the most influential African Americans in American history. I believe that she rates at the top of the list of American authors, with Hemingway, Hawthorne, and Voight. I believe through my research and reading of Maya Angelou that she should be among the members of The American Authors Hall of Fame....   [tags: Poet biography bios Maya Angelou Essays]

Term Papers
1359 words (3.9 pages)