The Sacrament of Baptism Essay

The Sacrament of Baptism Essay

Length: 1509 words (4.3 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

In the United States Christianity is the largest religious group followed by Judaism, Islam, and Buddhism (Kohut and Rogers). According to the Pew Research Council Christianity was comprised of over 82 percent of the population in America as of March 2002 (Kohut and Rogers). Most of the world’s Christians live in the America’s and Europe (Pew Research Center). However, the population of Christians that currently live in the America’s and Europe is significantly lower than in the early 1900’s (Pew Research Center). Christianity is divided into three main branches: Roman Catholics, Eastern Orthodox, and Protestants. The Protestants make up the largest branch of the Christian religion in the United States and totaled fifty-two percent of the American population in 2002 (Kohut and Rogers). Catholics come in a close second comprising twenty-four percent of the American Population in March of 2002 (Kohut and Rogers). The majorities of the Christian denominations popular today developed during the five hundred years after the protestant reformation and are part of the protestant denomination (Pew Research Center). Many of the Christian denominations share a lot of the same beliefs; however, there are quite a few topics they disagree on such as the sacrament of baptism.
Many Christian denominations practice the tradition of baptism. However, many denominations differ widely on the meaning and significance of the sacrament or ordinance of baptism. Baptism in the Old Testament is used as a symbol of a believer’s devotion to God by washing with water as a sign of purification and consecration. There are many different meanings and techniques to baptism that have been observed by many faiths over thousands of years. Many of the customs and b...


... middle of paper ...


.... "Baptism (in the Bible)." New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. Vol. 2. Detroit: Gale, 2003. 56-60. Gale World History In Context. Web. 30 Dec. 2011.
Zondervan NIV Study Bible. Zondervan New International Study Bible. Ed. Kenneth L. Barker. 2008. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2002.
Pew Research Center. Global Christianity: A Report on the Size and Distribution of the World's Christian Population. 19 December 2011. December 2011 .
"Sacrament." World Religions. New York: Macmillan Library Reference USA, 1987. Macmillan Compendium. Gale World History In Context. Web. 16 Nov. 2011.
Sacrament of Baptism. 2003. .

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Sacrament of Baptism Essay

- In the United States Christianity is the largest religious group followed by Judaism, Islam, and Buddhism (Kohut and Rogers). According to the Pew Research Council Christianity was comprised of over 82 percent of the population in America as of March 2002 (Kohut and Rogers). Most of the world’s Christians live in the America’s and Europe (Pew Research Center). However, the population of Christians that currently live in the America’s and Europe is significantly lower than in the early 1900’s (Pew Research Center)....   [tags: Christianity]

Powerful Essays
1509 words (4.3 pages)

The Doctrine Of Sacraments As A Sacrament Of Baptism And The Lord 's Supper

- Doctrine of Sacraments The African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church recognizes two sacraments only. They are the Sacrament of Baptism and The Lord’s Supper. “Sacraments, ordained of Christ, are not only badges or tokens of Christian men’s profession, but rather they are certain signs of grace and God’s good will toward us, by . . . invisibly in us, and . . . quicken, but also . . . confirm, our faith in, Him.” Baptism is not only a flag of declaration and stamp of separation by which Christians distinguish themselves from those who are not baptized; but is also a signal which points to the act of regeneration encompassing being...   [tags: Jesus, Baptism, Eucharist, Christian terms]

Powerful Essays
1367 words (3.9 pages)

The Sacrament Of Baptism Is A Rite Of Passage Undertaken By Believers Essays

- The sacrament of Baptism is a rite of passage undertaken by believers in celebrating, symbolising and making present the central beliefs of the religious tradition of Christianity. It is an experiential religious act involving the transformation of the individual. Baptism as a rite of initiation welcomes the individual into the Christian tradition and links the individual, community and divine. However, not all Christians identify with the physical nature of the rite. Quakers believe that the whole of life is sacramental....   [tags: Baptism, Christianity, Christian terms, Jesus]

Powerful Essays
1132 words (3.2 pages)

Is Baptism An Ordinance Or Sacrament? Essay

- There is no simple starting point when answering the question of whether one should or should not practice infant baptism. One can not simply turn to the new testament and find a black and white answer. There are no scriptures that directly command or forbid the baptizing of infants. How then, without direct scriptural references, does one form an opinion on a doctrine that is so widely practiced in the Christian church. Several factors, such as views on scripture, the church, the sacraments, salvation, God’s nature, and perhaps most strongly the church and family one is raise in, determine an individual’s position concerning paedobaptism....   [tags: New Testament, Christianity, Jesus]

Powerful Essays
1195 words (3.4 pages)

The Rite Of First Communion Essay

- The rite of First Communion in the Holy Church leads all the way back to when Jesus walked the earth. Children meant a lot to Jesus, “People were also bringing babies to Jesus to have him touch them. When the disciples saw this, they rebuked them. But Jesus called the children to him and said, "Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it." (Luke 18:15-17) In some older Roman Catholic churches it was okay to give younger children small pieces of leftover communion from the adults....   [tags: Eucharist, Catholic Church, Baptism, Sacrament]

Powerful Essays
1272 words (3.6 pages)

Meeting Of Meeting On The Sacrament Summer Reading Essay

- David Madril Mrs. Layman Sacraments 25 September 2015 Meeting Jesus in the Sacrament Summer Reading Essay During my reading of Meeting Jesus in the Sacraments, I reflected on my journey as a Catholic. Although I do not remember my baptism it is an important part of my life. I was baptized on August 12, 2000 and it welcomed me into the Catholic family. As Pope Francis emphasized, the Sacrament of Baptism initiates all of the Sacraments we receive on our journey as Catholics. “And with the grace of Baptism and of Eucharistic Communion I can become an instrument of God’s mercy, of that beautiful mercy of God.” (Francis, p.52) Baptism gives us a new sense of identification and grants us forgiv...   [tags: Eucharist, Christianity, Jesus, Baptism]

Powerful Essays
1049 words (3 pages)

Essay about The Sacrament Of Reconciliation And The Catholic Church

- The sacraments are an action that show our faith and devotion to the Catholic church. The first sacraments we experience are the sacraments of initiation. The sacraments of initiation include, baptism, reconciliation, communion and confirmation. These sacraments are the first four of the seven that we can perform in our lives. The sacrament of reconciliation is when you ask God for forgiveness for the sins you have committed. On my first reconciliation, it was my birthday. I remember going into the Church, nervous of what the priest would say to my sins....   [tags: Eucharist, Catholic Church, Baptism]

Powerful Essays
994 words (2.8 pages)

The Religious Ceremony And The Sacrament Essay

- In religion there are many themes present, some can be found within multiple religions or just one. Within the Christian religion there are several notable themes some of which they share with other religions. But the theme most would have familiarity with is the theme of sacrament. Sacrament is considered to be a religious ceremony or act that can be regarded as an outward and visible sign of inward and spiritual divine grace. Within Christianity sacrament encompasses the most used or heard about practices the rites of baptism, confirmation, the Eucharist, repentance and confession, anointing of the sick, ordination, and matrimony....   [tags: Jesus, Christianity, Eucharist, Sacrament]

Powerful Essays
786 words (2.2 pages)

Communion Sacrament As Eucharist, Last Supper, And The Lord 's Supper Essay

- Communion This sacrament is also known as Eucharist, Last supper, and the Lord’s Supper. Again communion is an action consider as sacrament because Jesus taught his disciple to do it, and one read it in the Bible for instances in the Gospel of Matthew 26:26-28, Mark, 14:22-24, Luke 29: 19-20 and the Epistle of 1 Corinthians 11:24-26. Going to the point, “Then he took a loaf of bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body, which is given for you. Do this in remembrance of me” (Luke 22:19), “…this cup that is poured out for you is the new covenant in my blood,” (Luke 22:20)....   [tags: Eucharist, Jesus, Christian terms, Baptism]

Powerful Essays
1275 words (3.6 pages)

The Conversion Of Infant Baptism Essay example

- During the Reformation era, there was controversy over whether or not is was acceptable for infants to be baptized. When looking to the bible, specifically The New Testament, the baptism of infants is not specifically addressed. There are passages that include information about baptism that imply that anyone and everyone can be baptised. For example, in Acts 16:33 it says, “At that hour of the night the jailer took them and washed their wounds; then immediately he and all his household were baptized” (Acts 1)....   [tags: Protestant Reformation, Christianity, Sacrament]

Powerful Essays
946 words (2.7 pages)