Technology and Accreditation in Nursing Essay

Technology and Accreditation in Nursing Essay

Length: 948 words (2.7 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

On February 17, 2009, President Barack Obama signs into law the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA). The law promotes electronic medical records (EMR) and infrastructure development, such as reimbursement-based pay, to cut health care costs (Frequently Asked Questions, 2009). Likewise, the ARRA is restructuring Medicare disbursements to reimburse for quality not quantity. While the law does not mandate EMR use, the federal government has set aside twenty billion dollars to help in the development of a strong health information technology infrastructure. Title IV states, “NO INCENTIVE PAYMENT IF FIRST ADOPTING AFTER 2014” (American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, 2009). In times of economic turmoil, hospitals and physicians, who are not hospital-based, can receive incentive payments (Frequently Asked Questions, 2009). So, most institutions will comply with the restructuring and use EMR’s, even though there are pros and cons.
EMRs provide a common access point where clinicians and health care providers can review and document information about clients and their care. These records are essential to improving efficiency and increasing client safety (Electronic Medical Records, n.d.). Electronic reports are an enabling technology that allows medical practices to pursue more powerful quality improvement programs than is possible with paper-based records (Miller, Robert; Sim, Ida). Clinicians and clients do not have to worry about errors occurring due to the poor legibility of handwritten paper medical records. EMRs facilitate the continuity of care before, during and after hospitalization because all the data in one place. Think of the amount of time and money employees spend on phone calls, emails, and faxes ...


... middle of paper ...


..., 2011, from http://www.in.gov/pla/nursing.htm
Miller, R., & Sim, I. (2004). Use of electronic medical records: Barriers and solutions. Retrieved June 29, 2011, from http://content.healthaffairs.org/content/23/2/116.short
NANLC. (2008). Accreditation manual. Retrieved July 1, 2011, from http://www.nlnac.org/manuals/NLNACManual2008.pdf
The pros and cons of electronic medical records. (2010, April 14). Retrieved June 29, 2011, from http://www.carecrunch.com/the-pros-and-cons-of-electronic-medical-records/
Torrey, T. (2009, February 19). Limitations of electronic patient record keeping: Privacy and security issues. Retrieved June 29, 2011, from http://patients.about.com/od/electronicpatientrecords/a/privacysecurity.htm
Understanding accreditation basics. (2011). Retrieved July 2, 2011, from http://www.guidetocareereducation.com/accreditation/accreditation-basics

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Wrong Side Procedure / Surgery Essay

- We can be under the impression that wrong side procedure/surgery is not a common occurrence. However, I witnessed two cases of wrong side chest tube insertion over one year in one of the Emergency Room that I used to work. The error was done by experienced physicians and nurses with more than ten years of experience each under their bells. Granted, that was almost 5 years ago, and a lot of more attention has been given to this type of errors in recent years. Nevertheless, seeing those mistakes made me a lot more vigilant in my practice....   [tags: Nursing, Nurse, Hospital accreditation, Hospital]

Better Essays
718 words (2.1 pages)

Dashboard Analysis and Nursing Plan Essay

- Today health care systems are expected to meet set standards and core measures to earn everything from accreditation and recognition to payment. Reports need to filled to accomplish this, as well as what is being done to improve areas that may not be meeting standards. One way this is done is by utilizing dashboards. The purpose of this paper is to analyze the data from a dashboard and develop a nursing plan for improvement of a low scoring area. Analysis of the Data The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) have recently begun requiring hospitals to report to the public how they are doing on patient care....   [tags: Health Care]

Better Essays
1319 words (3.8 pages)

Essay about Nursing: Personal Narrative

- Introduction I started my Nursing career in India and then I came to the United States and became an RN. I entered Nursing with the thinking that Nursing is a profession that will always allow me to have a job and all my patients will get better. However, from my experiences I understood that Nursing is more than just giving medications, and it requires clinical competence, cultural sensitivity, ethics, caring for others, and life-long learning about others and the evolving field of medicine. Florence Nightingale once said: Nursing is an art: and if it is to be made an art, It requires an exclusive devotion as hard a preparation, as any painter’s or sculptor’s work; for what is the having t...   [tags: health, nurses]

Better Essays
1719 words (4.9 pages)

Essay about Definition Accreditation And Accreditation Standards

- Purposes of Accreditation Accreditation is a process of review that healthcare organizations voluntarily participate in to demonstrate the ability to meet predetermined criteria, and standards established by a nationally recognized professional accrediting agency. The purpose of accreditation is to validate the fact that a health care organization provides the highest quality of care to patients and, is in continuous compliance with nationally established standards of quality (Carman & Timsina, 2015)....   [tags: Health care, Managed care, Accreditation]

Better Essays
1180 words (3.4 pages)

Technology and Nursing Essay

- The goal of this literature review is to increase our knowledge about technology use in practice and to identify where there is need for improvement. Information technology seems to be a widely discussed topic these days and most nurses have no clear idea how it can transform the way we do things on an every day basis. We will also look at the impact technology has on nursing, patients, and colleagues. We will then focus on a specific nursing setting, in this case the emergency room. This literature review is organized to grow on each independent section so that you, the reader, can form your own opinion, but take with you the universal understanding of how information technology will lead u...   [tags: Nursing Technology]

Better Essays
1848 words (5.3 pages)

Letter from ABC Health Care South Accreditation, Re: Joint Commission and Accreditation

- Firstly, I would like to thank all of you for the excellent jobs you have all been doing. It has been brought to my attention that some of you are unsure of what having our facilities accredited and how we can benefit from it means. Therefore, at this time I hope the following explanations will help clear up any questions. I will first discuss the “Joint Commission” and what is entailed in the accreditation and certification of our facilities. The JCAHO was created in 1951 to ensure the highest standards of quality and safety in the delivery of healthcare and evaluating organization performances based on these standards....   [tags: letter, accreditation, ]

Better Essays
699 words (2 pages)

Essay about Accreditations and Certifications in Nursing

- While working seemingly endless days, many nurses do not realize the many influences that affect their professional practice or how client care is delivered. Besides their employer, health care organizations are highly regulated by federal, state, and local laws and regulations. In addition to the rules set by governments, most medical establishments want to be accredited by The Joint Commission (TJC), a non-government regulatory agency. TJC does not have the authority to cite or fine a facility for not meeting standards or responding to its custodian alerts (The Joint Commission, 2011)....   [tags: Nursing Profession, Nursing Career]

Better Essays
1986 words (5.7 pages)

St. Petersburg College Essays

- St. Petersburg College (SPC) is a large multi campus college that was found in 1927 as a private, nonprofit, two-year college. SPC started its school of Nursing in the year 1956 and became the first community college in Florida that offered a three-year nursing program. In August of 2002, the college started offering baccalaureate programs leading to Bachelor’s degree in education, nursing and technology management. The College of Nursing (CON) received its first National League for Nursing (NLN) accreditation in December 1970 and since then the CON has maintained its NLN accreditation (St....   [tags: Nursing, Bachelor of Science in Nursing]

Better Essays
1350 words (3.9 pages)

Regulation and Accreditation Essay

- Regulatory and accreditation agencies have participated in the nursing community for several years. Regulation in healthcare started as a registry process to protect patients and healthcare givers. Currently, regulation serves the purpose of protecting patients. It also helps in defining healthcare practices and nursing education. In order to understand the function of regulatory and accrediting agencies and practices one must understand their definitions (McWay, 2003). A regulatory agency has the responsibility of creating and enforcing rules or regulations of the law....   [tags: Health Care, Nursing]

Better Essays
1154 words (3.3 pages)

History of Nursing's Clinical Specialty Anesthesiology and Career Outlook Information

- History of Nursing's Clinical Specialty Anesthesiology and Career Outlook Information Ether. Who would have thought that a small carbon based organic compound such as ether would spawn a new field of medical specializations, changing the history of medicine for ever. Ether was discovered in 1275 by a Spanish chemist named Raymundus Lullius,(Evans,1995,p 1). It was his discovery that allowed William E. Clark to use ether as an anesthetic for the first time in 1842. He administered the ether on a dental patient for Elijah Pope as he performed a dental extraction on Miss Hobbie,(Evans,1995.p 1)....   [tags: Papers]

Better Essays
1093 words (3.1 pages)