Essay on Taking Care of Animals: Kill Versus No-Kill Shelter

Essay on Taking Care of Animals: Kill Versus No-Kill Shelter

Length: 1398 words (4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

Animals are beloved creatures among the human race, and are deeply cared for. As caretakers of pets, those caretakers have a responsibility to these animals. One of those responsibilities includes making sure all animals are properly taken care of and are placed in a loving home. Many of these poor animals, mostly cats and dogs, are cast unwanted onto the streets to fend for themselves. Once they are cast out, where are they to end up? The ones that survive being discarded by neglectful owners are usually found and taken to a nearby animal shelter. These shelters are set up and designed for stray animals to be taken care of until a new owner can be found. Shelters also graciously accept pets from owners who choose to surrender their animals, and are re-homed by the shelter. Some of these shelters have what is known as a no-kill policy, which states that any animal fit to be adopted out, will be. Other shelters do not have this policy, and will euthanize a healthy animal for a variety of reasons. The most common reason for euthanizing a healthy animal is space. Most shelters are not well funded, and cannot afford to take care of a large number of animals; unfortunately, more animals are being discarded than are taken in by local shelters. Though most people would claim that killing animals to make space is wrong, there are actually many practical reasons for it; in most cases shelters that lack a no-kill policy are better for the animals in the long run.
The modern shelters established are what used to called dog pounds, and there are numerous kinds of shelters and rescue groups established throughout the United States. The most common kind of shelters are the ones set up and funded by counties or states, some are even funded by ...


... middle of paper ...


...elters, it is simply choosing the lesser of the two evils. Kill shelters do not inflict any kind of pain or suffering on the animals in its care, and try very hard to save every animal.



Works Cited
“’No-Kill’ Label Slowly Killing Animals.” PETA. n.p., n.d. Web. 18 February 2014.
“No-Kill Mondays Inspire Animal Shelters to End Euthanasia.” PR Newswire. 23 December
2013. Student Resources in Context. Web. 20 February 2014.
“No-Kill Mondays: Saving Animals One Day at a Time.” Life with Dogs. Life with Dogs,
January 2014. Web. 20 February 2014.
“No-Kill Shelters.” Black Dog Rescue Project. BlackDogRescueProject.com, 2009. Web. 18
February 2014.
“No-Kill Shelters?” New Moon Girls May-June 2013:8. Student Resources in Context. Web. 19
February 2014.
“No-Kill Shelters May be Harmful to Animals.” NBCNews. The Associated Press, 2012. Web.
18 February 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Animal Shelters and the No Kill Movement Essay

- Nationally, roughly four million animals are killed in shelters every year. Of these, roughly 95% of all shelter animals are healthy and treatable. (No Kill Advocacy Center). No animal should have to ever be a part of these awful statistics. What will it take to help save these innocent animals from being killed senselessly. Animal kill shelters are horrible, inhumane, and overall completely unnecessary for multiple reasons: No Kill shelters improve adoption rates, all animals lives are valuable, and No Kill shelters save more money than other shelters....   [tags: no-kill shelters]

Term Papers
977 words (2.8 pages)

Stop the Killing: Support No Kill Animal Shelters Essay

- Nationally, roughly four million animals are killed in shelters every year. Of these, roughly 95% of all shelter animals are healthy and treatable. (No Kill Advocacy Center). No animal should have to ever be a part of these awful statistics. What will it take to help save these innocent animals from being killed senselessly. Animal kill shelters are horrible, inhumane, and overall completely unnecessary for multiple reasons: No Kill shelters improve adoption rates, all animals lives are valuable, and No Kill shelters save more money than other shelters....   [tags: Animal Shelters]

Term Papers
922 words (2.6 pages)

Saving Pets From Death In Shelters Essay

- A Man's Best Friend For many of us, the animals in our lives are our faithful pals who make us laugh, that keep us company and love us no matter what. But a man’s best friend doesn’t necessarily have to be a dog; I believe that any animal can be considered to be a man’s best friend. On the other hand they are many animals who don’t have the same luck as other animals do. For those animals life is hard for them on the streets .Most animals on the streets often suffer from hunger, illness, tumors, skin infections and open sores....   [tags: Animals, Animal Shelter]

Term Papers
857 words (2.4 pages)

Why Should Adopt A Shelter Dog Essay

- Are you thinking of one day becoming a dog owner. You may be considering getting a dog in the near future or maybe you know someone that is looking to add a furry friend to his or her family now. One of the biggest decisions after deciding on getting a dog is where you should get it. When you begin your search, you will find there are many places you can get a dog. Pet stores, shelters, rescue groups and breeders are the most popular. I want to tell you why you should adopt a shelter dog rather than buy from a breeder....   [tags: Dog, Neutering, Animal shelter, Estrous cycle]

Term Papers
1164 words (3.3 pages)

Why Adopt a Shelter or Rescue Dog Essay example

- Once the decision has been made to adopt a homeless animal from a shelter, one must consider what animal is suitable for their lifestyle. Dogs are remarkable creatures that come in all shapes and sizes and have been man’s best friend for over 30,000 years (Stanglin, 2012). Adopting a dog from a shelter or rescue awards many benefits. Shelter and rescue groups offer an array of dogs that vary in size, color, and age; thus, allowing one to adopt a seemly companion. Despite the efforts of animal shelters and rescue groups, “5 million to 7 million companion animals enter animal shelters nationwide every year, and approximately 3 million to 4 million are euthanized” (“Pet Statistics,”)....   [tags: Animals]

Term Papers
851 words (2.4 pages)

My Experience at the Association for Abandoned Animals Essay

- ... Happy Paws promotes stray dog adoption scheme and various other programs. It is completely run by volunteers and the organization is financed by operating 3 charity shops, through sponsorships, donations and fund-raising events. Information about microchips was received from both an AAA carer and a Happy Paws veterinary surgeon. Microchips are used as an approach to reduce the irresponsibility of certain pet owners who neglect their pets. If it is not for microchips, the problem of pet negligence would be even greater than it is at the present moment....   [tags: technology, rountine, shelter, animal]

Term Papers
878 words (2.5 pages)

Animals have Not Voice Against Abuse Essay

- “Animals have no voice. They can’t ask for help. They can’t ask for freedom. They can’t ask for protection. Humanity must be their voice.” This quote by A.D. Williams says everything about the cruelty of animal abuse. Have you ever given a thought to animal abuse. Its not just dogs or cats in a shelter it spans a greater community. Before stopping abuse, we need to consider why it happens. Hoarding isn’t just a show on T.V about stuff in your house. There are animal hoarders. Do you have a pet at home....   [tags: shelter, cruelty, pets]

Term Papers
855 words (2.4 pages)

Essay about Animal Shelter Dogs

- There is a Pedigree dog commercial I see on TV which catches my eye and my heart. It tells us to not pity a shelter animal. When I decided to become a Veterinary Technician, I expected to work in a vet office, but have changed my mind. I began volunteering for the Denver Dumb Friends League, at the Buddy Center in Castle Rock, about a year ago. A shelter is not always the easiest place to work, but I feel it is where I’m most able to make a difference. There is plenty of heartache, but I seem to have a knack for calming and comforting the frightened animals, and that makes me feel good....   [tags: Pets]

Term Papers
1015 words (2.9 pages)

Animal Shelter Reflection Essay

- There is a Pedigree dog commercial I see on television which catches my eye and my heart. It tells us to not pity a shelter animal. When I decided to become a Veterinary Technician, I anticipated working in a vet office. Unpredictably, I changed my mind. Approximately a year ago, I began volunteering for the Denver Dumb Friends League at the Buddy Center in Castle Rock. A shelter is not always the easiest place to work. Nevertheless, I feel it is where I feel most able to make a difference. There is plenty of heartache, but I seem to have a knack for calming and comforting the frightened animals, and that makes me feel good....   [tags: Personal Reflection]

Term Papers
1057 words (3 pages)

Animal Euthanasia Essay

- When you hear the term euthanasia in reference to animals you think of the process that is used to end the suffering of an animal by putting them in a painless and permanent state of sleep. Today the term euthanasia is used to give reason to the murders of innocent animals all over the world. Animals should only be put down by euthanasia if they are in pain or suffering. Unfortunately most dogs that are euthanized over the course of the year are not aggressive or suffering from any disease (The Humane Society of the United States)....   [tags: assisted suicide, animals, animal shelter]

Term Papers
904 words (2.6 pages)