Supersize . . . The World Essay

Supersize . . . The World Essay

Length: 1132 words (3.2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Apple slices are one of the healthiest meal choices served at fast-food restaurants today, but only upon request of the customer. Instead the customer is automatically supplied with greasy trans-fat filled French fries. (Tucker,Charlotte) If the fast-food companies would give the apple slices as the standard the America Public Health Association (APHA) pronounced (affa) says that meals would be much healthier. APHA is a research company solely dedicated to studying health factors of food and the health of the individual who consumes the product. With three out of every five people in the United States obese or over weight, partly due to the very unhealthy options served at these fast-food restaurants. The fast-food industry does provide a few healthier choices but what they fail to do is display them as much as they do their unhealthier alternatives. The fast-food industry has made a few strides to provide healthier options, but they are not doing enough.
A couple of the strides they have made are offering some items the McDonalds Corporations lists as “healthy options.” One of these products that I would like to bring to your attention is the oatmeal that McDonalds serves. McDonalds claims that this product is healthy for you with all of its dehydrated fruits and nuts they serve with it. What they do not show is the extremely high amounts of sugar and salts that this oatmeal contains inside its cup. The oatmeal is offered in the mornings as a healthy option but in fact it has the same amount of calories as a double-cheeseburger. (Bittman, Mark)
In addition to the oatmeal being offered as an alternative many fast-food restaurants have began offering fruits such as apple slices, raisins, and dehydrated banana chips. These are...


... middle of paper ...


...ica on the horizon.




Works Cited

Yahia,Najat. “ Eating habits and obesity among Lebanese University Students.” Nutritional. Journal. 18, Oct. 2008 Web. 17 Feb. 2011
Tucker,Charlotte. “ Study Fast- Food Chains Targeting Kids Through Unhealthy Options.” The Nations Health. 7 Jan. 2011 Web. 21 Feb. 2011
“Fattening Up Asia” Investigators Chronicle Magazine and Web Content. 7 Jan. 2010. Web. 21 Feb. 2011
“Fast- Food Restaurants In The U.S. Industry Market Research Report – New Report Published; Newly Released Report, Fast Food Restaurants In The U.S Industry Market Research Report, Provides Detailed Company Analysis.” Official Spin 10 Nov. 2010 Web. 21Feb 2011.
Morrison, Maureen. “ Kids Seeing More Fast- Food Ads?” Advertising Age. 21 Dec. 2010 Web 17 Feb. 2011
Bittman, Mark “How to make Oatmeal … Wrong.” New York Times 7 Jan 2011 Web 20 Feb 2011

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on Analysis Of Supersize Me

- Thirty days of eating only McDonald’s – what could go wrong. TIA TAVITA gets down to the nitty gritty details of what eating everything on the McDonald’s menu can do for you. Filmmaker of Supersize Me, Morgan Spurlock used himself as a guinea pig to consume everything on the McDonald’s menu at least once and supersize his meal if asked every day for an entire month, so that you don’t have to. Filmmakers and producers spend millions of dollars and work tirelessly to show us the truth of reality with validity and creativity....   [tags: Nutrition, McDonald's, Super Size Me]

Strong Essays
769 words (2.2 pages)

Essay on Supersize Me By Morgan Spurlock

- North America in the last 15 years has become engulfed in the fast food trend creating enormous individuals. The billion dollar sales of the MacDonald’s burgers have invaded society and now are seen as a daily activity. Not only has the sale of fast food affected peoples weights the shear size of each meal also contributes as well. This new concept of “bigger is better” has swept across North America forcing people to buy more fast food that is needed at each visited. I believe that that something need to be done to stop this “growing” epidemic....   [tags: Nutrition, Food, Obesity, Fast food]

Strong Essays
1112 words (3.2 pages)

Supersize Me : A Social Experiment Documentary Essay

- Supersize Me: Supersize Me is a social experiment documentary that goes above and beyond to show us the health risk fast food consumption is involved. If someone was to tell you that you’re practically killing yourself by eating that BigMac we probably wouldn’t believe them. Eating fast food affects every aspect of our health, from heart and cholesterol problems to becoming over weight and obese. Obesity rates unfortunately continue to increase and is truly an epidemic in the making. We obtain the side effects from the fast food while the fast food chains are making millions of dollars in a day’s time....   [tags: Nutrition, Obesity, Super Size Me, McDonald's]

Strong Essays
1517 words (4.3 pages)

Conflict Between A Utopian World And The Tribal World Essay

- The distinction between a utopian world and the tribal world that brings one another to existents within their similarities that binds them as a whole, which people are impelled to move forward and not look back. David Berreby is a self-driven scientific researcher who received his bachelors in Arts in English from Yale University in 1981. David published an article, “It Takes A Tribe,” that pertains to social interactions with one another and defines an individual with specific traits to be part of something much fulfilling then them selves....   [tags: United States Marine Corps, United States]

Strong Essays
715 words (2 pages)

Supersize Me Essays

- Supersize Me Some of the people interviewed for this film suggest that Americans can always refuse to eat fast food, but is it really that easy. No, because there are many factors involved when an individual or family decides to eat fast food for any particular meal of the day. Several factors in this decision include but are not limited to: Firstly most people pack their day with activities continuously so there is not much time left in the day to cook. Secondly children play a large role in whether a mother will stop at McDonalds....   [tags: Film Movie Films Movies Supersize Me]

Free Essays
439 words (1.3 pages)

Essay on Article Review : ' Supersize Me ' By Alison Motluk

- Americans, as a whole, are fat, over-indulged, lazy, entitled humans. As a whole, yes, yes Americans are all of these things. In 2004, Alison Motluk, a freelance journalist who writes for numerous magazines including the New Scientist, The Walrus, and The Economist, pens an article called “Supersize Me: It’s Time to Stop Blaming Fat People for Their Size.” Motluk blames the food industry for increased portions. She blames the food industry for unhealthy, addictive additives dumped into our food....   [tags: Obesity, Nutrition, Local food, Organic farming]

Strong Essays
1426 words (4.1 pages)

Essay about Supersize Me : An Individual 's Own Fault Or The Fast Food Chains?

- According to 2014 statistics, 27.7% of Americans are considered obese. However the big question is, whom do we blame for the increase in obesity. Is it an individual’s own fault or the fast food chains. As individual’s, we have failed in taking responsibility for our actions and instead we look to put the blame on someone or something else. In Morgan Spurlock’s documentary Supersize Me, he ate “nothing but McDonald’s food for one month” (McCook 35) and put on approximately 25 pounds. We all know that the fast food industry provides processed and unhealthy foods but isn’t it our choice on whether or not to put those unhealthy foods in our body while knowing the result they will give us....   [tags: Nutrition, Hamburger, Fast food, McDonald's]

Strong Essays
939 words (2.7 pages)

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle By Barbara Kingsolver And The Documentary Supersize Me

- We have all heard the phrase “you are what you eat” at some point in our lives. Most of us simply brush it off, regarding it as just another tactic our mothers use to get us to try new things. This phrase has been used time and time again and it turns out, Mom was right, the food we eat does affect who we are in many ways. This theme of identifying ourselves with the food we consume is portrayed in both the book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver and the documentary Supersize Me, directed by Morgan Spurlock....   [tags: Nutrition, Food, Junk food, McDonald's]

Strong Essays
1748 words (5 pages)

Biomes of the World Essay

- A biome, also known as life zones, consists of all plants, animals, and other organisms, as well the physical environment in a particular area. A biome is characterized by its’ plant life, climate, and location. The climate and physical features determine the boundaries of a biome. A biome is made up of many different ecosystems. The ecosystems tend to have the same pants and animals as neighboring biomes around the boundaries. The major biomes are the tundra, taiga, tropical rain forest, temperate forests, desert, grassland, savanna, chaparral, and marine....   [tags: The World's Biomes]

Strong Essays
2248 words (6.4 pages)

Dubai World Essay

- On November 25 when Dubai World announced the news that they were seeking a debt extension on $59 billion of their liabilities, shock waves reverberated throughout the world’s credit markets as investors grappled with whether the news represented a one-off problem with Dubai or did it represent a more systematic risk from the region or developing world. Since that time investor’s fears have been arrested as the U.A.E. central bank announced its support of Dubai along with Abu Dhabi throwing its hat into the ring as someone who would be willing to help....   [tags: World Economy]

Strong Essays
560 words (1.6 pages)