Student Financial Planning Essay

Student Financial Planning Essay

Length: 1021 words (2.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Financial planning for a student is vital to successful completion of a college degree and ongoing success after college. The objective of this assignment is to evaluate four ways someone in my position could save money and budget. By planning finances carefully a student can avoid a pause in learning due to financial trouble and set themselves up for success after college. In the list provided below I will provide four tips I will use to navigate my way around the possible financial peril that presents itself to each student.
1. Track it. According to Lucy Lazarony of Bankrate.com, tracking spending for a minimum of two to four weeks can help a student figure out where their money is going. I agree. She presents the question, “Are four trips to Starbucks a week really necessary?” in an attempt to remind students the necessity of financial reflection. Lazarony quotes Vickie Hampton, a financial planner and an associate professor at Texas Tech University in Lubbuck, Texas, "They don't realize how much they spend on little things…[t]hat's the most common revelation." Lazarony adds what Mark Oleson, director of a financial counseling clinic at Iowa State University, stated, "Usually, just by tracking expenses, you'll start to curb expenses" ("Savings: Money management tips for college students").
As stated above, tracking spending can provide a student insight on what they are actually spending their money on. This provides valuable data that can then be analyzed and help determine what their priorities are. The downside of tracking spending is clearly the time it takes and its repetitive nature. I believe this is why a limited time frame is recommended in the article. However, I could see repeating this exercise from time to time ...


... middle of paper ...


...ve for each area of their lives during college and after. Each student should know how to avoid the obstacles in the finical road to their success. Sound financial planning and help with staying on budget from the beginning is crucial to long-term financial stability. True scholars will always benefit from some advice.


Works Cited

Lazarony, Lucy. "Savings: Money management tips for college students." Mortgage Rates Credit Cards Refinance Home CD Rates by Bankrate.com. N.p., 22 Aug. 2008. Web. 15 June 2011.
RC. "25 Smart Budget and Money Saving Tips for College Students." Think Your Way to Wealth. N.p., 22 Aug. 2008. Web. 15 June 2011.
Robison, Tamara. "10 Budgeting Tips For Students | Made Manual." Mademan.com. N.p., 3 May 2010. Web. 15 June 2011.
Siddons, Sarah. "10 Tips for Staying on Budget." HowStuffWorks "Business & Money". N.p., n.d. Web. 15 June 2011.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Financial Planning For College Students Essay

- For most young adults, going off to college represents that they are now on their own and for many it is completely foreign. Due to the lack of thought towards financial planning during your college career, many college students drop out or graduate thousands of dollars in debt. The fact that someone who is hardly into their mid-twenties can be thirty thousand dollars in debt or more is baffling to most, but actually it is not very difficult to overspend money you do not have in college. Most people think this problem is due to books and supplies someone may need to acquire for college, but most of the time that is not the case....   [tags: Credit card, Debt, Credit history, Credit rating]

Better Essays
1287 words (3.7 pages)

Building A Financial Planning Process Essay

- A reflection of the work done to date in this course has given me much clarity on the goals that I wish to achieve in my life and the directions that I need to take to achieve them. In module three, I was able to start a financial planning process, in which I was able to determine my current financial situation concerning income, savings, living expenses, and debts through the utilization of a balance and income statement; financial objectives and personal goals sheet. I prepared a list of current asset and debt balances and amounts spent for various items providing me with a foundation for financial planning activities....   [tags: Investment, Personal finance, Finance, Debt]

Better Essays
1000 words (2.9 pages)

Essay on The Awareness of Financial Management Students Regarding Career Risk

- This table measures how students agree or disagree on the statement given on the survey questionnaire. On the first statement, 46.15% of first year students strongly agree, 35.71% of second year students strongly agree and 38.46% third year students strongly agree lack of interest on the chosen program leads to unsatisfying wants. The table below shows the result of the statement, lack of interest on the chosen program leads to unsatisfying wants, 50% of male students strongly agreed and 37.50% of female strongly agreed, too....   [tags: financial management, finance students]

Better Essays
1632 words (4.7 pages)

Management Accounting And Financial Accounting Essay examples

- The IMA is an association for financial professional and accountants. The main objective of the organization is to increase the professional abilities of its members in order to improve their career opportunities. “IMA’s mission is to provide a forum for research, practice development, education, knowledge sharing, and the advocacy of the highest ethical and best business practices in management accounting and finance”, IMA, para. 1, 2015. IMA is an institute that provides both financial and management accounting programs with broad and distinct subjects within their courses....   [tags: Management, Business, Financial accountancy]

Better Essays
700 words (2 pages)

A Student 's Life On University Campus Essay

- A Student 's life on University campus revolves around going to classes, studying in the library or in their own room, getting involved in co-curricular activities made compulsory by the university and sometimes hanging out with their friends to have fun after an exam. For many students who live in students accommodation being away from their family will require them to be independent and some students need quite some time to get adjusted to their new environment or they will be homesick or stressed....   [tags: University, Student, Full-time, Time]

Better Essays
764 words (2.2 pages)

Essay about Being A First Generation Low Income Student

- Being a first generation low-income student has had a huge impact on my education. It has presented as an asset and a challenge at UCI. Both my parents are first generation Americans with my father being born in Mexico and my mother born in Honduras. My father only has a third grade education and my mother has a sixth grade education. My parents don’t know English so it limited the amount of job opportunities they received in the United States. These conditions had my family and I grow up very low-income....   [tags: Education, Higher education, University, Student]

Better Essays
1171 words (3.3 pages)

Student 's Learning Without Financial Assistance Essay

- The university is located in an industrialized part of the state that receives state funding. Each university that receives funding is required to comply with the rules and regulations that are provided by the state’s Board of Higher Education. Dr. Smith is the provost of a university that receives state funding and is responsible for complying with the requests of the Board of Higher Education. Culture Dr. Smith is challenged with two situations; the current culture of the university has a negative undertone, and the request from the Board of Higher Education to create a campus wide assessment on the student’s learning without financial assistance....   [tags: Higher education, University]

Better Essays
1531 words (4.4 pages)

Essay on Customer Base For Better Student Banking

- Marketing Plan: Week 3 Assignment: Situation Analysis Yuxing Zheng Trine University MKTG 6943 November 16, 2016 Section 4. Situation Analysis The customer base for Better Student Banking (BSB) is the student population of New York City, which is approximately 197,000 people as of the 2000 census. A snapshot of the age demographics of the customer base is presented in Table 1 below. The age ranges that should be most highly targeted should be the 18-24 demographic, members of which are most likely opening their first bank account or get their first student loan; the 25-44 demographic, members of which are likely to have less established, loyal relationships with other banks; and th...   [tags: Marketing, Bank, Marketing plan, Debt]

Better Essays
919 words (2.6 pages)

Essay on Planning and Preparing for Teaching and Learning.

- The role of the teacher is very similar to the role of the mainstream teacher. Planning meaningful sessions, keeping accurate records of sessions and assessing the individual students’ abilities are among the more obvious responsibilities and these areas will be discussed later. It could be argued that the main difference between the teacher and the mainstream teacher is found in the level of one-to-one support given to each student. This difference is a direct result of the group sizes taught by the teacher and the academic levels of the students....   [tags: CANTO, learning disabilities, behavioural]

Better Essays
3249 words (9.3 pages)

The Importance of Budgeting to Avoid Defaulting on Student Loans Essay

- The Importance of Budgeting to Avoid Defaulting on Student Loans Students defaulting on their loans will always be a problem for the government as long as there are students taking out loans. There will always be a few that don’t pay off their loans. There are many reasons why students default on their student loans. According Ms. Farrell, the author of “Reducing Student Loan Defaults: A Plan for Action,” in the Office of Planning, Budget, and Evaluation Survey, said “The main reason that students default on their loans is that they cannot budget their finances” (Farrell 24)....   [tags: Finance]

Better Essays
2155 words (6.2 pages)