Essay on Space Exploration: The Key to the Future of Mankind

Essay on Space Exploration: The Key to the Future of Mankind

Length: 2028 words (5.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

While the origins of our planet stretch back some 4.6 billion years, the existence of modern man can be correlated to a single minute in the entire span of our geological calendar. Mankind has progressed from the primitive innovations of building fire and wielding stone-age tools to the achievements of industrialization and globalization. In our increasing world of interconnectivity, population explosion, and technological and scientific discoveries, how do we manage the accompanying challenges that threaten our existence? In short, how do we survive? Research suggests that space exploration and colonization is of vital importance to mankind, because our planet has a finite resource base for future populace support, we are at an increased risk of mass extinction without dissemination and cosmic expeditions promote innovation to stimulate growth and technological advancement.
In our brief history, Homo sapiens have occupied our planet for nearly 200,000 years. From our origins, we banded together in small nomadic groups, as the hunters and gatherers that foraged the Earth for survival. The resources of our lands were abundant, supplying ample sustenance for population development. To date, our growth has advanced to over seven billion people and there is no decrease in sight. At our current rate of progression, our world population is expected to double to thirteen billion inhabitants by the year 2067. (Rosenberg, 2009)
This current trend of population growth is a substantial threat to the non-renewable water and arable land that is essential to human survival. As our numbers increase, the rate of resource consumption becomes disproportionate to the degree of availability and replenishment. Although human survival is dependent...


... middle of paper ...


...ieved April 4, 2012, from http://www.jayhanson.us/page174.htm

Risks to civilization, humans, and planet Earth. (n.d.). In Wikipedia. Retrieved April 4, 2012, from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Risks_to_civilization_humans_and_planet_Earth#References
Tyson, N. D. (2012, March 07). past, present, and future of NASA: U.S. senate testimony. Retrieved April 4, 2012, from http://www.haydenplanetarium.org/tyson/read/2012/03/07/past-present-and-future-of-nasa-us-senate-testimony

Wilson, J. R., & Ross, H. (2008, August 27). Space program benefits: Nasa’s positive impact on society. Retrieved April 6, 2012, from http://www.nasa.gov/50th/50th_magazine/benefits.html

Rosenberg, M. (2009, October 16). Population growth rates and doubling time. Retrieved April 10, 2012, from About.Com Geography: http://geography.about.com/od/populationgeography/a/populationgrow.htm

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Future Of Space Exploration Essay

- Randy Colon Professor David Mathews English 121-060 11 May 2015 Privatization Is The Future of Space Exploration Mankind’s exploration of space is approaching its 60-year anniversary. In its splendor, space exploration is a very expensive task. Just recently, the government has begun to allow private corporations to bid on and compete for the job of putting Americans in space. NASA is coming to realize that for us to progress in space, we need to do it more efficiently, and for less money. It all started when the Soviet Union launched a small satellite the size of a basketball into orbit....   [tags: Space exploration, NASA, Space Shuttle]

Term Papers
1485 words (4.2 pages)

Space Exploration : The Space Program Essay

- The trip to the closest star at one mile an hour, would take around 70,000 years. To get that far, the space program will have to have better technology that we already have (Reed). The Gravity on the moon has one-sixth the gravity of Earth. Even though some people think space exploration is a waste of time, money, and resources, more advancements need to be made with space exploration because is creates jobs, a way to find more resources, and man kind needs a planet to fall back on. To begin to talk about the future of the space program, one must first read about the past....   [tags: Space exploration, NASA]

Term Papers
1143 words (3.3 pages)

Space Exploration Is Worth The Effort Essay

- Since the beginning of time, mankind has sought after learning about and exploring the universe. This yearning drove us to achieve such great things as the journey to the moon and the discovery of water on mars. Nowadays, several people argue as to whether or not space exploration is worth the effort. I believe that it is humanity’s instinctual nature to pursue a better understanding of ourselves, and our universe. Further understanding of our universe will lead to the discovery of new technologies and ways to secure humanity’s survivability....   [tags: Space exploration, NASA]

Term Papers
888 words (2.5 pages)

Essay on The Benefits of Space Exploration

- Curiosity has played an integral role in the advancement of the human species. From the discovery of fire by ancient ancestors to modern space explorations, it has been curiosity and the pursuit for a better future that has made humanity explore and innovate. However, exploration and innovation has never come without sacrifice. In regards to modern space exploration, the efforts to explore the universe has had negative effects including the loss of 18 human lives as of 2005 (CBS News, 2005), a tremendous investment of money, as well as adverse environmental effects both within Planet Earth and the solar system....   [tags: Space Exploration Essays]

Term Papers
1039 words (3 pages)

The Benefits of Space Exploration Essay

- Space exploration can bring new resources and technology to our planet. People should continue to pursue this exploration, which could benefit Earth’s environment and mankind. Space exploration has already made so many contributions to the environment, the economy, and to human health. Deep space exploration can benefit the earth in many ways, even though many argue that low earth orbit and the moon are more beneficial. The resources and information that we can learn from being in space, and from mining and researching distant planets could very well make our planet’s environment and human life better....   [tags: Space Exploration Essays]

Term Papers
2289 words (6.5 pages)

Space Exploration : The Final Frontier Essay

- Space is called the final frontier. The ability to explore space not been around long. Since the 1960s men have slowly been increasing their presence in space. Now in the early twenty first century, space exploration is at a stand still with the government agencies having a lack of funding and private companies only recently starting up. In the upcoming years, modern space programs will be ready to further push mankind; this is something that cannot be done by one government agency or private group....   [tags: Space exploration, NASA, Human spaceflight]

Term Papers
1101 words (3.1 pages)

Space Exploration: Past and Future Essay

- Ever since the beginning of time, mankind has been fascinated with wonders of space. Before the mid-1900s, all mankind could do was gaze at the stars from Earth and wonder what it would be like to go into space. Man would look through telescopes and make theories on how the universe worked. During the mid-1900s, mankind finally was able to send a man into space and explore the wonders of space first hand. So why do humans explore space. Well, it is our fascination with the unknown. At first, all mankind did was look up and wonder how things became what they are now....   [tags: Space Exploration Essays]

Free Essays
1856 words (5.3 pages)

Space Exploration: Not Worth the Cost Essay

- The space programmes of both the USA and the USSR became perhaps the most important prestige projects of the Cold War. From the launch of Sputnik - the first artificial satellite - in 1957, through to the first human space flight by Yuri Gagarin in 1961, the first moon landing in 1969, and beyond, both superpowers invested huge amounts of money in order to outdo each other in the so-called ‘space race’. At the time, this was a convenient project to choose: while it allowed the two nations to compete in a supposedly peaceful area, proving their scientific achievements, the work on rockets also fed directly into work on the inter-continental ballistic missiles which would allow them to strike...   [tags: Space Exploration Essays]

Free Essays
934 words (2.7 pages)

Essay about The Politics of Space Exploration

- The Politics of Space Exploration The simple commanding beauty of the moments before lift-off—thrusters ignited as dazzling shades of fire and smoke shatter the dreams of the sleeping rocket, contrasted by a flawlessly infinite blue sky and heightened by an almost surreal apprehension—depict the dramatic perfection that is space exploration. This image frozen in time, however captivating and serene, often overshadows the hidden agendas and secret dealings that go on behind the scenes. In reality, the probing of space has just as much to do with politics as with mankind’s actual zest for knowledge....   [tags: Space Exploration Essays]

Term Papers
2856 words (8.2 pages)

Advantages of Space Exploration Essay

- The 1960's brought new advancements for all of Earth. Machines and men were sent into space, and this sparked a new government agency, called NASA. Space was a new frontier, and virtually everyone was interested in exploring it. Over the years, the interest in space exploration has weakened, and NASA was almost terminated from existence, although there have been many advancements in it over that time. Space exploration should continue because it could help solve many problems on Earth, such as overpopulation and lack of resources....   [tags: Space Exploration Essays]

Free Essays
1395 words (4 pages)