Someone to Care: Sudan Essay

Someone to Care: Sudan Essay

Length: 1394 words (4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Sudan is a country situated in the north western half of Africa and is located next to Chad and Egypt. The country of Sudan won its independence in 1956, but that was not the end of their suffering. Up until 2005 civil wars raged throughout the country and bloodshed was always present (Connolly). The Sudanese people lived in constant fear and helplessness for what was going on around them. The central conflict between Muslim government forces in the North and rebels in the South, started in 1955, slowed in 1972, and resumed in 1983(Power). In an article by Samantha Power it has been projected that an estimated two million people died as a result of the war. One major conflict that left a huge stain on Sudan's history is the genocide that occurred in Darfur during this time. In Darfur rebel groups took up arms so the Sudanese government sent in security forces(Henry). The results of all the fighting and bloodshed were about 300,000 killed and around two million fled their homes(Henry). Although Sudan has made it out of all of the wars, it did not come out unscathed. Sudan has been battered and bruised, leaving behind a crumbling government and extensive poverty. A vast majority of Sudanese have less than $400 per capita every year(Mayotte). The main focus though isn't the wars or the amount of money these people have, it is what the people have endured and the price they have paid to have independence and peace and what is still occuring. We should care about Sudan because the citizens are subject to military abuse, forced child marriages, and have no freedom of speech.
In Sudan, the people are subject to abuse and unlawful punishment from the government. The Sudanese government has actually went as far as to creating the Crimin...


... middle of paper ...


...ach ." Human Rights Watch. Inter Press Service News Agency , 13 Jun 2013. Web. 8 Oct 2013.
Power, Samantha. "Dying in Darfur." New Yorker. 30 Aug 2004: pp. 56-73. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 11 Oct 2013
"South Sudan: No Justice for Protester Killings ." Human Rights Watch . Human Rights Watch , 24 May 2013. Web. 10 Oct 2013.
"Sudan: Doctors Perform Amputations for Courts ." Human Rights Watch . Human Rights Watch , 27 Feb 2013. Web. 10 Oct 2013.
"Sudan Escalates Mass Arrests of Activists Amid Protest Crackdown." Amnesty International. Amnesty International, 02 Oct 2013. Web. 11 Oct 2013.
"Sudan: Security Forces Fatally Shoot Dozens of Protesters as Demonstrations Grow." Amnesty International. Amnesty International, 26 Sep 2013. Web. 11 Oct 2013.
"This Old Man Can Feed Us, You Will Marry Him" Human Rights Watch . Human Rights Watch , 07 Mar 2013. Web. 10 Oct 2013.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on Sudan Case Study

- Sudan Case Study Sudan is a country with multitudes of problems. I will address just a portion of the many problems this country face but must first began with a very brief background. Sudan is a very large country located on the continent of Africa. Sudan has a very diverse landscape ranging from deserts, to mountain ranges, rainforests, and swamps; to name a few. It is estimated that Sudan has a population of 34 million people. Out of the 34 million people, the indigenous Black Africans make-up the majority in the south, while the Arabs account for the majority in the north....   [tags: Sudan Foreign Studies Relations]

Strong Essays
1177 words (3.4 pages)

The Effects Of Taking Care Of Someone With Dementia Essay

- Life. Everyone has problems and everyone goes through things, including me. Non one is perfect and life definitely is not easy. I have experienced everything from my grandma being diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease, losing our house, and connecting with an absent father. I even struggled with anxiety and depression. It has really been a wild journey and now, I’m finally ready to share my views on this roller coaster that I have been on. On August 4, 2011 We found put my grandmother had early onset dementia....   [tags: Family, Great Depression, Money, I Decided]

Strong Essays
1323 words (3.8 pages)

The Effects Of Taking Care Of Someone With Dementia Essay

- Personal Experience; Life Life. Everyone has problems and everyone goes through things, including me. Non one is perfect and life definitely is not easy. I have experienced everything from my grandma being diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease, losing our house, and connecting with an absent father. I even struggled with anxiety and depression. It has really been a wild journey and now, I’m finally ready to share my views on this roller coaster that I have been on....   [tags: Family, English-language films, Mother]

Strong Essays
1417 words (4 pages)

The Effects Of Taking Care Of Someone With Dementia Essay

- Life is a constant evolution. Everyone has problems and everyone goes through things, including me. No one is perfect and life definitely is not easy. I have experienced everything from my grandma being diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease, losing our house, and connecting with an absent father. I even struggled with anxiety and depression. It has really been a wild journey and now, I’m finally ready to share my views on this roller coaster that I have been on. On August 4, 2011 we found put my grandmother had early onset dementia....   [tags: Family, Mother, Time, Great Depression]

Strong Essays
1502 words (4.3 pages)

Losing Someone You Care About Essay

- Losing Someone You Care About Death is something no one likes to encounter. Weather it be a parent, son, daughter, or a friend. Growing up in the small town of Hunter, population of about a hundred, everyone knew everyone and their business. Not having anything to keep the children occupied during breaks from school; we were always just hanging out at each others house and becoming closer friends. The departure of growing up or even death never entered our minds at this point in our lives. Although, we knew two things were compelled to happen, we must live and die....   [tags: Death/Mortality]

Strong Essays
695 words (2 pages)

British Imperialism and the Crisis in the Sudan Essay

- British Imperialism and the Crisis in the Sudan Introduction One of the world’s worst humanitarian crisis is currently unfolding in the Darfur region of the Sudan. For the past 22 months, more than 70,000 Sudanese have been killed, and nearly 2 million people have fled their homes to neighboring countries. This paper attempts to explore this present day civil war and genocide taking place in the Sudan. This is an event of epic proportions that will have vast implications for the future of the country and the continent....   [tags: Darfur Region of the Sudan]

Strong Essays
4136 words (11.8 pages)

Ethnic Cleansing in Sudan Essay

- Ethnic Cleansing in Sudan The government of Sudan is responsible for 'ethnic cleansing' and crimes against humanity in Darfur, which is located on Sudan's western border with Chad (. The Sudanese government, along with the Arab 'Janjaweed' militias they arm and support, have attacked the civilians of the African Fur, Masalit and Zaghawa ethnic groups. These attacks involved massacres, summary executions of civilians, burnings of towns and villages, and the forceful depopulation of Fur, Masalit and Zaghawa land....   [tags: Human Rights Society Sudan Essays]

Strong Essays
1199 words (3.4 pages)

Essay on Current Events in The Country of Sudan

- The purpose of this paper is to review and identify recent actions in Sudan, how it affects the region and US interest in the country. Recent events in Sudan has led to the liberation of the South Sudanese people from years of civil war and oppression from the northern Islamic tribes, let us consider the factors that led to this event. Some areas I will be discussing will touch on the history of the land, culture, and affect on US interest leading to why outside interest should care. First, let us begin with some history of Sudan so we understand where this is all coming from....   [tags: Countries of The World]

Strong Essays
1101 words (3.1 pages)

Conflict in South Sudan Essays

- ... The issue of worsening poverty, rampant famine, and the depletion of resources in Southern Sudan also negatively affects the promotion of peace and stability in the region. Over 98% of the nation’s wealth is made from oil, and while oil production is at a near standstill , the remaining income is mostly allocated to the military. Paulat further writes that “On the 4th of April, the UNHCR and WHP estimated that 230 million US dollars were needed in the next 60 days to keep the situation in South Sudan from turning into one of the worst food crises in recent memory.” With a population of over eight million, food scarcity on a high scale could be utterly devastating to the region....   [tags: AFRICOM, US intervention]

Strong Essays
1792 words (5.1 pages)

Culture Conflict in Sudan Essay

- Culture is an essential part of conflict and conflict resolution. Cultures are what shapes our perceptions, attributions, judgments, and ideas of self and other. We are all born individuals; then we are raised, socialized and sensitized to the norms of our respective civilizations which led us to identify consciously and unconsciously to our societies. In 1993, Samuel Huntington wrote an influential paper that was published in Foreign Affairs titled “ Clash of the Civilizations.” Huntington states, “The great divisions among humankind and the dominating source of conflict will be cultural (Huntington 1993, 1).” According to Huntington, cultural identities bind people together more fastidious...   [tags: Culture ]

Strong Essays
1778 words (5.1 pages)